We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, we had asked for an upgrade and agreed a fee before arrival. Our flight arrived early in the day so we did not expect the room to be ready. When we got to the hotel they handed me a key, then realised we had an upgrade but that room was not ready so they gave us a suite so that we could go straight to the room. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. The restaurant is superb and the breakfast full of fresh and varied items including smoked salmon and cooked items like bacon. It's not cheap but its worth the money. The location is excellent, close to the harbour (5 minutes walk)

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, its worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    431
    128
    51
    28
See reviews for
188
544
70
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warmenhuizen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Reykjavik it is in the middle of the centre and you can walk everything. Good room and bathroom.
The 2 points we didn't like is that for the rate we paid there was no breakfast available, but plenty of nice little coffeehouses in the direct neighbourhood to solve this problem.
And the noise in the middle of the night from 2 pubs very close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Borg hotel is in a great location, allowing you to walk to almost anywhere in central Reykjavik, but it just didn't live up to its luxury billing.

It was fine, just not good enough to qualify as luxury - cranky showers, wobbly fixtures and fittings, that sort of thing let it down.

The service was friendly, especially in the bar and restaurant.

It's okay but I think we'd check out other options before we booked the Borg again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Borg based on a recommendation from a friend, we weren't disappointed. The hotel is centrally located so most places within central Reykjavik are within walking distance. Check-in was easy and simple. The rooms are well presented and modern, very clean, tidy and warm. We had a room on the 1st floor overlooking the square, which was lovely, however the shower was not quite hot enough. Whilst it was perfectly useable and warm, with minus temperatures a hot shower would have been even better. Friends were staying on the 2nd floor, they had a very hot shower, so it is not all over the hotel. We had breakfast in the hotel, which was good, and cheap compared to prices elsewhere. i would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor seem to have hotter showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Mainly based on positive reviews on tripadviser, a great location and a promise of luxury we booked for one night before going into the country to search for the elusive Lights. The location really is perfect for a short stay, Reyjkavik immensely charming and the hotel competent and well presented. However, even with prior arrival e mail confirmation of room needs ( some twin for children, some doubles ) the rooms were not correctly set up. This was only found after checking in - a failing that the Borg shares with many establishments. It is a strong establishment generally and we would stay again, but it is not in the 'SLH/LHW/Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton" category - although the price is.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the square or the cathedral view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just spent the New Year holiday in Reykjavik and spent four nights at the Hotel Borg. The location could not be better, you are EXACTLY where you want to be. Aside from that, the staff is considerate and helpful. They made calls for me, gave directions, suggested itineraries - all what you would expect from any good hotel. But again, you are buying the location - simply said, it is perfect. If you can get a deal (I did), stay here!!

Room Tip: The corner room (#316) is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havasupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have tried a few hotels in Reykjavik now and I still like this one the most. Location. Charm. Good food. Kindly staff. It just feels classy and solid to me. The breakfast is great and the restaurant is cool and has some really interesting food.
The last time I was there I got sick and the staff were very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the square are noisier on weekend nights, but I like the vista. Last time I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
377 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,045 reviews
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
469 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing