We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring with great staff”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring with great staff”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a 3 night stay at the Klettur booked through Flexible Trips. Eydis from reception was very quick to respond to my queries by email, and was lovely in person too - thank you so much Eydis for giving us a lovely room and for her great recommendations in getting around the city.

We stayed in room 604 on the top floor, which looked out over a car park as well as across the city towards the sea. The room was spotlessly clean and very quiet, with very comfortable beds, plenty of storage space and blackout curtains. We had plenty of hot water and good water pressure throughout our stay. The shower cubicle itself did not seem very big, and there was no plug for the bathroom sink - no major problem for us, but may be an issue for others.

We went down for breakfast every morning between 7 and 8am - there were barely 10 occupied tables each time! The breakfast room looked sparse in terms of decor but again was spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was not a huge amount of variety with the breakfast (cheese and meats, tinned fruit cocktail, pastry, bread, cereal) but the quality was very good and there was always plenty of food available. You could help yourself to as much as you wanted from the buffet.

Hotel Klettur is in a quiet location, yet is no more than 10 minutes walk to be in the heart of Reykjavik on Laugavegur - here you can find a wealth of different restaurants, shops and bars to suit all tastes. For evening meals we enjoyed a delicious Italian meal in Caruso, and a more traditional Icelandic meal in Geysir Bistro which was towards the harbour (the Icelandic skyr dessert was yummy!) - and we also found the Pot and Pan restaurant near the hotel to be good value for money with plenty of choice and an excellent soup/salad buffet. For supermarkets, there is a good one nearby - turn left out of the hotel and immediately left down the hill - walk down there to the main road and turn left. Follow along this road and the supermarket is on the left - I believe it is open 24/7.

In terms of activities whilst we were in Iceland, I cannot rate Iceland Excursions/Gray Line highly enough - their level of service, prompt arrivals, fantastic staff and wide variety of excursions make their trips excellent value for money. We enjoyed the Reykjavik City tour, the full day Golden Circle tour (make sure you wrap up at Gullfoss in the winter as it's bitterly cold!) and the Blue Lagoon on the way back to the airport. I would recommend 4 hours at the Blue Lagoon - we didn't really feel 2 hours was quite enough, given that we each had a 20 minute massage each.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Reykjavik and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for warm comfortable rooms and excellent customer service, just a 10 minute walk from the action.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    757
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
196
826
83
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Klettur for 3 nights as part of an Iceland air package. I emailed the hotel before arrival to upgrade our room. Lady who emailed back, Eydis was very helpful via email and when we met her in person continued to be lovely. All the staff were informative and helpful.

The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Reykjavik and had great views from the higher floor rooms.

Rooms were basic, clean and warm. What more could you ask for?

Breakfast was ok as was the bar for a quick drink before heading out.

Had a great weekend despite the lack of northern lights.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Klettur. We would 100% recommend this hotel. The roms were clean comfortable and warm. The breakfast was continental style style but there was plenty of food to choose from. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. There was a television in the room and BBC and ITV chanels were available. I could not find any negative points with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyTravellers011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The staff here were incredibly helpful, and nothing was too much. The hotel itself is simple, clean and a good base. For those who think it's too far out of the centre of the city, well they obviously don't do too much walking. Reykjavik is so small anyway, you can't be too far away. The rooms are not huge, and could do with hooks for hanging wet coats up, but apart from that no complaints. The best part? The staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Good location, good breakfast, friendly personal, dirty rooms- dust on the floor. In November we had to open window, our friends did not have window in the room and they could not sleep, because it was very hot

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have just returned from Iceland having stayed at Hotel Klettur as part of an Icelandair package.We found the Hotel to be very comfortable, clean with good size rooms and large shower.The breakfast was continental style and there was plenty to choose from and all was well presented. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. We would certainly recommend a stay here. We read reviews before we left and picked up on a recommendation for Harrys restaurant close to the Hotel. We ate there 2 out of our 3 nights and had superb meals, fish and chips were excellent, as were the prawns in tempura. Many other dishes to choose from and certainly good value. We also ate at La Luna pizza and Pasta restaurant on Monday (Harrys closes on Monday).Weather was awful but we did enjoy the trip very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LStevens35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a comfortable and pleasant stay for 3 nights at this 3 * hotel. The staff were helpful. Breakfast is a typical continental breakfast (no full English!) with plenty to eat. Our room was quiet and the beds comfortable. It would be good to have a kettle/tea/coffee/ in the room but that seems to be more of a British thing which is appreciated by Brits abroad. The shower was good, towels on the small side. Lighting everywhere in Iceland seems on the dim side and the Klettur was no exception - must be the bulbs? There are quite a few restaurants/shops within 10 minutes walk of the hotel and it's a 20/25 minute walk to the old harbour area. There is a small bus station nearby. Drinks were fairly expensive in the hotel but Iceland is not particulary 'cheap'. Average main meal price in a restaurant seems to work out at about £15. Good fish dishes in most restaurants. We would recommend the hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliab201663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
450 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,614 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing