We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Right in the middle of downtown Reykjavik, this no frills hotel is great value. Rooms are good size, breakfast is ok. Our bathroom flooded but they fixed it right away. Handy with a small supermarket next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main street. Those Icelanders are known for their partying skill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tulutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Farouk really made our stay in Iceland comfortable and easy. He really provided us with a great experience and gave us a lot of guidance on the best sightseeing. When our plans fell through one day, he even wrote down a walking-tour on a map for us to follow. Him and his coworker gave great suggestions for food and tours. The microbrewery downstairs is an added plus and must-try. Friday and Saturday nights can be loud on the street itself due to the bar scene, but the rooms were great and sound didn't bother us at all. The City Center hotel is in a great location. It's down the street from the most popular bars, and is walking distance to most of the major tour groups meeting points, as well as the best restaurants in Reykjavik. We were very pleased with the location and our stay overall. It made traveling to Iceland memorable and we will definitely stay at City Center again. We had friends who stayed either out of Reykjavik or outskirts of the city, but since we also wanted good selection for food, City Center was a perfect choice for it's location. But Farouk and his coworkers made the experience just that much more awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADinh705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We loved this hotel. Very good value for what you get. The rooms are very modern, clean, and a fairly large size. Big bathrooms, excellent showers, nice flat screen with satellite television. And the location downtown is perfect. We had a rental car and parking was very limited because of construction on the streets, but we found cheap parking at a very near lot. The hotel staff was very friendly. There is also a nice bar called the Micro Bar on the first level. It seemed to be very popular during happy hour. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and there was a bit of noice from the bar at about 3 am. We were there on the weekend and I guess that Icelanders are known for having fun on the weekends! Good for them! We didn't opt for breakfast but that is where they serve it if you do. We highly recommend this hotel. Keep in mind that the International airport is in Keflavik which is about 25 miles away. But from this hotel it was fairly easy to get there.

Room Tip: There are rooms both on the front and back of this hotel. You may want a room higher up if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank skinholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Despite arriving at 6 am via Icelandic Air and waiting until noon for a room, we really felt the staff did all they could to accommodate our stay. The front desk is professional and very knowledgable about local options. Location is great -- right in the heart of downtown. Rate is steep, but that is Reykjavik. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not drink in the beer bar downstairs, but it seemed busy, though without character (there are plenty of other options in town). We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World_Hiker_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First of all, the location of this Hotel can't have been better. in the absolutely heard of the old city, with Restaurants, Cafes, Bars, Supermarkets and Parks all within a few minutes of stepping out of the front door. the GM, Mr. Petursson was an absolute gem as far as kindness and helpfulness is concerned and in all my travels I have never come across such a high level of service and attention to ensure that all needs were met immediately and without question. In fact I was on a couple of occasions quite embarrassed at his generosity to my needs. I was very happy staying there and would consider no other establishment on my next visit which is a definite starter. The only downside, which really did not matter too much was the lack of a coffee shop or cafe, as no other food or snack was available after breakfast was over at 1030 hrs. But this was a very minor inconvenience considering the fact there were about 6 other outlets nearby offering a very wide range of food and drink. Another plus being the 5-7 mins. stroll to the Old Harbour, where one could choose from a range of superb Seafood Restaurants and lots of services such as Bird watching, Whale Watching, Fishing, etc. etc. In the opposite direction a short stroll takes one into the heart of the shopping and Bistro district in LAUGAVEGUR, offering a huge range of Icelandic foods, Handicrafts, tours, clothes and candies, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level would be nice to have on either side, but this was not a priority as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noshir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was concerned when I booked this because it seemed very expensive for a hotel describing itself as a two-star. Suffice to say, this isn't a two-star hotel.

Great location, central to everything that you need. Rooms are very good with little noise from the street. And the wifi is blisteringly fast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfifergraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have just come back from a 4 night stay at this hotel and I can honestly recommend it 100% - the location is perfect, staff are friendly and the standard of the single room that I stayed in was the best I have ever stayed in. Yes, there is a little noise around midnight but when I say "little" that's what I mean - Reykjavik is very quaint but it is still in the 1950s (Thank Goodness) when it comes to nightlife!
Iceland is magic, a unique place - go now, as there are worrying reports of a massive increase in Tourism over the next 5 years.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodison70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,781 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
404 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
164 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £120 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing