We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Exceptional service. I would feel cheated if I didn't go back there.”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is a nice European Hotel. If you are expecting the most opulent rooms, with large bathrooms, and a bed the size of a car...It's not there. It is however a place that my family stayed in with 2 children and always felt welcome. It is centrally located, within walking distance to just about anything in Reyjavik but yet far enough away so that you do not have too many loud noises. The difference in my opinion between a luxury property and a moderate one relates to service and this one impressed me at every step.
Also - the Wireless internet was free and fast, the minibar was reasonably priced, and the artwork made me feel like I was staying in a wealthy mansion.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsnarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

The hotel is expensive and I was a little bit disappointed in my small single room. However I discovered I was sleeping below some orginal artwork. I loved the fact I could open the window and get some fresh air. The breakfast was average but the location was great. Wifi was a perk as well.
The staff are very helpful and tend to lerk behind the scenes but when you ask for help they are very considerate and accomodating e.g. you never see anyone on front desk and have to ring the bell for help.
The artwork around the hotel and in the rooms is amazing and if you have an icelandic friend they can brief you on the value of the paintings.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hornstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed the last night of our trip to Iceland. Perfect location. It is on a quite street very near downtown so within walking distance of everything you would wnat. Park the car and forget about it. Room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a great art collection and takes you back in time to a slower pace, but, also has wifi in your room so you can stay connected if youy have to. Had a fabulous meal in the hotel restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCD6875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our holiday in Iceland. Our room rates, which included an excellent buffet breakfast, were very reasonable for a city hotel.

For the first stay we were upgraded to a junior suite. This was in fact two small bedrooms opened up to make one room, and still had the two small bathrooms, one of which had room only for a bath. On our return we were given an ordinary room, which was small, but adequate, and a small bathroom which was a bit too small, with room just for one basin, a toilet and a shower. On the positive side the beds were comfortable, and there were lots of hangers, but on the negative side in the bathrooms the toiletries were limited and there was no space to put sponge bags etc. The windows in both rooms were very dirty, although the rooms themselves were perfectly clean. Light sleepers should be aware that when it is warm enough to open windows, there can be noise at night at the front of the hotel. There is lots of parking space in front and at the side of the hotel.

The many lounges, the bar, the public areas, and the restaurant were very comfortable, although the profusion of not very good artwork of all kinds covering every bit of wall space was a bit overwhelming! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Food in the restaurant was good, and Marco our waiter was a gem. He also makes a superb mojito!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worlwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The Holt Hotel is wonderfully situated in a quiet residential neighborhood but close to everything in Reykjavik. The guest rooms are large and well appointed and the hotel is full of charm everywhere - from the lobby to the hotel bar to the restaurant to the three rooms in which we were staying. The breakfast was more than satisfying and we enjoyed a dinner we had there; the food and service were both excellent. More than anything else, the hotel staff is friendly, welcoming, and 100% focused on making each guest's stay as pleasant and satisfying as possible. We have stayed in a number of hotels over the years - large and small - and none has been better.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank AandAinActon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed at Hotel Holt for a couple of days of R&R after a business trip in the Nordic area. The pros: location is key - very quiet, even on a Saturday night (save for some singing revelers at 3 AM) and only a short walk (5 mins) to the main walking area. The staff was extremely hospitable and welcoming and gave great advice about what to see and what to avoid. The hotel is on the list for the airport shuttle so that was also a great help in getting to and out of the city. In addition, the price was quite good (approx $150 USD) and we booked on Orbitz (I think).

The cons: the decor is extremely outdated. Giant leather sofas and wood paneling in the lobby and bar make it look like an old world Howard Johnsons. This is not an "elegant" hotel. Our room and bathroom could have also used a major makeover but it was VERY clean and I'll take clean and unfashionable any day over stylish but skeevy.

As a base for a short visit if you're not going to spend any time in the hotel, I think it's good value for the money but it does not give the vibe of an exclusive and elegant property.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citrouille10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel Holt and found it it to be an excellent choice. The staff were very friendly, dinner was exceptional and the bar was a great place for a pre or post dinner drink. Add to this a fantastic art collection throughout the hotel and you couldn't really wish for more. It is in a good location within a short walk to the town centre and all the sights. Restaurants in Reykjavik are much better than expected and the reception staff were very helpful in choosing and booking. If you get the chance though, do try the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drdrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,746 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £196 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing