We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reykjavik Vacation”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reykjavik Vacation”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We came for short vacation, 3 1/2 days to Iceland. We stays a second time at Hotel Holt. Very nice location at the quiet street close to all attractions. Clean and cozy room with nice bed, very good breakfast, one of the best restaurants in the town for dinner (after long all day tour we had a gourmet dinner close to our bed!) and very carry and knowledgeable stuff, Hera at the front desk was always ready to help. We really recommend to choose Holt at the Iceland vacation package.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alla000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Alla.

Thank you for your review and naming Hera especially. She got an extra big piece of candy for getting a mention in your review.

We are also very proud of the service and food at Gallery Restaurant and hope any former guests who have tried it will sing it´s praises on Tripadvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g189970-d1599928-Reviews-Gallery_Restaurant-Reykjavik.html

We look forward to welcoming you a 3rd time to Hotel Holt soon.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    388
    71
    14
    8
See reviews for
139
518
100
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned from staying at this Hotel after celebrating a 30th birthday in Iceland. On arrival check in was quick and prompt and we were in our room within minutes. Rooms were adequately sized, if its not big enough you are spending too much time in your room and not enjoying Iceland!! Rooms were cleaned and hoovered everyday with fresh towels on our return. All the walls of the hotel are covered in different types of paintings and there are many types of sculptures dotted around.
We ate in the gallery restaurant (hotels one) and it was great. The waitress (cant recall her name) was great and gave an excellent service. She attend to all our needs and was able to recommend wine and things to eat. Just what you want from restaurant.
All of the front desk staff went out of their way to help you. They were able to give advice where to go and what to do. They were always pleasant and approachable and are a credit to the hotel.
Location of the hotel is superb. It is a 5 minute walk to the main shopping street where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The hotel is only a ten minute walk to the bus station as well. When you go out on trips and see the location of other hotels (i.e Hilton) you will really appreciate the ease of the Holt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jody-stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Jody.

Thank you very much for your review and again, Happy Birthday! I am happy to see our staff all over the house were keen to take care of all your wishes and needs during your stay. I hope you got some good inside knowledge from speaking with our front desk. We pride ourselves on being superior to a guide book when making recommendations on what to do in town and out.
We hope to see you again at Hotel Holt one day.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We chose this hotel because we'd heard about the art collection. It turned out to be a wonderful choice -- on a quiet street, yet close enough to the center of town that it was an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. The staff was unfailingly gracious and friendly, the entire building is practically an art museum, and the attached restaurant (the Gallery) was excellent.

We booked a suite -- very roomy, clean, and comfortable.

This is my husband's second trip to Iceland. The first time, he stayed in a recommended hotel with a really grumpy staff. This time, at the Holt, he found his stay much nicer.

The Holt has an interesting history behind it, which a guide told us. Apparently, the art collection belonged to a man who grew up dirt-poor, the son of a house cleaner, who earned his fortune in the hospitality industry and was renowned for helping poor Icelandic artists by purchasing their art when no one else would. This exquisite collection is the result.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can - the regular rooms are much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Docwatson.

Thank you for the glowing review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed the unique art collection we hold so dearly to our hearts. A sidenote to that story is that the daughter of the original owner, still owns the hotel now.

I always share Tripadvisor feedback with my staff but from your review onwards, I will be taking a stroll through the entire building and giving every member of the staff a handshake and a piece of delicious Icelandic candy every time we get a full house on here. I hope they will all be striving to continue to see me strolling the hallways with a big bag of goodies, like Santa Claus :).

Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here for a week during my birthday. Had the most amazing time, the staff ( so sorry I can't remember the names but the brunette at the front desk,the concierge who helped with my wi fi and the blond gentleman-I think the manager were all exceptional) were all super friendly, helpful and sweet. The artwork within the hotel was mesmerizing and the Christmas lunch at the restaurant was delicious. Room was comfortable and hotel was a very short walking distance to the main strip. Loved the Hotel Holt and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSLUXLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is a little bit out of the city center but still within walking distance(about 15 minutes). We stayed 3 nights. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was good. People at the front desk were very helpful.
I would gladly stay at this hotel again. Overall quality and reasonable price make it a very good find

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Ryokogasuki.

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time though, just step by the front desk and ask for directions because it shouldn´t take you 15 minutes to get to the center. It should take you a maximum of 5 minutes walk.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We needed to make a very short notice reservation here and the hotel was very accommodating and helpful. We reserved a junior suite and a double room. The double was small for the two 21 yr old girls - my daughter and niece , but that was mostly due to the amount of clothes they scattered around the room . The junior suite was perfect! It had two large rooms, a bedroom and lovely sitting room that would accommodate at least 6 or more visitors very comfortably for a gathering or meeting . The bathrooms were both more than adequate, although it took a very long time to fill the tub in the suite and the water needed a long time to get hot. but, this was of very little inconvenience . The location is nice also as it is not too far from the harbor area or the center downtown but is also very quiet at night. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms stayed very warm at night. We did not eat breakfast there as the girls wanted to go out but we did have one dinner there that was very tasteful and the service was flawless. The girls were "needing" some relaxation after two nights of Iceland Airwaves and the people at the desk were helpful in arranging massages for them at the hotel. We had one situation were we felt we did not get a good deal and that is with room service for dinner. We had to wait 45 minutes for sandwiches and then when they arrived , the sandwiches were cold and the ice cream was melted by the time the food arrived at the room and for over $100 for 3 sandwiches and melted ice cream, it was a BIG disappointment. BUT, other than that everything was excellent and I would definitely return here again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Junior suite 413 looked out on the Hallgrimskirkja and had lovely sunsets!! The "even " n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Sorrisa.

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. All our agents are dedicated to making each guest feel special and I´m very glad to see we succeeded with such a veteran Tripadvisor contributor as yourself.

In regards to the room service issue, I have to apologise for the quality of the food. I have looked into it and although it was a busy night, it seems clear the food was ready well before the 45 minute mark and should not have been standing around before being delivered. In regards to the price, of course room service is always pricey but the bill did not come to over $100, at least not based on the exchange rate in the local banks. It was just over $80, which is plenty regardless of the fact that it should have been a wonderful meal.

I truly hope you will return and if you do, please contact me directly so that I may do my best to make up for the only disappointment of your last visit. We are all striving to have the happiest guests in the world.

I wish you and your family a wonderful 2012 full of travel and adventure.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hotel is one of the highly rated boutique hotels. I went during November 2011 and got a steal ($70/night on Orbitz). I think it's regularly $200+. The art that adorns each floor is like being in a museum. And though it's a little off the main streets (only by 5-6 blocks) it's so worth it as it was quiet... and the main streets were definitely noisy late at night the weekend I was there. It was fun to go dancing but then walk home and get a good nights sleep.

The receptionists were super friendly and helpful. They also will reserve your bus from the airport for you, and add it to your bill (no extra charges). That was nice to arrive to at 7 AM.

Another plus is you're a half block from the Volcano Movie. Go to this one- not the one down by the harbor. The guy who runs this place is like 70+ years old and he and his father shot all the footage. He has great tales. It's worth patronizing his movie!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleK723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing