We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely home away from home”
Review of Grettir Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grettir Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The house was lovely and well kept. The housekeeper Anton is so kind, polite, and professional. He lists his cell phone number at the house in case you have any questions or problems. We called him a couple times during our 3 night stay and he was always there about 15 minutes later. (He lives offsite). You get an actual key to your room, so no one else staying there can just open your door.The house (including kitchen and bathroom) is clean and stayed warm throughout our stay. The house also provides dishes, glasses, silverware (all of which you can wash), pots, pans, and spices for cooking, and complimentary milk (provided by Anton). If you want to buy food to prepare your meals in the kitchen, a grocery store (Bonus) is just a 5-10 min walk away. There are three rooms on the bottom floor and two on the top floor. I saw all of the rooms, they are all a bit different, but in my opinion, equally nice. I highly recommend this place if you are on a budget- GREAT value! Not over-priced at all :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna111286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    81
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
61
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at the Grettir Guesthouse in July, The Staff were very helpful even feeding change into the car parking machine for me when i arrived without any change. it is located just off the main Street though it is probably easier if arriving by car to park behind it were there is a small carpark.
The guesthouse is ideally located for exploring Reykjavik and is right in the middle of the action. The Room we stayed in was basic but clean and the beds were comfortable. the only downside as previously mentioned is the walls are thin and people can be heard talking in other rooms or the kitchen. If you have the choice request one of the upstairs rooms as they presumably would be quieter.

If you hire a car you will need to pay to park it Reykjavik (hardly suprising) but watch out for the no nonsense parking wardens

If I'm ever back in Reykjavik this will be the first place I look for

Room Tip: First Floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest US
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Grettir Guesthouse is just as others have reviewed - very clean, well kept and updated, cute, free wifi, great help from the owners. The location is indeed perfect for being in the middle of it all, walking distance from everything in the centre. I would note that the walls are thin, so it's easy to hear people talking and walking around in other rooms. Otherwise, this is a great find!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itstheadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Located smack in the centre of Reykjavik, this is a very small and comfy place. The hostel only has a half dozen rooms and can be found right behind the Reykjavik Backpackers. The co-owner was very friendly and sent good information even before I had asrrvied. They were flexible and the other travellers I met were also very nice. There was a common food area in the fridge which was very much appreciated since I arrived very late. Definitely can recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Huber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Me and my husband stayed there for four nights at the Grettir guesthouse and we were very impressed with the quality of the rooms, the amenities and the service. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The bed was comfortable, the rooms were quiet and well-appointed and the location is unbeatable (right of the main street Laugavegur in Reykjavik) I would highly recommend this guesthouse and will definitely stay there the next time I am in Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I don't think it's possible to be any more centrally located in Reykjavik than Grettir. It's just off the main street, through an alleyway. The guesthouse is a traditional old Icelandic wooden house, with cute and clean little rooms. I stayed in the attic room (the Honeymoon suite) which was really nice.

The best thing about the place though is Edda, the owner, who is so friendly and helpful and welcoming.

I think they only have a few rooms, so early booking is a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie-Rhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is the ideal location to be - right off the main street and close to everything you need. The home caretaker is very nice, and Anton (the owner) was a pleasure. It's a small guesthouse, which means peace and quiet - as well as shared kitchen facilities and free WiFi access. If you book any tours, the pick up/drop off location is the Reykjavik Backpackers, which is located right in front of Grettir.

I've been travelling for 10 months throughout Europe, and Grettir is easily one of the cleanest and best places I've stayed at. I would definitely recommend this place for couples or as a solo trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
575 reviews
Luna Apartments
#28 of 106 in Reykjavik
147 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#22 of 110 in Reykjavik
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
#51 of 110 in Reykjavik
32 reviews
101 Hostel
#51 of 106 in Reykjavik
13 reviews
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#70 of 110 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grettir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettir Guesthouse

Property: Grettir Guesthouse
Address: Laugavegur 28 A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grettir Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettir Guesthouse is located right on Reykjavík’s most famous Laugavegur The main entrance to Grettir is from Laugavegur 28A, in a small back house on Reykjavík’s main shopping street. The entrance to Grettir is through a gated underpass, right between the “Reykjavík Backpackers” hostel and “Eva”, a woman’s clothing store At Grettir you can come and go as you please but please note thatthe hours between midnight and 7 p.m. are considered quiet time. The underpass has two gates which are usually closed between midnight and 7 a.m. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grettir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing