We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at Hotel Holt”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a 5 night stay here while on honeymoon in Iceland in July 2014. The staff were very friendly and all spoke good English. Our room was on the second floor with a few of the garages out the back so if you want a great view ask to be higher up and you will be able to see the cathedral. The shower smelt of eggs because like all of the city they use naturally heated water so be prepared for the smell. The room had a weird volcano picture which I thought looked more like a nipple.

Room Tip: Go high for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IssieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I agree with a prior reviewer - Hotel Holt seems to consider itself the height of luxury (e.g. via prices in the restaurant!) but I would say the luxury level was medium. Our room was quite small but pleasant, and had free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly. We especially appreciated the free parking nearby. Location is quite central. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I read other reviews that named this "an American hotel"....what does that mean? My daughter and I, both of whom are American, have travelled extensively, loved the Holt, but we aren't sure that has anything to do with being American! It's clean, the rooms are utilitarian in the usual European manner I'm accustomed to (Andaz or Me in London as examples), and the staff could not have been more helpful with information, tours, restaurant recommendations and reservations - you name it. Price was reasonable, and included breakfast. When we needed to pack lunches, they suggested we make free with the breakfast buffet and we did! Hard boiled eggs, great bread, cheese, ham, fruit. Stay here!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank laacutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was listed as "luxury" in the Lonely Planet guide, but I wouldn't call it that, even by Icelandic standards. We stayed in nicer rooms in converted farm house hotels. The room was pretty tiny and cramped. However, it was clean, well situated in the touristy area of Reykjavik and had a wonderful breakfast. Since we got a good deal, I don't feel too bad, but I certainly wouldn't want to pay full price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent five nights at the hotel during our vacation in Iceland in July.

The room was lovely, clean and extremely well kept. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast is excellent with a large selection and great staff. They even have coffee waiting for you if you're checking out at 5:00am!

Lastly, the hotel is a 3-5 minute walk to Laugavegur Street, the center of most activity. It's close enough to be convenient, but far enough to be quiet. All in all, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First of all, the hotels location is great. It is a quick little walk downhill to downtown, and a couple buildings down the street is a great little bakery. The hotel itself is very nice, clean and quaint. The rooms are very comfortable and its overall just a nice spot to make your home base while exploring Reykjavik. In addition, the breakfast that the hotel serves in the morning is just incredible. So many varieties of food to choose from. Hotel Holt is a great place to wake up to to start the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

By US standards, real luxury hotels would be difficult to come by anywhere in Iceland. Location is within walking distance to plenty of good restaurants and a great bakery just down the street. This hotel offers lovely, clean, bright rooms with wonderful art work and a very pleasant and accommodating staff. It is out of the fray of heavy tourist traffic, which makes it quiet at night and blackout curtains allow for a good night's sleep. Beds are average in comfort, bathrooms clean and provided with shampoo etc. Small mini bar and in-room coffee along with the ubiquitous (but good) Scandinavian buffet breakfast make for an enjoyable stay. Don't expect new and shiny......there is an air of formality without being too stuffy. This hotel is probably not for younger people on a budget looking for "action".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank momcat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,833 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,096 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,832 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £171 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing