We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in good location”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel Holt and found it it to be an excellent choice. The staff were very friendly, dinner was exceptional and the bar was a great place for a pre or post dinner drink. Add to this a fantastic art collection throughout the hotel and you couldn't really wish for more. It is in a good location within a short walk to the town centre and all the sights. Restaurants in Reykjavik are much better than expected and the reception staff were very helpful in choosing and booking. If you get the chance though, do try the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drdrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    382
    70
    14
    7
See reviews for
134
507
98
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My wife and I spent from April 28 to May 5 at the Hotel Holt. Deciding where to stay in Reykjavik took several months. In retrospect, we made the right choice. How so? Well! Hospitality is a hallmark of the management and staff. They made us feel welcome and did everything in their collective power to make us feel comfortable. We chose the Hotel Holt because it is located on a quiet street in an older section of Reykjavik. It is only a short distance from the center of the capital. A major expressway was only a few speed bumps and one roundabout away from us. The hotel had a parking lot for our compact rental car. And it was free!

The accommodations we had at the hotel were more than adequate to meet our needs. The room we had was clean and the surroundings were quiet. Since we were on the go throughout our stay, the surroundings were conducive for uninterrupted sleep. The only meal we had each day at the Hotel Holt was a complimentary breakfast. The wide variety of food was GOOD!

Before I forget, the hotel had two computers on the ground floor. My wife found this perk to be enjoyable. Each day we were able to obtain complimentary guest passes at the World Class Iceland facility (Laugar). Wow! This was an experience we will never forget. This world class workout center is must for every person who is into physical fitness. Thanks Hotel Holt!

Let me leave you with the following thought --- Try the Hotel Holt, you'll like it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

On arriving at the Hotel Holt in the early hours of the morning, our first reaction was "Oh God, this must be miles away from the centre of town" because it's in a very quiet residential street in between private houses. How wrong we were - the Holt is so close to the action, but with all the benefits of peace and quiet at night! The next morning, we headed out of the hotel, turned right and within 3 minutes, we were right in the heart of Reykjavik. The hotel itself is oldie-worldie, but in an elegant and charming way, and it's reminiscent of a Scottish private hotel lodge. If you're looking for a hotel with a fitness suite and rooms with 90" plasma TVs, you'll be disappointed - stay at the Marriot! But if, like us, you value traditional old-fashioned customer service and hotels that take a pride in doing things right, the Holt is for you! Reception and restaurant staff could not be more welcoming or helpful (especially a Norwegian lady named Anna who was a darling!). Also, check out the superb local bakery down the street for the freshest bread you will ever eat!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Horrified-of-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We found this Hotel and read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided we liked the sound of this hotel. We booked direct with the Hotel and managed to get a better deal than we could on the internet. The Front desk staff we very friendly and more than happy to give advice on trips and restaurants. The rooms were comfortable and were perfectly adequate for what we needed. The rooms were well serviced daily. Breakfast was ok my only slight criticism was that hot eggs and bacon were not kept very warm in the hotplates. Lots of choices of cereals, fruit, pastries, cold meats, cheeses etc. We never tried restaurant in the evenings as we preferred to venture down to the town centre. All in all a great hotel and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailj402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Holt from 12/30/2009-1/4/2010. We arrived very late on 12/30 and were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a Junior Suite for our stay. We booked our flight and hotel through Expedia; I'm not sure if this had anything to do with our getting upgraded. It's an older hotel with dark wood panelling; it's got a warm cozy feel to it. It didn't seem to have many guests around; perhaps due to the New Year Holiday.

The Junior Suite had a sitting room with TV, bedroom with TV and desk, bathroom wth shower and toilet, and bathroom with just a bathtub. The bed was king size. We were on the 2nd floor with views of the neighbours' houses. It was a in a quiet location about a 5-minute walk from the main downtown area and street. I liked the fact that it was quiet and we didn't hear other guests or people from outside. Around the corner is Prir Frakkar, a great seafood restaurant located in a house.

There was free internet in the lobby which was nice, and the hotel staff were always smiling and friendly.

Breakfast every morning consisted of the usual stuff one would find served in the dining room with cloth napkins and all: fresh breads, eggs, bacon, sausages, pickled fish, cookies, cheeses, meats, fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, oj, water, jams, etc. On our last day, we had a very early start and the hotel kindly packed us a breakfast which consisted of a sandwich, apple, and yogurt (which was taken away at security in Reykjavik).

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its quietness and excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NagoyaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Wonderful traditional wood panelled hotel - Service was impecable (see Dagmar at reception). My boyfriend was a little worried when he booked this hotel and then found it wasn't in the lonely planet - it should be!
Two minutes walk from all the action and everything you require and need.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I agree with some of the other reviews in that this hotel could do with an injection of life. Great if you are looking for old world charm, quiet cozy, dark and almost mysterious...when you can find the staff that is. Early check out made getting an early breakfast a hassle and had to make do with a sandwich and a yougurt provided the night before. Housekeeping could be improved..wash coffee cups and provide milk would be a good start. Not too far to town centre so the fact the hotel bar was like a haunted castle was irrelevant...art was interesting but I didnt pay to stay in an art gallery...will look for some where different next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalkmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsson, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
We are sorry to see that this guest will not return to Hotel Holt. As is stipulated in several other guest reviews, we take great pride in top quality service all the way through our guest´s stay.
In case anyone was wondering, there is no additional charge for enjoying the largest privately owned art collection in Iceland, adorning our walls throughout the building. Hotel Holt does not pretend to be a trendy hotel, but we go through painstaking detail in order to maintain our classical, elegant look and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
928 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 53 in Reykjavik
349 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing