We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live like a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athena Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athena Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Live like a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at Athena Guesthouse for a week in July 2012. It is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood a short walk to the hub of Reykjavik. It is also a short walk to the seaside and a beautiful walking trail. Breakfast is included otherwise it is self catering. Luckily there is a small grocery store up the street where you can buy food, beer and don't forget the delicious skyr! AS with a typical apartment in Reykjavik the rooms are small and you are required to follow Icelandic custom and leave your shoes outside the door. Don't worry no one will steal them! Egill and his family(they also run Butterfly Guesthouse) are very hospitable and welcoming.

Highly recommened if you are looking for a quiet stay away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntiDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Athena guesthouse was an unexpected jewel in our trip to Iceland - when we first decided to book rooms there, we were a little bit nervous about what it was going to be like staying at a private guesthouse, instead of a larger hotel, as we usually do during travel, but our anxiety was laid to rest as soon as we arrived: Egill, our host was really friendly, yet professional, explained to us how to get around in Reykjavik in great detail and was ready to answer any questions we had. The service at Athena gusthouse is very customer-oriented, and when booking, Egill also informed us on the various ways to reach the guesthouse from airport, as well as offered us a lift from the bus station, if we needed it. The guesthouse has all conveniences - there is free wi-fi, and in case you need it, the owners can even lend you a mobile phone with Icelandic number for your stay free of charge! The location of Athena guesthouse is also very convenient - it's not right in the city centre, which makes it pleasantly quiet, but near enough so that you could get to the downtown area in less than 10 minutes. If you are interested in taking bus tours around Iceland from Reykjavik, there is also a pick-up point for those nearby. As usually with guesthouses, the breakfast is self-service, however, everything that you might want is offered: there is cereal, always fresh milk in the fridge, as well as eggs that you can boil or fry, jam and cheese for toast, and always fresh fruit on the table, and, of course, coffee and tea, as well as a shelf in the fridge, so if you wish to do so, you can even cook your other meals instead of always eating out! All in all, I would recommend Athena as a great place to stay in Reykjavik, when visiting Iceland and we will probably return there the next time we go to Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staphylocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed in Athena guesthouse in August 2012.
It is about a 10minute walk to the main town and is situated in a quiet neighbourhood. So it is a great location.
The guesthouse is spotless! That is one of the main things I am fussy about when it comes to accommodation but this place was really nice. Even though the bathrooms were shared this was not a problem either as they were always kept so clean!
Above all the service is excellent! Egill, the host was so friendly and would go out of his way to help us. It was the personal service that made the stay worth it.
Athena guesthouse felt like our home in Reykjavik and we will definately stay there again when we come back!!
Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeevi_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Here's my note (below) to Egill our host. We are a couple that stayed in June 2012 at Athena Guesthouse. It's in a quite neighbourhood and we like to go out and be loud and come back to a place to rest. Athena worked well for us. Happy travels.

Egill,

Your hospitality and great guesthouse location MADE our 4 day/4 night holiday.

Less than 10 minutes to town and harbour, less than 5 minutes to a pool or run along the coast. Close to shop and pharmacy. Great location.

The service was great. Thoughtful and helpful you make a great host with professional service - thank you.

If you would like me to comment on any other aspects of your service I am happy to do so and to support a business like yours.

Thank you

Room Tip: We had the front room with two single beds made into a double. We slept well and enjoyed sitting out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

You'll feel very welcome at Athena Guesthouse! I've had a great stay there, two summers in a row, and I stay there because of the friendliness of the owners, the cleanliness, and the great location. The owners are very kind and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. You get a lot of value for your money.
The rooms were bright, newly renovated, and very clean! Breakfast was plentiful and included fresh fruit! There were always snacks and coffee/tea available. You get your own shelf in the fridge and access to the fully-equipped kitchen too (which was also always very clean). The location is in a peaceful neighbourhood just minutes from the downtown/harbour area. It is close to the BSI bus terminal, the National Museum, the University, and the Tjornin too! I plan to stay there again, the next time I visit Reykjavik.

Room Tip: I've stayed in rooms on either side -if they don't have a balcony, they have a lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveiIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Nordurstjarnan Guesthouse
#67 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Grenimelur Guesthouse
#48 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Háaleiti
Guesthouse Summer Day
Guesthouse Summer Day
#71 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guesthouse Monika Blondal
#61 of 108 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Alba Guesthouse
#41 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Three Sisters Guesthouse
#31 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Guesthouse

Property: Athena Guesthouse
Address: Vidimelur 40, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our lovely guesthouse one of the oldest parts of Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Athena Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing