We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel in the perfect location, staffed with awesome personnel, and a fantastic breakfast.

The Holt was the perfect hotel for our first few nights in the city. The central location makes it easy to to walk almost anywhere!

The room was comfortable - perfect size for our family of three. We had a jr suite.

I loved the daily breakfast, nice options and plenty of food.

I would stay there again and definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kmenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    376
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
131
492
96
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very nice old fashioned hotel. Only 5 minutes from the action. The 1950s style Euro elevators and door keys are charming, Room was simple and clean, bed was fine. Friendly staff, good wifi, decent breakfast. Love the immediate neighbourhood, many beautiful homes on the same block. The room could use blackout curtains, as the brightness caused by the midnight sun was a small issue.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed 2 nights here (checking out today) in a double room. The location is quiet and just a couple of blocks from shopping and restaurants. Our room is a reasonable size, very clean and comfortable.

What has been particularly special has been the service. Segge at the front desk has gone above and beyond in assisting us. We had a lost bag and he followed up with the airport rep about the delivery, offered laundry service if needed, and made several phone calls for us. This meant we could be out sightseeing without worrying about some of these details.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tvl_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights as we traveled through Iceland on vacation. We stayed in a Junior Suite. It had ample space and was appointed well, The front desk staff and cleaning staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is full of displayed art - which gives the hotel some character. The decorations and public space (carpets, couches, etc.) are a bit dated.

The location of the hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the shops, bars and restaurants in the center of town. The area is quiet and there is a very nice bakery/cafe just up the street.

Overall, it was a good experience. Don't expect luxury, but do expect a great night's sleep and a wonderful staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tjelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
620 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a junior suite. Clean m, updates furniture and a comfortable bed. The 4th floor has balconies that you can sit on. Efficient and friendly staff.Good location near the harbor. There are a number of hotels in the downtown area, but this is reportedly the best.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel Holt is ideally located. You can walk to great shops, cafes, galleries, and the waterfront. The hotel is very clean and there's interesting art throughout the place. The staff is professional and friendly (we arrived very early in the morning and were graciously invited to relax and enjoy a delicious breakfast before checking in). The hotel also houses one of the very best restaurants in Iceland.
.
We love this place and will definitely be staying here every time we visit this fabulous city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingEllie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Holt was a very nice hotel. The staff was warm and helpful, and the overnight price included a standard Euro style continental breakfast. The room was smallish, but clean and bright. The lobby was impressive, with several rooms of dark paneled wood or modern wall designs full of leather sofas and chairs. Great place to hang out and drink coffee and write postcards after breakfast as the weather cleared. Amazing art and sculpture throughout the hotel. Easy walk to the downtown area; much quieter than the Borg. Choose the Borg if you want the bigger room, but we liked the Holt better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teledawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing