We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own soap.”
Review of AR Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AR Guesthouse
Ranked #91 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Bring your own soap.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The house we found was definitely roomy and comfortable for four people, and quite close to the center.
The decor is very basic but there is everything, if you do not mind sticking your coats on the nails scattered in the wall.
However, we found the whole thing is not clean, especially the bathroom. We therefore had to clean it before using it.
The staff is friendly enough but hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriella g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you like 19th century accommodations then this is your place. Not even the hostel folk call this nice. Drippy shower, windows broken, wifi doesn't work, zero service! Can't even think of more negative comments to describe these accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location is good and it's very close to the city centre. Online we found pictures of the place showing very clean and nice rooms, but our experience was very different. The true is, they have 2 buildings: a small one, very nice and clean, and a second one, larger and almost 'abandoned'. All the rooms in the second building (the one we were in) are small. They have no chairs, no tables, no mirrors, nothing... They are ok for a w/e, but they can easily become uncomfortable for longer periods. The place itself was quite dirty (especially the bathrooms, which were never cleaned in 4 days!!!) The guesthouse provided us with linen, but unfortunately they were not fitting the bed and they had some holes. The reception is open 24h, but every time we went there there was nobody present (not even during the period 9am-7pm when they assured us they would have be there)!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmodolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights. The price we paid is unbelievably cheap. We did came before summer so it wasn't peak season. Our flight arrived at 7am so there was no one in the guesthouse to check us in. Good thing our driver was able to call the owner/manager. We were able to store our luggage while we walked around town until 2pm when we can check in to our room. There are many pros and cons to this place:
Pro:
1.) The price is very reasonable - we booked our rooms on Booking.com and got a really great deal
2.) The location is ideal - It is within 5 minutes walk to the heart of Reykjavik. It was so convenient to go to the information office, bars, restaurants, shops
3.) Heating in the guesthouse was pleasant. I never felt too warm or too cold in our room or any part of the guesthouse
4.) They have a fully functioning kitchen where you can cook food, store food in the refrigerator, a very old microwave but functioning, all sorts of utensils, sugar, spices and stuff
5.) The other guests we met during our stay were very nice decent people. When we got back from a tour around 9pm, there were a few guys downstairs that were pretty loud but when we saw one of them in the hallway, the guy apologized if they were too loud and that they're going out soon. It was only 9pm so no big deal. One couple told us we're welcome to have their left over groceries in the fridge since they were checking out that day.
6.) The bathrooms were not pretty but at least they kept them clean and well supplied with toilet paper and hand soap.
7.) It's located in a very quiet and safe neighborhood (Honestly, there was not a place in Reykjavik and the other parts of Iceland we visited that I did not feel safe)
8.) Our bed was very small but very comfortable.

Cons:
1.) The double room is very small for 2 people. We made a mistake of booking this room. In my past experience, a double room is sufficient but in this guesthouse it's way too small. Bed is too small for 2 people. I wish I did more research and booked their bigger room.
2.) The bathrooms are small and specially on the third floor, the shower is way too small. So, whenever we took a shower, we went to the second floor bathroom.
3.) The walls are very thin but we did not encounter a lot of noise during our stay. People were out in town or on tours most of the time. We only saw some of them in the morning or at night. Everyone seem very mindful of not making any noise.
4.) There is no housekeeping so you clean your own room, make your bed and use the same towel during your entire stay.
5.) The hot water from the faucet smelled like rotten eggs which is the sulfur. I'm not sure if all hostels/guesthouse/ hotels in Reykjavik are like that because of the geothermal heating. It'll be good to know. I wish I read that somewhere before coming to Iceland. It's ok because we know their water is very fresh and clean but just good to know beforehand

Staying at this guesthouse just depends on every person/ couple's needs. If you want a little nicer place with your own bathroom, pay more and book elsewhere. If you want cheap, great location, adequate place and don't mind sharing bathrooms with other guests then this place is worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Staying at AR Guesthouse for the second time. This place is blessed with a peacefull breathtaking mountain and waterfront view from both the terrace and our cosy, comfortable doubleroom also incl. a small sink, fridge and a neat dining area. - Enjoyed several strolls towards the city center, passing snuggy houses in all colors and shapes. Foodmarkets are a 5 min. walk from here. Catch up on your world history while fixing dinner in the kitchen - since this house is visited by all nationalities. If you need anything the staff is most happy to comply! Wifi 24-7.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at AR Guesthouse for 10 days. In our opinion the location is just perfect. Walking distance to the Information Centre downtown (where you can apply for tax refund), close to the whale watching dock (Elding), restaurants and shops. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was what we needed, basic but clean. The 3rd floor washroom has a shower but not installed though. Generally, the area is quiet at night time. Will recommend to those who are on budget- a definite bang for the buck.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic on the second floor mainly because the reception, washroom (with shower) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The AR Guesthouse is nice for the money. It close by all the needed Reykjavik shops and easy to get to by car. We walked around easily from the hotel. Unfortunately, we stayed on the second floor and it was bust=y day and night (like 2AM in the night) because the kitchen was there. Parking was free and there were lots of places on the street. It took a little help getting coordinated to pay but the key was there when we arrived.

Room Tip: The second floor has the kitchen and reception nearby so expect activity at all hours. On the plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.1 mi away
Reykjavik Marina Residence
Reykjavik Marina Residence
#44 of 52 in Reykjavik
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
0.1 mi away
Marina Apartments
Marina Apartments
#59 of 106 in Reykjavik
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alfholl Guesthouse
Alfholl Guesthouse
#55 of 110 in Reykjavik
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Embassy Luxury Apartments
#7 of 110 in Reykjavik
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
32 Tungata
32 Tungata
#41 of 106 in Reykjavik
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AR Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Guesthouse

Property: AR Guesthouse
Address: Braedraborgarstigur 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Hotel Class:2 star — AR Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your AR Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing