We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Just got back from 3 nights at Hotel Holt. Very nice hotel, beautiful art throughout, very comfortable. Stayed with my 19 year old daughter. It's very close to everything, good breakfast buffet included since I booked on Expedia. Tiny exercise room but access free to gym about 2 miles away, convenient by bus and car. Would totally recommend it as a base in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMomanddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    376
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
132
496
96
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We had been camping on Greenland and had a week in Iceland to pamper ourselves on our return to "civilisation". A good move (as it turned out ) as we ended up being trapped in our tents for days when the heavens opened (in fairness to Greenland, it had been fantastic prior to that). We arrived at the Hotel with heaps of damp (and somewhat muddy) rucksacks but the staff could not have been more pleasant, friendly and helpful,. They did not bat an eyelid and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. They had even upgraded our room booking to a suite (for no obvious reason and at no extra cost) and the room was lovely; very comfortable. It even had a balcony and a view towards the harbour. The library and bar were brilliant - simply designed for lounging around in and the collection of historic maps and etchings were fascinating. Breakfast was very good but we had only booked for 1 night as we were heading north. We didn't try the restaurant as we had arranged to meet up with friends elsewhere (before we knew how good this hotel was) but the menu looked very tempting. If we come back to Reykjavik (and I'm sure we will) we will definitely aim to stay here. Congratulations Hotel Holt - and thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

OK, so let me start by saying that hotel standards are quite different in Iceland - most are basic, utilitarian properties. Hotel Holt was quite surprising in that it has both the charm of a true old world boutique hotel and you can get a nicer-than-normal room (junior suite, in our case) without breaking the bank (even with the supposedly much-cheaper Icelandic economy).

The real "old world" feel/charm comes in when you go to their restaurant and lounge. Their restaurant is a true, high-end service experience (alas, it's a shame that the food didn't match) and the lounges are more like the cigar bars of old (although non--smoking) with dark paneling, over-stuffed leather chairs and sofas and dozens(if not hundreds!) of scotches, cognacs, ports and the like. The restaurant also has an incredible wine list (complete with candled decanting) Truly surprising to find this caliber in Iceland!

Lastly, I should note that the hotel has Iceland's largest private art collection, which is spread out throughout the entire property and is quite interesting (and makes for a very nice ambiance).

So, if you're looking for a classic old world experience and are willing to splurge a little, it's a great place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Holt for 4 nights in a very comfortable warm clean room facing the back. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and we ate in the Hotel one night too - v good but a little more expensive.

We booked all our trips through the hotel and everything went smoothly. The hotel is situated down a quiet street 5 mins walk from the main shopping area and the harbour. We found a good bakery a couple of blocks away too which was very useful for trips out.

We used the Flybus+ system to go to the airport and back which worked very efficiently.

We loved Reykjavik and Iceland. The scenery was stunning and everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. The prices are not too bad either and the general standard of food in the restaurants was good.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I did tons of research about locations of hotels in Reyjkavik and eventually booked a Junior Suite in the Hotel Holt. It seemed like a good location -- close to the main shopping street but not right on top of it so that the noise would be a problem. It does get noisy on the main strip (clubs, live music, people partying all night and breaking bottles/glasses) so being a 3-5 minute walk away was perfect.

The day before our trip we were notified that a water pipe had burst and that we would not be able to stay in the room in the Hotel Holt. The manager, Snorri, did make alternative accomodations at the nearby Hotel Odinsve (also a great hotel). We stayed in their Luna Apartments, which is just a two minute walk from the hotel itself. The 1BR room was great and had a nice sitting area. We were also compensated for the inconvenience.

I had heard that sometimes people show up to hotels in Reykjavik during the high season and the hotel is overbooked, but regardless of what happened in our situation, the Hotel Holt took great care of us.

Also, I recommend going to the Seafood Cellar for dinner and having the monkfish entree...best meal I ever had.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrotonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

In June 2007 I decided to take a trip to Iceland. I selected the Holt Hotel based on what I saw here. I must say that the hotel was clean comfortable and the personal were very nice. The hotel was in easy walking distance to the so called downtown area and also to the water. It was easy to walk to the depot where one bought tours to different parts of Iceland. It was easy to walk around the downtown area. The off on bus tour was also easy to access. All and all it was a good trip and the Hotel Holt was centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

This was my first (but not last) trip to Iceland, so after sorting out guide book recommendations and online comments, I booked Holt for a four night stay. At check in, I was informed that the room I booked wasn't available, so they upgraded me to a jr suite on the fourth floor facing the city center pond. The room size was great and it was clean. The bathroom was adequate and even though it was in front of the elevator, noise wasn't an issue. Breakfast was free and decent for Northern European fare. The location was in walking distance of the major shopping street, the main downtown square and other local attractions. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a great room at a good price, $200 a night during high travel season.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stamfordtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing