We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vlaue, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Crawley Down UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent vlaue, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Cannot fault this hotel which more than lives up to its 3* rating and offers good value for money - spotlessly clean rooms, excellent breakfast. helpful staff. We had room 305 on the 3rd floor overlooking the free car-park. Good sound insulation both from outside and the corridor which with comfortable beds resulted in 4 good nights sleep. Room was modern, flat screen TV with BBC amongst the TV channels on offer, individual reading lights, small wardrobe, safe, desk and casual chair. Very spacious bathroom with loo and shower. Towels provided. Wi-fi only works in reception and bar/breakfast room areas - at times a little slow but worked faultlessly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAlsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    770
    286
    39
    15
See reviews for
201
836
84
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Only stayed one night as it was a Hotel I wanted to stay in and see what all the fuss was all about. It is unique, the breakfast was basic but ample and there was little staff, but the American girl was really nice at the Reception desk. £34 per night inc breakfast was fantastic. The hotel rooms were warm, tons of tv channels including BBC 1, 2, 3, ITV 1 etc... The only thing which bothered me was the lack of character in the rooms - they looked so clinical and hollow - no finishing touches, no persona... Otherwise pleasant stay and on a quiet road, so near to the Bus Station and 24 hour shop. Thank you!

Room Tip: I they they are all nice - but aim for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have recently returned from an Icelandair Northern Lights tour. Icelandair were excellent and the arrange FlyBus service to and from the airport ran perfectly.

The hotel is only 5 minutes from the central area of Reykjavik and is very modern with a typical scandanavian feel. We were originally given a room on the ground floor at the front but got this changed to a room at the rear as there was limited bus pick up and drop off at the front.

The room was clean but basic - similar to Premier Inns. We had a flat screen tv that could pick up several english channels. The beds were 2 singles pushed together and you had 2 single duvet covers rather than a double. There was a hairdryer and fridge. The bathroom was a wet room with an excellent shower. There was shampoo and conditioner but no shower gel.

The only negatives with the bedroom were the heat and the lack of any tea and coffee making facilities. We could have done with the latter. As for the heat I turned the heating off but because of the insulation and heat in the rest of the hotel it still proved too hot for us.

The bar downstairs was good. A large beer would normally be 1400 Kr but there is a happy hour between 6 and 8 pm when 2 small beers cost 1000Kr. The barman was very helpful in giving advice on restaurants particularly with regard to traditional Icelandic fayre which we wanted to try. Eating out is not cheap. A traditional meal without drinks would normally set you back around 5000Kr without drinks but you can eat for less if you pizza etc. A large beer in restaurants or bars would normally set you back around 950Kr.

Breakfast is served downstairs and is very much a continental made up of cereal, cold meats/cheese. Adequate but not exceptional. Normal breakfast time is from 7.00 but on the day we were departing we asked for breakfast early and they supplied the full breakfast for us and others at 4.15.

Reception staff were very helpful in booking any trips you wanted and these could be done at short notice. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they did the online check in when leaving.

We would return to Iceland and this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ianbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 'Northern Lights' trip booked via Travelzoo - amazing value for money - £299 each which included flights, 3 night's B&B at the Klettur, and the Northern Lights trip. I wasn't expecting much for that price, but was really pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, comfy beds and a great shower. Breakfast was the standard continental fare - breads, cheese, ham etc., and was more than adequate. The staff were always helpful, friendly and polite.

Reykjavik is lovely, with plenty of restaurants/cafes, and lots of boutiques. We visited the National Museum of Iceland which was very interesting, and also went to the Culture House Museum which was very disappointing - just a few original manuscripts to look at and really not worth the entrance fee.

We were lucky to see a display of the Northern Lights on our second night out on the included trip, which was quite stunning, but very, very, cold, as we were standing still for about an hour and a half, so do wrap up really well!

We also did the Golden Circle tour which gave us a chance to see some of the major places of interest in Iceland - Gulfoss waterfall, the origianl Geysir's, and the National Park were particularly good, but if you go do wear appropriate footwear as the paths were really icy.

Overall, we had a great time in Iceland, and I wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We came here for a business trip and it was a great place to stay. The front desk staff was helpful with every matter such as finding day trips, making restaurant and bar recommendations, and explaining hotel services. Nicole was extremely helpful in finding fun activities for me and when an excursion company cancelled one of my trips at the last minute she even called around for me and reported the results as soon as I walked back in the hotel. Arnar was just as helpful and a lot of fun to get to know throughout my stay. It felt great to have a staff that knows your name and is genuinely glad to see you whenever you enter the hotel.

Otherwise, the facilities are well maintained and clean. Wi-Fi is free but does not extend to the rooms, breakfast is fairly standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton/Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This Hotel was very close to the town 5 mins walk if that. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and we had a standard double room had a fridge which was great as we bough a few drinks - don't expect a view. 2 separate beds pushed together and 2 single duvets - this hotel is lovely and warm nice when you come in from the cold weather! be careful not to flood the bathroom the water does not drain very quickly when showering! Breakfast is basic cold meats / cheese / cereal / Bread to toast and coffee - some juices also. We didn't use the bar in the evenings as we took our own drink. The city is more like a big town and very pretty - abit pongy from the geothermal Pools bit off an eggy smell sometimes. Eating out isn't as expensive as its made out to be its about the same as it is in London and again if you go to a posh restaurant is London its likely to be expensive and its the same there. I must recommend Caruso and Italian which serves everything from Pizza / Pasta / Chicken. Chicken its particularly expensive. I would have to advise against a Mexican called Tabasco's - the food I had there the chicken in particular was in edible and I'm a big fan of food some it has to be pretty terrible for me to waste food and I didn't eat this! If you are after a snack there are a few bakery's which quite cheap and somewhere to go to escape the cold for a while! The first night we were there - we had walked all the was through town and ended up at the bottom near the square and ended up in a place called Kebab Husid which was a bit random but I had the best Ham and Pineapple Pizza I've ever had! We also went on a few tripsI would recommend Volcanco tours for Northern Lights Tour - we did see them ( so slightly) and they were the cheapest 4x4 tour - The guy aslo gave us hot choc and cookies when we got out there were with the wind chill it was -15. The only thing I would say was the guy was very chatty and in his words hypo-active but was harmless enough - did like to talk alot. We also did the Golden Circle Tour with Snowmobiling in a 4x4 which Arctic Adventures, the guy who drove us up John was sound and the sights themselves were breathtaking. When it came to the snowmobiling one of the guys was pretty horrible - alot of people struggled up hills and were coming off and stalling alot - most people had there own snowmobile but me and my other half shared he drove there and I drove back ( up hills) I was ok up to one of the last hills were I stalled it this guy comes over grabs me by the scruff of the neck ( and my over half ) and shouts and swears at me which I didn't find helpful at all ( again this was not the guy who had been driving our 4x4 on the way up that goodness! we got back to base and we waited to go I wasn't best pleased as you can imagine. One of the Girls who was on our tour told us they had lost her friend that she didnt come back - They had lost her in the snow on the glacier we hung around for about 45min and finally she came back into the cabin ( maybe if the guy had paid more attention to head counting and less time shouting at me they may have realized they were one short !) anyway our driver John was very apologetic and stopped off on the way back and bought us all Hot Chocs and Cake - felt sorry for the poor lass who was left behind! We also did a Cave Trip up in Reykjavik which was combined with bus transfer to The Blue Lagoon- which didn't get off to the best start as the bus driver forgot to pick us up! The cave its self was spectacular but quite difficult to climb through ( really it was, you were on your hands and knees ) and you got to wear some attractive Onezies ! The finish we went to the blue Lagoon which we were worried about as someone had told us it was rubbish cold and Wavey ! thankfully it wasn't it was red hot and quite an experience! make sure your on time for the bus as our bus driver set off as the clock turned 7 and left someone behind then went back and make her apologize to the bus for being late. All in all we had a great stay in Iceland but I think Spring would be the best time to go

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily_lu2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Nice and clean. Walking distance to downtown. A little bit cold in the bathroom at first. Nice and helpful staff. Recommended a nice restaurant. No wi-fi in the room, just internet connection. Wi-fi in the lobby and restaurant. I didn`t try and you needed to create a free account. Breakfast just ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,653 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
924 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
993 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing