We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Milton keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The staff we very helpful and made us felt welcome, the hotel is an ideal base to get around Reykjavik and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    741
    274
    36
    14
See reviews for
191
813
82
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Nice, basic trendy hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and frindly and spoke brilliant English. 5 minute walk into town. All excursions pick up from the front door. Only criticism would be the lack of kettle in the room. There was access to coffee in the bar but would have been nice in our room for the early starts. This hotel doesn't as yet do a dinner service but we found some amazing local restaurants selling traditional cuisine. oh and I shouldn't forget how comfortable the beds were!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenskirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year - crazy fireworks in Reykjavik at midnight, best I have ever seen. The place was spotlessly clean and a very relaxed breakfast experience - candles and low lighting, lovely.

The best thing about it was the unbeliveably helpful, friendly and fun reception staff - you don't get to say that too many times!

Close to the main drag and worth a look at if you are going to this fantastic country.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MhairiFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We found this hotel to be much nearer to the main shopping street than expected. It was only 5 minutes for us to walk to the beginning of the street, then maybe another 20 minute stroll right to the other end. There are bars and restaurants all along the street so you don't have to go all the way to the end to find somewhere nice for dinner.
Rooms are clean and spacious, staff friendly, substantial breakfast and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomatovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just at the top of the main street which means it's a quiet location but still in easy walking distance of all the restaurants and bars. Very new modern minimalistic hotel, free wifi, and nice breakfast. Double room was two single beds pushed together, but nice bathroom and shower.
Nice room temperature control, which was a criticism of some other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel Klettur offers clean, comfortable rooms, free internet, convenient location and a delicious breakfast buffet. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and provided us with excellent restaurant recommendations within walking distance. The rooms are well appointed and the shower was perfect! The downstairs bar is a comfortable place to relax and the free parking was a real plus. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Iceland for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dennissuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I must confess that I did not know much about Hotel Klettur when I booked the room, except that it was right by the city centre (although in a remarkably quiet area), a 2 min. walk from the city bus terminal, and that it was brand new. I was pleasantly surprised. Check-in was fast and efficient, the room clean and comfortable, the shower was excellent and so was the bed. I did not check out the corded internet access. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The room became a bit stuffy because one could not open a window, but it did not bother me that much. I stayed for one night only and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I got a quiet room without asking for it, but I imagine a room right by the elevators might be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helgi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing