We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault the place, fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Can't fault the place, fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week as part of an Icelandair package deal. The location is very handy, just around the corner from the top of the main street, which keeps it quiet but well within walking distance to the shops, restaurants etc. Maybe a 20 minute walk from the downtown area. The staff were extremely helpful when we had any questions, and booked several tours through independant companies for us. The hotel is fairly new, very clean, spacious and the heating works well on a cold night! Standard continental style breakfast. Not a bad work to say about our stay here, we do plan on returning to Iceland and would happily come back here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinelli101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    727
    267
    35
    13
See reviews for
184
796
80
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at Hotel Klettur,modern clean hotel,great value for money and great location. Only slight improvement could be made with beds and pillows. Beds slightly hard and pillows very small,maybe a matter of taste though. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights (15-17 Sept inc) as part of a excellent value package deal from Air Iceland. Easy to reach from airport (pre-book Flybus transfer on line - you can make a stop in either direction at the Blue Lagoon) and on the edge of downtown Reykjavik. It is within a very short walk of both the sea and the main street, but it is about 15 minutes to get to the harbour at its end. When it rained and was windy and bitterly cold, this seemed a pretty long time. Most of the restaurants and bars are near the harbour, but Harry's (see TA reviews) and a couple more restaurants are nearby.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, if somewhat Spartan. The room was a decent size with minimum furniture, a fridge, safe, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, TV (BBC1 & 2, and other English speaking chanels available). Small niggles were no mirror on or over the dressing table, and limited light to read by.Our room was on pavement level, looking onto the street, but we had no noise problem at all. We were comfortably warm, too.

Standard European buffet breakfast with no hot options was fine - and the boiled eggs (not usually something I would normally review!) were delicious.

The staff were polite and helpful at all times.

All in all, this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkAnnalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just got back from a weekend stay in the Hotel Klettur in Reykjavik and we loved it! We knew it would be ok as we had read reviews from other travellers but it is always a relief to find out for yourself!
The hotel is in a good location, just a 5 minute walk from the Harbour and main shopping street Laugavegur. The room was clean, spacious, warm and the tv had lots of 'British' channels such as ITV, ITV2 and BBC - it was nice watching Corrie before bed! Not that we watched much tv at all as Reykjavik has so much to see and do. The shower was powerful, hot and they provided mini toiletries if needed. Check in and check out was also very speedy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only slight criticism I have is that the breakfast was not the best. I do not expect a full English but it would have been nice to have something hot (especially as the weather could be so cold!). However, I eat most things so did not struggle but the same could not be said for my boyfriend.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again! : )

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

A good hotel in a good position. Only about 5 minutes walk from the sea and the main street. The room was clean and everything seemed quite new. Lovely shower with plenty of hot water and constant pressure. I can't say we had a good view from our room but it was quiet. Usual choices for breakfast but it was fresh and regularly replenished. The hotel seemed to work closely with the trip organisers and airport bus which was useful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebird_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our room at the Klettur was clean, comfortable and well-located. Plenty of room, good bedside lighting. Very nice breakfast included. As a bonus, our room had a view of the harbor. What more could we ask for? We hope to go back to Reykjavik and would definitely choose the Klettur again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were in Iceland for a wedding and stayed at the Hotel Klettur, part of a package with Hotwire.
It is centrally located. Compared to U.S. standards, it is sparse, but everything was clean, the shower was good and the soap and conditioner did the trick. The hotel offers a free breakfast from 8:00 til 10:00, which is a typical European breakfast, everything cold. Cereal, hardboiled eggs, peppers, ham, cheese, etc. The coffee was good and you could make toast. The room darkening curtains worked well as the sun was up at 4:30 am. The receptionist, though not real friendly, got us 2 more pillows when I asked. Would I stay here again? Sure, it fit the bill while we were in Reyjkavik.

Room Tip: Try to get a water view or else you are looking at the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing