We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Ranked #21 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality film that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Close to our hotel so easy to pop in. Very informative, good film and well worth a visit to see this. Pity the restaurant wasn't open

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank drjan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi friend!
Many thanks for those kind words. We´re happy to say that the Fish and Chips restaurant is now open for buisness.

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    566
    220
    52
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great movie”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

For 1 hour you get two movies on Volcanos in Iceland. You get to see the total destruction and the sheer power. A must in Iceland

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 101Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Volcano House. We agree it is "a must" when staying in Reykjavik :)

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Real Eye Opener”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This film clip will give you an up close and personal experience to what happens when a 'real' volcano blows up! Very well done and this is life in Iceland--no Hollywood type drama.
I would highly recommend this for anyone over the age of 10 (below 10, might be a bit intimidating).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bokunhandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are so happy and grateful for your nice review. What a great title as well :)
We hope to see you again sometime at Volcano House.

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Interesting but nothing spectacular”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It looked like they were going to be doing something else with that space instead of having the exhibition there. It was an honest exhibition but it did not fully capture the awesome power of Iceland's most volatile features. This could have been so much more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi there!

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about Volcano House. We have been going through some changes here in the building because Fish and chips just opened up next to us but we´re now ready for the summer.
Hope you had a great time in our beautiful country!

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely cafe & interesting film. Also has a mini museum where you can touch different types of volcanic rock. Truly fascinating how the locals deal with living in such as active area, just get on with it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lauzg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear friend,

Many thanks for this nice rating of your visit here at Volcano House,
we hope to see you again in the future!

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing