We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly and warm hotel”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 11 February 2012

visited iceland from the 5th feb - 9th feb and stayed at the klettur hotel booked through icelandair.

hotel is rated as a 3star hotel. me and my partner found the hotel was very clean, hotel room was spacious, warm and very modern with flat screen TV (loads of channels), fridge, free safe, hair dryer and walk in shower. the staff were the friendliest of people who you could talk to like you had known them for ages and were always very helpful. when ever a trip was cancelled i would only have to ask if there were any other tours available and they would around to find one for us. a member of staff was available on reception 24/7.

i would certainly recommend this hotel to any one. it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is a perfectly good base to spend a few days in Iceland, located very conveniently for a stroll into the shops and restaurants of Reykjavik. We stayed as part of a package with Icelandair, which seemed to be the case for most if not all of the other guests. Our room was a reasonably size, modern and clean, with a good shower room and a thermostat to allow us to turn up the temperature when we returned from our (freezing!) excursions to see the Northern Lights. On the downside, furnishings were very bland - just a little colour would have made it much cosier, something that we would really have appreciated as Iceland was experiencing its coldest winter in 27 years when we visited! Breakfast was not particularly plentiful. We arrived 45 minutes before the end of service, and my husband got the last of the Danish pastries. Bread ran out and was slow to be replenished. But these are pretty minor grumbles. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, and I'd happily return for a short break in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hogwart214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a how many times can you type good in to a review? What a hotel the Klettur is. The Hotel is GOOD. The receptionists are GOOD The Rooms are GOOD the food is GOOD whilst not on the main street the town centre is a short walk away there are good restaurants locally we tried the Pots & Pans twice and also the old harbour area. There is a Ruby Tuesdays locally if you are desperate. The hotel will give you directions on where to go. The whole experience was very pleasant. Thank you Hotel Klettur

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is new (opened summer 2011) hotel in a quiet area just off the main shopping street in Reykjavik.

It's location meant that we could walk to all of the places we wanted to visit in Reykjavik and easy for coaches to collect us for excursions.

The rooms were of a good size and very comfortable.

The staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilliCaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone -singles, couples and families. Great location (only 10 minute walk to main centre of town), immaculate warm rooms and great buffet breakfast. Above all, the staff were exceptional. Our fight had been cancelled and the staff took responsibility to chase the airline and booked us on the next flight. They also organised all airport transfers and were always willing to go above and beyond with any questions we had. Excellent value as well. We were truely grateful for their service in our trip and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A little out of the way for the main sights, so quiet and peaceful and there is a bus station about 200 yards away. This hotel offers good value for money, together with a very friendly and helpful reception staff

Room Tip: Room 6 (and probably others on the ground floor) had good wifi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchuffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I endorse what the majority of reviewers say about the Klettur. We arrived at 1.00 a.m to find that there had been a hiccup in communication between the airline and the hotel, but the issue was dealt with quickly and confidently and we were soon in a crisp, spotlessly clean room with underfloor heating in the bathroom. Beds are comfortable and duvets are silky, soft and warm. Not masses of hanging and storage space for 2 people, especially given the volume of clothing needed for Iceland in the winter, but given the short amount of time actually spent in the room it's not a great problem.
Breakfast is fine; continental style, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fruits etc. (and some scarey looking fish dish alongside the jams and honey!) - stock up well, you'll need lots of calories to stay warm outside.
The reception staff were excellent throughout our 3-day stay. They were constantly arranging excursions and airport transfers, giving directions and recommendations, keeping guests updated on the Northern Lights and generally being extremely helpful - all in flawless English. The reception area is also well stocked with maps and excursion information.
The hotel is close to the city centre, 10 - 15 minutes dawdle down a main shopping street on dry pavements, about 45 minutes through the snow and ice-rink that was Reykjavik last week!
If the Hotel Klettur is included as an option in your trip to Iceland, you can select it with confidence.
Just remember to take lots of warm clothes, rugged shoes and plenty of money for outdoors and you'll have a great trip.
Also, if you're going to see the Northern Lights, make sure you know how to use your camera for night-time photography. Practice with very slow shutter speeds and high ISO settings before you go - you may only see the Lights once in your life.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
22 Hill Hotel
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,048 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
824 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £110 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing