We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$220
View deal
Expedia.com
US$219
View deal
Agoda.com
US$124
View deal
Hotels.comUS$219
CheapTicketsUS$219
eDreamsUS$220
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveller rating
778
499
104
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
778
499
104
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icelandic art junior suite traditional hotel bit dated minute walk quiet location comfortable hotel breakfast was included happy hour bread city sculptures trips cheese harbour meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After 10 days around Iceland, including the previous weekend in Reykjavik, we booked a last-minute room at Hotel Holt prior to our flight home. This hotel caters to Americans, which can explain why 4 out of 5 TripAdvisor reviews are written from the USA. Being American myself, I know what we like and expect. Yes, there was a plethora of soaps, shampoos, toiletries, and towels in the bathroom. Yes, we had one complete bed instead of two twin beds pushed together. And yes, there most certainly was scrambled eggs and bacon at the breakfast buffet. This is all great if you enjoy these things and/or simply cannot live without them, but it did seem like a less authentic experience than my previous 10 days.

The hotel is well located a short walk away from the main street and the first floor is a cool maze of art and leather coaches. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here one night at the end of our holiday in Iceland. It is on Bergstadastraeti which runs into the main shopping street in the center of town. It is about a 3 minute walk over to the main street. The hotel has nice rooms, not luxurious or anything but nice, clean, and relatively spacious. It was very quiet. We were in room 405 which is at the back of the hotel, away from the street and we kept the windows open all night and it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, too. Breakfast was very good. I would stay here again as I liked the hotel and I loved the location. The staff were very nice and they has a locked room for suitcases for the next day after we had checked out but needed to store our stuff before going to the airport.

Room tip: I liked the room we stayed in - 405 - the back, very quiet.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a great find! Lovely bright rooms, smartly laid out, with a great view out west over the city. Very nice king bed -- a relief after ten days of single beds of varying quality in other parts of Iceland.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was equally fine, with all the breakfast fixings we'd come to expect in Iceland. That includes hot house tomatoes & greens, always a nice addition to a meal. One delightful reminder of where we are -- the cod liver oil, together with little shot glasses, right by the orange juice dispenser.
It's a bit odd that the main floor, which includes the dining room, is so very dark, with no windows at all. The hotel makes up for it by having the most amazing art collection anywhere in Iceland. I'd go back for that alone.

Room tip: Don't know what the views are like from the east facing rooms. If you can ask for a west facing room, you'll certainly be happy. Oh -- and if you haven't been to Iceland before, note that west facing does not mean huge heat gain. It's not that kind of climate!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbionPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel Holt is not your average soulless 4 star house; as soon as you step in, one can feel the history and the special atmosphere of the house. The hotel was built by an icelandic art lover family in the 1960's, and it is still run by the same family. They have a great art collection in this hotel, it's worth coming just for that. However, it's not the unusual settings which makes this place special: this is also a place that knows how to offer excellent customer service. The staff is committed and very pleasant. The rooms are of great quality and spotless, the bed was very comfortableand there were nice amenities in the bath room. The price was also very good. The restaurant in Hotel Holt is excellent. We would stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllaInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you think you've seen it all, you're wrong. This is a GREAT city, a great country and, more conveniently , a GREAT hotel.

If you're planning to go to Reykjavik, stay here.
If you're not, then please change your mind and GO !!

Enjoy
LOVE
Gerald Thomas

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews