We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant informative show”
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Ranked #16 of 183 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality film that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As a group of 11 people from the age of 8 up to 69 we all thoroughly enjoyed these two movies showing the devastation but also the determination of mankind when we have to come together to rebuild. Well worth a visit.

Thank UKCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear friend!

Woaw! How happy we are to read those kind words, many thanks!

Volcano House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 905 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I enjoyed the documentaries about the two eruptions. It was nice to learn more about them and see the footage. Another positive thing was the guy working there. He was very willing to give more information on Iceland and the volcanoes. He was very knowledgeable and nice.

Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear friend,

Many, many thanks for this great review. We LOVE hearing good things about our staff, it´s very important to us that we make everyone feel welcome and that our guests walk out with a little more knowledge than before.
Hope to see you again for a visit some day,

Take care,
Volcano House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were thankful that there were no cataclysmic eruptions while we were in Iceland, but it was great to see the volcanos erupting in awesome power while sitting in the comfortable theatre at Volcano House! Good experiemce!

Thank BBC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi there!

We want to thank you so much for the kind words and nice rating. We hope to see you again some day,

All our best,
Volcano House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is a small "museum" with some stones from all over Iceland. You can read about the stones, the minerals and the volcanoes. If you have time you can watch movies about Eyjafjallajökull and the famour eruption in the Westman Islands. AND you can buy ash from the eruptions of the Icelandic volcanoes.

Thank Zsófia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi there!

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about Volcano House. Just a quick reminder to all that our stone collection along with information is completely free of charge. Our main attraction is our movies which will give you a great background to Icelandic geology and nature. A must if you´re planning to travel around the island.
Hope you had a great time in Iceland,

All our best,
Volcano House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very small museum describing the volcanos and geology of Iceland. Samples of rocks, etc, with good descriptions. Interesting but very small.

Thank las-Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review about Volcano House. We would just like to remind people that our museum is completely free of charge. This is why it is not as big as the national museum for example, which you have to pay for. We want to show our guests the many different volcanic Iceland rocks that are out there.

All our best,
Volcano House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing