We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Holt in early October 2011. The hotel is peaceful, clean and welcoming. The breakfast was more than copious. There was a small tour group staying at the hotel with a couple of loud, obnoxious people; including the tour guide. They were irritating at breakfast, but that was the worst of the time.

The bar/lounge is comfortable and capacious. The bar staff is charming and friendly. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant though it has a high reputation.

The hotel is just far enough off the main streets to miss the very late night revelry that appears to be a regular item every weekend: even our bar maid, a charming young woman, said she had been out until 5am the night before.She looked none the worse for wear.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMLVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for you positive review of Hotel Holt and Gallery Restaurant. I am glad we were able to enhance your overall experience of Reykjavík and that you enjoyed the services we offer. I will be sure to share your satisfaction with the entire staff.
Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Holt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a res at Hotel Odinsve. We were notified they were overbooked, and would we mind being upgraded, at no add'l charge, to Hotel Holt, nearby. Sure, no problem. Holt is old, but impeccably maintained......great old artwork and furniture. Helpful front desk, good breakfast. Good location. Only neg is the rooms are small, ala much of Europe.

Room Tip: Off the street side...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

we stayed here for four nights, and found the hotel to be the perfect base for our stay in Reykjavik. In a quiet street, just 5 minutes walking distance to town hall and Hallgrimskirkja, Besides its classic interior, this hotel features (according to their homepage) Icelands largest privately owned art collection. I can say that we were "discovering" new pieces every day. The room had the right size for our stay and was probably the cleanest I have ever stayed in so far. Breakfast offers a nice selection of everything you want for a good start of your day, and the Gallery Restaurant is outstanding. Best of all though, is the staff. They are extremely attentive, very courteous, handle all requests very professional and with a smile. This having been our second time in Iceland, we no longer have to question ourselves which hotel to book when we return (which we definitely will). It cannot become better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Great review! Thank you for sharing your enjoyment with others. It is especially satisfying to see that our staff is doing all they can to maximize your Hotel Holt experience. I will be sure to share this with our entire team.

Warm regards from a cooling down Iceland,
Snorri Valsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've visited Hotel Holt several times over the past 10 years. The staff is polite and efficient. They have accomodated the needs of my colleagues as required. The neighborhood is charming. I find my experiences at Hotel Holt pleasurable. My only complaint is that during the summer, with street activity due to the white summer nights, it was occassionally a bit loud outside.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank WestJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I often stay here, and the quality remains high with excellent staff and some of the finest food in the world.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small, so ask for a double bed or larger.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VeniceFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

If you like a long shover book somewere else. But nice location and friendly and helpfull reception.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great hotel, and very convenient location. As I was traveling alone I was looking for a good hotel with good location. The hotel is on a quiet residential street, a 5-8min walk to the main shopping, tourist street. Everything is walking distance from here. I am glad I didn't pick one of the slightly cheaper hotels on noisy streets. The hotel is very tastefully decorated. If you are looking for ultra modern, this is not the one, but it definitely has a lot of class.The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Great service at breakfast too. I wish they would vary their breakfast items, as it gets a little monotonous. Same cheeses, same croissants, same eggs and bacon. I would definitely go back and stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lv2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 53 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,046 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,708 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £196 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing