We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Klettur
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$508
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$593
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,777)
Filter reviews
1,777 results
Traveller rating
529
864
321
45
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
864
321
45
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuilding workbreadnorthern lightsgames roombuilding siteporridgeextra pillowsunderfloor heatinghappy hourluggage roomhamthe main streetcontinental stylecold buffetboiled eggscity centreminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,376 - 1,381 of 1,777 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Liked it very much. It's not in the absolute centre of things but it is just off Laugavegur, the street that houses 90% of Reykjavik's amenities, and it's a pleasant 10min walk down to the lively end. They told us they had run out of twin rooms so we were given a 'family room' on the top floor which was gigantic. One side of the hotel has an amazing view of the bay, the other side compensates by having large balconies. Very comfy beds, good staff, good breakfast, free wifi in the lobby & basement bar. My main tips for Iceland are to book onto lots of coach trips to see the incredible landscapes, and to wait for the airport if you want to bring back Icelandic booze (a litre of Brennivin is £33 in the off-licence and the exact same bottle is £7 in the airport).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkskinnedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just returned from this hotel - booked due to previous Trip Advisor ratings. Totally agree with other positive reviews - comfortable, clean, convenient, friendly & helpful staff, good selection for breakfas and very warm! What more could you ask? Suggest for those booking Iceland Air holiday - wait until you arrive to book trips - much cheaper via Klettur.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking back of hotel to view harbour area.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISD_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We chose the Hotel Klettur with our Icelandair package. Upon arriving, we was transferred to the hotel, and checked in without any hassle. The rooms were very modern, and very spacious. The room comes with TV, and has a good selection of English channels. The hotel offers free wifi, but this does play up, and does not carry a good reception.

The bar downstairs, is very suave, and presentable, and the staff are very knowledgeable, and like to have a chat.

The breakfast could be improved, as there is not a lot on offer, and one small toaster does not cater for a lot of people.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, which is a 5 minute walk away from the centre of Reykjavik, and a 5 minute walk from the docks.

I would recommend going to the Blue Lagoon, and the Golden Circle, and this tour can be booked online for cheaper before going. The whale watching & Northern lights can be a bit hit and miss with the weather, but is worth doing. Just make sure you take a sea sickness pill beforehand!

For what you get with the package deal from Icelandair, you can't really groan about what you get, and for me this hotel is worth a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Hotel Klettur is pretty close to downtown Reykjavik and is easy to get to. If you're from the UK, think along the lines of a Premier Inn or Travelodge. The rooms are clean and fairly modern, the beds are comfortable, they're a good size, and the en-suites are exactly what you'd expect: clean and functional.

Breakfast is continental style, and fairly basic, but plenty of it.

I'd happily stay here again, but if you want a fancy hotel experience, this will probably not suit you. However, if you need a safe, clean, modern room and a good breakfast before going off to explore this fantastic country, you won't go wrong with this place.

Also, I can highly recommend renting a car (4x4 if you can stretch that far). Iceland is very easy to get around and all of the sights I wanted to see were easily accessible by car, including the Golden Circle, the unpronounceable volcano that caused all that trouble in 2011, and the glaciers.

I used http://iceland.carrentals.is/ to find a reasonably priced car.

Also, if you plan to go exploring some of the more remote areas, the Icelandic rescue service make an app available for smartphone users which allows you to log your journey plan and can be downloaded here: http://www.safetravel.is/

Safe travels, and I hope you have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: If you're going in the winter months, I wouldn't bother paying extra for a room with a view, unless you intend to be in it until after 10ish in the morning or will be back before 4ish in the afternoon, because it's dark.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cleyton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel on a Northern Lights special offer weekend. The hotel was very clean and tidy and quite adequate for our needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location ideal, being a mere 5 minute walk to the centre of town. On the downside we found the room to be uncomfortably hot, but rectified this by turning off the underfloor heating and leaving the window open. The washbasin in the shower room is very small and the mixer tap is right in the centre, making it difficult to splash water on the face. There was only one small shelf so we had to put toiletries on the floor. We would certainly stay at this hotel if we returned to Iceland but only if we could book rooms at the rear of the building and maybe a couple of floors higher up. Opposite the Klettur is a building advertised as a Guest House and Apartments. Sadly the residents there have no consideration for their neighbours and we were frequently woken up by the noise they created into the early hours of the morning. If asked what the hotel could do to improve, I would recommend having tea/coffee making facilities available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear and ideally floors 4 or 5.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacktarLancsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews