We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldy Worldy, Boring but Functional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Oldy Worldy, Boring but Functional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

I agree with some of the other reviews in that this hotel could do with an injection of life. Great if you are looking for old world charm, quiet cozy, dark and almost mysterious...when you can find the staff that is. Early check out made getting an early breakfast a hassle and had to make do with a sandwich and a yougurt provided the night before. Housekeeping could be improved..wash coffee cups and provide milk would be a good start. Not too far to town centre so the fact the hotel bar was like a haunted castle was irrelevant...art was interesting but I didnt pay to stay in an art gallery...will look for some where different next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalkmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
We are sorry to see that this guest will not return to Hotel Holt. As is stipulated in several other guest reviews, we take great pride in top quality service all the way through our guest´s stay.
In case anyone was wondering, there is no additional charge for enjoying the largest privately owned art collection in Iceland, adorning our walls throughout the building. Hotel Holt does not pretend to be a trendy hotel, but we go through painstaking detail in order to maintain our classical, elegant look and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    374
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
130
491
96
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Nice casual atmosphere in lobby, several large rooms with comfortable sofas for reading and relaxing. French restaurant is popular with locals and food is average for a french restaurant in that price range but very over the top formal. Hotel bar was dead. Rooms were nice and a good size. The art work throughout the hotel was a treat and very interesting. Unfortunate that we could not use our lap tops in the rooms. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Just got back from 3 nights at Hotel Holt. Very nice hotel, beautiful art throughout, very comfortable. Stayed with my 19 year old daughter. It's very close to everything, good breakfast buffet included since I booked on Expedia. Tiny exercise room but access free to gym about 2 miles away, convenient by bus and car. Would totally recommend it as a base in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMomanddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We had been camping on Greenland and had a week in Iceland to pamper ourselves on our return to "civilisation". A good move (as it turned out ) as we ended up being trapped in our tents for days when the heavens opened (in fairness to Greenland, it had been fantastic prior to that). We arrived at the Hotel with heaps of damp (and somewhat muddy) rucksacks but the staff could not have been more pleasant, friendly and helpful,. They did not bat an eyelid and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. They had even upgraded our room booking to a suite (for no obvious reason and at no extra cost) and the room was lovely; very comfortable. It even had a balcony and a view towards the harbour. The library and bar were brilliant - simply designed for lounging around in and the collection of historic maps and etchings were fascinating. Breakfast was very good but we had only booked for 1 night as we were heading north. We didn't try the restaurant as we had arranged to meet up with friends elsewhere (before we knew how good this hotel was) but the menu looked very tempting. If we come back to Reykjavik (and I'm sure we will) we will definitely aim to stay here. Congratulations Hotel Holt - and thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

OK, so let me start by saying that hotel standards are quite different in Iceland - most are basic, utilitarian properties. Hotel Holt was quite surprising in that it has both the charm of a true old world boutique hotel and you can get a nicer-than-normal room (junior suite, in our case) without breaking the bank (even with the supposedly much-cheaper Icelandic economy).

The real "old world" feel/charm comes in when you go to their restaurant and lounge. Their restaurant is a true, high-end service experience (alas, it's a shame that the food didn't match) and the lounges are more like the cigar bars of old (although non--smoking) with dark paneling, over-stuffed leather chairs and sofas and dozens(if not hundreds!) of scotches, cognacs, ports and the like. The restaurant also has an incredible wine list (complete with candled decanting) Truly surprising to find this caliber in Iceland!

Lastly, I should note that the hotel has Iceland's largest private art collection, which is spread out throughout the entire property and is quite interesting (and makes for a very nice ambiance).

So, if you're looking for a classic old world experience and are willing to splurge a little, it's a great place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Holt for 4 nights in a very comfortable warm clean room facing the back. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and we ate in the Hotel one night too - v good but a little more expensive.

We booked all our trips through the hotel and everything went smoothly. The hotel is situated down a quiet street 5 mins walk from the main shopping area and the harbour. We found a good bakery a couple of blocks away too which was very useful for trips out.

We used the Flybus+ system to go to the airport and back which worked very efficiently.

We loved Reykjavik and Iceland. The scenery was stunning and everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. The prices are not too bad either and the general standard of food in the restaurants was good.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I did tons of research about locations of hotels in Reyjkavik and eventually booked a Junior Suite in the Hotel Holt. It seemed like a good location -- close to the main shopping street but not right on top of it so that the noise would be a problem. It does get noisy on the main strip (clubs, live music, people partying all night and breaking bottles/glasses) so being a 3-5 minute walk away was perfect.

The day before our trip we were notified that a water pipe had burst and that we would not be able to stay in the room in the Hotel Holt. The manager, Snorri, did make alternative accomodations at the nearby Hotel Odinsve (also a great hotel). We stayed in their Luna Apartments, which is just a two minute walk from the hotel itself. The 1BR room was great and had a nice sitting area. We were also compensated for the inconvenience.

I had heard that sometimes people show up to hotels in Reykjavik during the high season and the hotel is overbooked, but regardless of what happened in our situation, the Hotel Holt took great care of us.

Also, I recommend going to the Seafood Cellar for dinner and having the monkfish entree...best meal I ever had.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrotonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing