We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Holt”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel Holt”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Holt. (15th- 20th Feb 2014) It really does have the feel of a gentleman's club. Leather settee's, dark wood panelled walls etc. but it all makes the hotel cosy. Close enough to town centre, 10 - 15 minute walk to the harbour. I wanted to bring the bed, duvets, pillows and the shower home with me. I loved the power of THAT shower. Bed so comfy, slept like a baby. Happy hour 4 - 7 every day!! Staff couldn't be more helpful, polite and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was buffet style..continental or bacon and scrambled eggs. Loads of fresh fruit, bread, toast, breakfast cereals etc. Help yourself to as much or as little as you want. Everything anyone could want.

Room Tip: We had a Junior suite, so had a lounge as well as the bedroom. we were at the back of the hotel. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derekwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Derekwright

Thank you very much for your generous review!

We are glad that you appreciated all the cosiness and comfort at our hotel. A good night’s sleep is essential in a vacation, and especially if you are out and about all day exploring Icelandic nature and enjoying Reykjavík.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    388
    71
    14
    8
See reviews for
139
518
100
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is small with no amenities. They have a restaurant, bar, and breakfast room. No pool, gym or spa. I’m not complaining as I actually found it nice to be in a smaller hotel that focused on service instead of amenities.

The staff could not have been better, they will do anything they can to help make your stay enjoyable. Sarah one of the ladies working at the desk not only offered to call and order pizza for me but she also translated the menu as it was in Icelandic and not English, and the pizza place did not have an English web site.

If I had to pick one thing as a negative I would say that by North American standards the lobby and breakfast area were lacking in natural light. I understand the hotel is on a small street and the windows are frosted for privacy as the sidewalk is right outside the hotel, but it would have been nice to have a little more natural light.

Room Tip: Room 206 is huge by European standards and big by North American standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Paul W
Thank you for your kind review. As a small hotel we have a greater opportunity to give good and personal service. We emphasize on that and are very happy to hear that it shines through and we will make sure to pass the praise onto Sarah.

We do have a small exercise room though, which has been under renovation and should be opened very soon.

In regards to the lighting it is absolutely true that it could gain from more natural light, especially in the winter months where there sometimes is not that much daylight to begin with. But the frosted windows and actually everything in the lobby is original and therefore has become historic and is protected against any changes.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel and we hope we can welcome you back sometime!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had been to Rekjavik before and stayed at a "ok" hotel last time that was right outside of the downtown area. We learned last time that that was a mistake because we had to take a taxi into town everytime we wanted to do something. This time we booked our hotel at hotel Holt and it was a smart move. First of all the location was perfect! We were just a few blocks off the main drag so it didnt take long to get into the action. The hotel is beautifully decorated-very masculine with dark wood and leather seating areas. The room was perfectly sized compared to the other hotel we stayed last time we hardly could stand in the same spot without falling onto the bed. The only thing i would suggest is to ask for a room not by the street. It really wasnt bad but i think it would have been a little better with a room facing the back. The customer service was great! They were always there to help and aid wherever they could. They booked all of our excursions for us and suggested time saving tips. All in All I would stay here again and i would reccomend this hotel for anyone traveling to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ginger C
Thank you for your sweet review. We think our location is one of our greatest qualities being with-in walking distance of almost everything. You kind of get to know a city much better on foot than in a taxi.
Even though we are in a quiet residential area it is true that there might sometimes be some street noise so light sleepers are better off in a room not facing the street. Thank you for that tip to our future guests 

Glad to hear you enjoyed our customer service. Our reception team is happy to help our guests plan their tours and trips so they get the most of their visit.

Thank you again for giving us a review and we hope to welcome you again at Hotel Holt!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was like a smart gentlemen's club, with excellent staff throughout. When we left at 4am, the receptionist provided juice, biscuits and coffee, which was really appreciated.

The restaurant was very good, and the presentation of food could not be faulted

And we were so impressed by the friendliness of all the Icelandic people that we met.

This was our first Secret Escapes holiday, but it will not be the last

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Michael W
Thank you for taking time to give us a review and for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you got such a good and friendly welcome from our staff and the Icelandic people.

Also, we know that waking up in the middle of the night to catch an early flight can be tough so we try to help our guest to start the day with refreshments before they leave, and we’re happy that this is appreciated.

It´s great that you enjoyed the food at the Gallery restaurant and I’m sure they would be thankful for a review on their Tripadvisor account.

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just got back from our trip to Reykjavik to celebrate my husbands 40th and we stayed at this fantastic hotel which is a few minutes walk away from the main town and is on a quiet street so the best of both. The Guest Service Manager called Sverrir was an absolute star, he really helped make this holiday special for us, he had the chef make my husbands birthday cake and was more then happy for a staff member from another hotel to call and collect this cake to take to a restaurant where we were celebrating his birthday. He was so nice, the room we had was beautiful, a suite I think with an amazing view of the city. The bed was so comfortable, I had the best nights sleep in a long while, but maybe that is because we were so exhausted after our eventful days. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and I would defo go back here.
Thank you everyone for a wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: We had a high floor at the front of the hotel so great views of the city :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodie357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Goodie357
Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing to spend your husband’s birthday at our hotel! You’re right, Sverrir is a star and we are lucky to have him in our team, we’ll be sure to pass on the praise! We try our best to go the extra mile for our guests when we can and are extremely happy that we could help make this birthday trip a trip to remember.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and hopefully we will see you for the next birthday celebration!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have just returned from 4 days stay at Holt Hotel organised by Secret Escapes. Highly recommended, helpful, clean, excellent food in the restaurant. Nothing is too much trouble. If you can reach deep into your pocked then take the Helicopter ride HELO and see some amazing sights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montaguep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Montaguep
Thank you for your kind and direct review.

Glad you like the helpfulness of our reception staff and the cleanliness of our rooms, for which we can thank our great housekeeping staff. We are very proud of all of them!

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Holt as part of a 'Secret Escapes' Package. Although not very attractive from the outside, as soon as you walk in there is a 'gentlemen's club' type feel with leather sofas, wooden panelled walls and lots of art dotted about - My husband felt like he should be sitting down with a cigar and large whiskey!!

The rooms are in a classic style - we usually prefer contemporary but felt this style really suited the hotel. Our room was of a good size although our 'double' bed was actually two single beds pushed together. Saying that, the beds were very comfy. Bathroom was small but adequate, with a very powerful shower which I didn't want to get out of!

We didn't have dinner in the hotel but the buffet breakfast each morning was very nice, with a good selection to suit every taste.

Location was great - down a quiet residential street, it was no more than a 5 min walk to the main shopping street, and everything else, from restaurants, the city centre and the Hallgrímskirkja Church were no more than 10 min walk.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay again if we return Reykjavik.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Holidaymad
Thank you for your kind review. We are very proud of our unique art collection and the classic style of the hotel which is turning out to be a rare find here in Reykjavík. Therefore we are glad to hear that the welcoming and unique atmosphere we aim for is appreciated.

Unfortunately we do sometimes have to use two single beds in our Double rooms but we are happy to hear that you got a good night’s sleep in our comfortable beds though.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Holt if you visit Reykjavík again sometime.

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing