We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, lovely place”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Very helpful staff. Stunning hotel decor internally with good bar and excellent restaurant (though pricey). Few trivial issues.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank bencb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here in January 2011 after seeing a good review in The Guardian. It's a great hotel, with nice clean rooms, friendly staff and it's close to the bus station for tours and the central street in Rejykavik. The breakfast was good and the dinners - if expensive - were lovely. I'd definitely stay again. Plus the young lad behind the desk was very handsome :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robot3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed for two nights in November and to be honest it was perfect. We were given an up grade to a suite as we were celebrating my hubby's birthday and after that, every staff member we met would always wish G "happy birthday" "I hear it is your birthday" etc!.....The staff were all so charming and friendly. Especially at the check in desk and the gentleman behind the bar. 'Happy Hour' much appreciated after spending the day on the Super Jeep Golden Circle Tour.
Our room was great, lots of space and a wonderful bed. We did not have any problem with noise and we had the breakfast room all to ourselves.
When I was organising this special trip, I really did not know where to start but with help from fellow Trip Advisor's but more so from the Hotel Holt I created a fantastic itinerary. The staff always answered my emails (general questions/queries) quickly and they were a superb help to me!
What a wonderful city, and you should aim to experience this stay at the best hotel, and that in my eyes is the Hotel Holt. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paws2paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

As soon as you come in from the icy street, warmth and colour welcome you. The distinctive feature of this lovely hotel is Art and indeed, either in the lounge, library, bar, breakfast-room or corridors, paintings, sculptures and art works are everywhere, giving the place a rich and refined atmosphere. I had a wonderful time in Iceland and my stay at Hotel Holt certainly contributed to the full success of it. The staff is incredibly helpful even in the smallest of matter, and my room if it was a single was very large and comfortable. The breakfast-buffet is a good, classic one with the healthy option of cod liver oil if one so feels inclined ! I would only mention two little hic. 1- the shower took for ever to get warm but then got quickly boiling, so had a timing of about 3 minutes in between. Not great. But not so bad that I bothered to query if it was only my room or everywhere the same. 2- Even though the hotel was very quiet, I had someone staying all nights above, and one night got pretty noisy. I realised that if all the rooms were occupied, it would make the place rather too lively...Not great sound-proofing. But again it was not really a problem and overwhole, I would definitely warmly recommend this hotel, perfectly located in a quiet street, 5mn walk from the main shopping street and from the lake. It is very comfortable and welcoming as you wish an hotel to be away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josephien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Holt twice during July. I found the staff extremely helpful and kind: nothing was a problem. At my second stay the hotel manager upgraded me to the jnunior suite - which was a lovely treat. The food is fantastic, if a little salty for my taste. (A quiet word to my waitress and the rest of the meal was fine!) The service in the dining room is quiet and unobtrusive - it's a real treat to have silver service at table. Lounging the reading room is so restful you can't help but have a little nap! The artwork is unusual and very interesting. They have coffee set up for people leaving early - a good way to start the day. All in all a good hotel with fantastic staff and good price. I definitely will stay again! Thank you to Snorri and his wonderful team!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdk451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We stayed in April for my 40th birthday. We arrived late on Friday having travelled from Akureyri airport as the ash cloud had closed Reykjavik. When we arrived, the staff were very welcoming and helpful - unfortunately we would have to have breakfast in our room, which suited us fine and they brought us a feast ! We were doing the Gulfoss trip the next day so it kept us going in the cold until lunch.

We had a problem with our return flights being cancelled due to the ash and the receptionist couldn't do enough for us - she contacted Icelandair and had us transferred to an alternative flight - we'd booked a trip to the Blue Lagoon and when we returned all we had to do was call the airline to confirm arrangements.

The hotel is really lovely, close to town without being noisy and the staff can't do enough for you. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_girl_2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Lovely hotel, near the centre with an incredible art-collection and the best kitchen of the island! Although the room are not very big, they are very comfortable. The staff was great and attending to every need we expressed.
The dinner in the hotel restaurant was incredible, worth a Michelin star!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hildesjo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,746 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £195 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing