We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead Center - Where you Want to Be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just spent the New Year holiday in Reykjavik and spent four nights at the Hotel Borg. The location could not be better, you are EXACTLY where you want to be. Aside from that, the staff is considerate and helpful. They made calls for me, gave directions, suggested itineraries - all what you would expect from any good hotel. But again, you are buying the location - simply said, it is perfect. If you can get a deal (I did), stay here!!

Room Tip: The corner room (#316) is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havasupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have tried a few hotels in Reykjavik now and I still like this one the most. Location. Charm. Good food. Kindly staff. It just feels classy and solid to me. The breakfast is great and the restaurant is cool and has some really interesting food.
The last time I was there I got sick and the staff were very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the square are noisier on weekend nights, but I like the vista. Last time I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

First of all, the place it pricey. Not just pricey, but pricey even for Reykjavik. One bag of laundry set us back more than I'd've chosen to pay. And the service was not just cold, it was downright unfriendly.

The room/suite was very good. Great bed and shower, plenty of room - fantastic location.

But to be perfectly honest, a smile at the front desk goes further than you think, it really does.

I would consider staying here again, but I would look at other options first.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrCMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Borg, and I just LOVED it. First, a fantastic location -- in the center of town, across from a lovely little square, right near good restaurants and shopping. Second, a truly lovely, accommodating staff. For example, we got there early (8am) and had breakfast and were exhausted. Our room was not ready yet, so they gave us a TEMPORARY room in which we could rest! I cannot tell you how much I appreciated that. We got to sleep for 3 hours, which helped make the whole day better, and wash up. Another example: we hadn't made any NYE dinner reservations, and Magnus at the front desk could not find any openings for us. He recommended room service, but they were not serving that night. After not finding any restaurant openings, he arranged for room service and brought it up to us himself. Expensive, but WELL worth it -- a delicious meal, and on NYE (and no other options!). Finn at the front desk also printed out our boarding pass and brought it up to our room. They just go the extra mile. Finally, the room (# 512) was LOVELY! A good size, with desk and chair, two arm chairs, a large double bed, and big, nice bathroom. Very clean. If I had to make one complaint (which I am loathe to do!), it would be that I didn't love the thin mattress on the beds, but I think that is standard in Iceland. Our room overlooked the square and because we were on the top floor, it had adorable eaves. Even the temporary room they gave us (#103) was great -- big and very comfortable (but probably not great for a full stay because it was on the ground floor looking out onto the square). Overall, I cannot recommend this place enough! Great!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was fortunate to book this during an Expedia sale as their normal rates are way above what I usually pay. The room was in excellent condition with all the amenities you’d expect; safe, minibar, iron etc.

I had breakfast here a few times as there were very few, if any, cafes open early enough before you’re picked up for a day tour, most of them starting at 8:30.

Service was fast and friendly at all times. My only complaint is that the wifi was very unreliable, causing problems if you rely on it for trip bookings and confirmations. Luckily the Café Paris across the road has free wifi too

Overall, if the price is right I’d definitely stay again.

Another note, if your trip is booked with Iceland Excursions/Grayline it seems most of their trips depart on large buses from the main station, which is just around the corner. They will transfer you in a minibus but it’s far quicker to walk the 200m.

There’s also an ATM next to the Café Paris.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Borg and had a lovely suite of the 5/6th floor.
Right in the heart of the action this one and never too far to walk to anywhere.
They arranged sveral tours for us and we were well looked after. They don't accommodate for the british tourist however in the food stakes and breakfast was disappointing. Never any scrambled egg and the bacon was cold. Had to stick with toast and cereal. They also ran out of OJ by 9am one morning. For a 5 star hotel they rerally should have been able to coock you an Omelette. That would have made it complete for me. The staff were amazing and we would dfinately stay here again. The only other down side was the size of the quilts, too warm and designed for a 5 foot man I reckon but we adapted.

Room Tip: A suite facing the square on a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

... internet!

Friendly staff, cool cafe, central location and nice breakfast and restaurant. But if you depend on the internet, as a business traveler. Don't go - it´s to unreliable and does not work 100%.

We had 6 computers, tablets. smartphones etc. with us - different operating systems - none worked 100% on the network at the hotel. All the cafe´s around us did work, but´s it no good if you want to work from the hotel room, or need a fast connection.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clausfrederiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
408 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#45 of 54 in Reykjavik
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £200 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing