We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Clean and well appointed rooms within walking distance from downtown Reykjavik, but not so close as to be bothered by the insane nightlife. Breakfast was included. Excellent and helpful service from the staff in arranging reservations for various things. One complaint is that WiFi is only available in the Lobby/Lounge area and not in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jad311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    726
    267
    35
    13
See reviews for
184
795
80
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Hotel Klettur is located just beyond the edge of the city center, but all the important sites and restaurants are still within 20 minutes walking distance. The price was under $150 per night, which is a little below the average for this class. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient, if overworked. The breakfast was good, but not great. You had better not be late, as items run out. The hotel is new, a little Spartan, but tastefully decorated. We fell in love with Iceland and will return. When we do, we will probably stay at the Klettur again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I am staying at Hotel Klettur right now. My reservation is for 6 nights and I've been here so far for 2 nights. The hotel is off one of the main streets leading to downtown Reykjavik. It's next to a bus terminal Lhummer (I think). At first sight, it seems to be in the middle of now where but there are a few decent restaurants around. So far, I've tried Devito's Pizza (good thin crust pizza, non-oily), Ban Thai and Harry's...all within 5 minutes walk. There is also a 11-11 a few blocks away, similar to 7-11 where you can get some snacks.

The hotel itself is very new and clean. There are 5 floors, the 4-5 floors have deluxe rooms. The breakfast/bar is in the basement. Breakfast is complimentary and is served between 7-10am. It's simple consisting of cereal, various breads, hard boiled eggs, 2 different types of cold cuts, 1 type of slice cheese, various coffee, teas, orange juice and apple juice. It's not fancy but adaquate.

Service is very nice. I arrived early (8:30 am) and my room was ready and they allow be to have the free breakfast upon arrival which is very nice.

Free wifi is only availabe at the breakfast/bar area. Free wired internet is available in the room.

I book quite last minute and many other hotels were booked solid. I settled on Klettur because the rates were very reasonable ISK 200,000 per night and if you stay 2 nights, you get 1 free so it works out ot be approx USD 150/night taxes and breakfast included. For Reykavik, it's fanatistic. My other colleagues stayed at the Park Inn and Grand Hotel near by and perhaps the breakfast there is better there, the hotel itself and the value at Klettur is much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Since the hotel was only opened in 2011, we had little by way of previous reviews to make a judgement on booking. Other reviews stated that the town centre could be very busy especially at weekends and since we are an older couple, our sleep is more important than partying. The hotel is close to Laugavegur, one of the main streets but at the quiet end of it so we had a fair walk to reach the busy end where most of the restaurants/cafes/shops/attractions are. This ensured a peaceful night's sleep and the beds and bedding were very comfortable. The slight downside was the walk to eat or stroll in the evenings- perhaps not a problem for some but it was for me as I'd hurt my knee just before going to Iceland and the 20-25 minute walk each morning/evening were more than I would have liked.

The hotel is however very close (3 minutes walk) from Hlemmur bus station and local buses could be used to get to certain attractions such as the Botanic Gardens and public swimming pools. It's worth getting a day pass as this costs the same as one return ticket (one journey is the same price no matter the distance) and was around £4 each.

Hotel Klettur offered a good cold breakfast buffet and staff were pleasant. We paid for the superior rooms on the top 2 floors (of 6) so we had a bit of a view and would do the same again if we returned. Not cheap for a 3* hotel at £114 per night but Iceland is not cheap in the first place (though not as bad as we'd expected).

We took the 24 hop-on and -off bus tour of the city which only takes one hour for a full circuit (it's not a big city) and two tours into the island, one full day of the Golden Circle and one to the South Coast, to see waterfalls, glaciers, geysirs and volcanoes. All worth doing as the city does not begin to give an impression of the island. We were extremely fortunate with the weather and had warm sunny days with blue skies and our photos are pretty impressive! I suspect the more typical grey days could leave you with a rather different impression.

We also went to the Blue Lagoon and although I had read reviews stating it was better to go to the geothermal swimming pools in Reykjavik, the Blue Lagoon is unique and definitely worth a visit. We found a tour that took us there by bus - a good 50 minutes away- and included hotel pick-up and lagoon entrance for the same price as the entrance fee alone (30 euros, plus towel hire!), The Perlan is also very much worth a visit (on the hop-on and off tour) and has its own geysir and good views over the city.

We really enjoyed our Iceland week; people were warm, relaxed and friendly and there was a good variety of restaurants (even vegetarian ones for me). Everyone speaks excellent English so getting help on any query was easy.

Overall, good value and a pleasant experience but be prepared for the walking distances from the Klettur to the city centre if that is a relevant factor!

Room Tip: Worth paying for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gershwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing