We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location - not too far off the main shopping and restaurant area, but far enough to be quiet. We arrived early a.m. flight, and the staff was very accommodating in both finding us an available room and letting us check in early. Staff also gave great eating recommendations and booked a tours as well. We had a lovely south-facing (sunny) room in the back which was very quiet and had a great view of the Hallsgrimkirka. The hotel has a wonderful art collection as well. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Mary S.

Wonderful review, thank you. The next time to stay with us, ask for an art tour with the Hotel Manager. It´s a nice insight into the largest privately owned art collection in Iceland and gives you a good idea about our culture as well.

Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel Holt could not have been more central for us to walk to the key places of interest. The hotel staff were all very hospitable and welcoming even when getting in at 02.00am on a couple of occasions. At check-in they intimated that their breakfast was very pricey and we could find a good breakfast but a few minutes from the hotel! which we did each morning saving us a lot of money that we could spend on tours. There is a very large supermarket 1011 about 15 minutes walk to the Main Street where you can pick up everything you may need. A good tip would be to pick up duty free alcohol at the airport after landing as the drinks are very expensive even in the bars. We did the Golden Circle, Blue Lagoon, Dog Sledding, Northern Lights tours and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. As we only had 5 days the tours are well worth it to see and experience what an amazing country Iceland is in such a short time.

Room Tip: Location is on a quiet street so would imagine no trouble sleeping at either front or back of the Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ceejay22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Ceejay22013.

Thank you for the kind words directed at us and the nice tips you are leaving for fellow travelers. You certainly do pay us more for the comfort and convenience of a breakfast buffet so if you are looking for just a cup of coffee and a piece of pastry, the Bernhöfts Bakery down the street is perfect.

In regards to 10-11, this is convenient for a supermarket but it is also the most expensive one in Iceland. Locals never step a foot in there when any other option is available. Closer to the hotel is Bónus, the choice for a fair priced grocery bag. Check that out if you want to save some dough for the next bakery trip :)

Otherwise, we look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Holt as soon as possible.

Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The staff here are very helpful and the room was good.The location for me was perfect set about 100 metres back from the main street which allows easy access to shops bars and restaurants but nice and quiet for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good but did not eat in the hotel restaurant as we were out and about.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Anthony A.

Thank you for the short and sweet review of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again walk through our doors at Hotel Holt.

Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is an amazing find in the heart of Reykjavík. Wonderful staff especially Sigrun, lovely rooms, good breakfast and food in the Gallery restaurant is incredible. Everything about this Christmas stay was made perfect by Sigrun, thank you so much.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbugs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Travelbugs60.

Sigrún? Yes, we agree. What a wonderful treasure to have on our team. She is destined for greatness in the hospitality industry should she choose to stay in it. This is indeed the first time we have a team member mentioned in the headline of a review. Rest assured, she has been showered with praise from us for her efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Holt and will do all we can to hold onto Sigrún´s talents until then :)

Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Hotel Holt was a wonderful hotel for our first visit to Iceland. My husband and I were there for our one year anniversary in Oct, and the hotel did not disappoint. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly during our stay. They were happy to assist us in making reservations for excursions, navigate the city, and answer all of our questions. The room was small, but very clean. It was perfect to meet our needs, especially at such a reasonable price. Location was great, and not overly noisy, even late at night when many people are out partying.
We did have an issue come up involving what was included in our package, but the manager Snorri handled it extremely fairly and gracefully to our satisfaction. He reviewed the matter, and took care of it efficiently and timely. We really appreciated the way he resolved it, and it is clear that he cares about his guests and ensures that they have a wonderful stay.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Lisa M.

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hotel Holt. I appreciate you mentioning that we handled the issue of inclusion to your satisfaction. We certainly like to be given the opportunity to do so. Without satisfied guests, we are nowhere.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. The location is perfect to explore Reykjavik - within walking distance to everything in the city centre, but also on a side road which makes it quieter at night.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Check in and out was smooth, and the front desk staff kindly booked us dinner reservations / transport as needed with no problems.

We had a room on the 4th floor which had a very pretty view. My only complaint would be that the rooms were small - the bathroom particularly so. Nonetheless, they were comfortable and clean. The decor in the hotel gives it a rustic vibe - although I can see why people have said it could do with a facelift, as it is old fashioned, although I loved the cute lift.

The day that we left we had to leave the hotel at 4.30am - and to our pleasant surprise they had coffee and fresh orange juice at the reception desk for us to have once we'd checked out, which was a very nice touch.

The wifi is flawless. Quick and easy to connect to. They also have computers with an attached printer in the lobby so you can print tickets/boarding passes etc.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as there are so many places nearby that we wanted to try out, including a lovely bakery just 2 minutes walk away. However, we did have dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Absolutely delicious food. Beautifully presented, and of lovely quality. The wine was a tad on the expensive side though, but very nice.

All in all a nice place to stay. If you're looking for somewhere luxurious, spacious and modern, I wouldn't recommend it. But if you are looking for somewhere cosy and rustic with excellent service, food and location - then this is the place.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a nice view and that's what we got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rammina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Rammina.

Thank you for the lovely words about the hotel and service. We agree, we are not the first choice for the cool and hip design crowd. We focus on the warm feeling you should get from staying in our cold city.

The facelift is underway. In fact, we are closing for 3 weeks in January to redo the plumbing and more things lie ahead to improve the overall guest satisfaction level.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Holt very soon.

Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were in Iceland for 5 days/4 nights and stayed at Hotel Holt. We spent little time in Reykjavik - mostly exploring outside the city - but the location was perfect for visiting Hallgrímskirkja and wandering the main shopping streets. The room was very quiet at night but a little noisy in the late afternoon - probably because we were above the lounge where happy hour was held - no voices, just the scraping of chairs. The room was comfortable - we were on the second floor in the back - we had a junior suite (to get more room) but only had one window with a limited view. The window did open which was great and we were really only there to sleep so it was fine in the end. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. They had parking which was good (though the spots were a bit tight!) We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. (We were charged for a breakfast we didn't have but they amended the bill immediately with no problem at all.)

Room Tip: Ask for one on the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Marnie99.

Thank you for the kind words. It sounds like you had Jr.Suite #205. It is very popular in the summer when the sun is out 24 hours a day but you do have another window in the sitting area of course.

I hope you were able to use the free access to the Church Tower available through our reception.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,745 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £195 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing