We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and well located”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Klettur and was not disappointed with my choice. We arrived mid-afternoon with a few other couples but check in was very quick, we had a room on the 2nd floor, unfortunately there are no stairs so you have to wait for the lift to go up just one floor which is a shame. Our room was lovely, very modern, very clean. We had 2 single beds pushed together as opposed to a double but it wasn't a problem. The rooms have floor heating which you can control yourself with a panel on the wall which is useful. Rooms have a tv, fridge, iron and hairdryer in them, I think you can hire a kettle but we didn't bother. There is a safe which is free to use and complimentary toiletries in the shower room. The staff on reception were very helpful with directions etc and they will book your excursions and flybus for return travel to the airport. All the trips we did had door to door pick ups/drop offs which is nice. The hotel is only a short walk from the main shopping street and around the corner from a bank if you need to withdraw or change any money during your stay. Breakfast is included in the hotel, it's a standard continental breakfast with cereals, yogurt, fruit, breads (with a toaster), cheese, meat and pastries etc. Tea and coffee is free of charge during breakfast but any other time of the day there is a small charge of I think 300 kr for a cup! The bar and lobby offer free wifi which is useful and the bar has a happy hour between 6pm and 8pm where 2 pints are 1000 kr which is a good deal. This is extended if your northern lights trip is cancelled. All in all, I have no complaints about the hotel and would happily stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the building site as they can make quite a lot of noise and if you'v...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireWeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Klettur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The room was very lovely and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the view we had from our room was just amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good. We went to the Blue Lagoon which is a must if you go to Reykjavik it was just amazing to go for a swim while you had snow all around you. Reykjavik is an expensive city but well worth spending the money for. We had a fantastic holiday and will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxxNaomixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here back in September and really enjoyed it.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and traditionally continental. The bar most enjoyable after our Northern Lights trip got cancelled due to cloud coverage - 2 pints of Polar Beer (great name) for 1000 Krona. Great little deal.

The room was modern and cosy with a great duvet. Brilliant for warming up after a long day out in the cold.

The hotel is brilliantly situated just up from one of the main shopping streets in Reykjavik called Laugavegur. This is the place you want to start walking from (down Mjölnisholt and take a left onto Laugavegur.)

All excursions can be booked through the reception and the coach picks up from right outside to take you on them.

Hopefully in the future it would start a restaurant service or bar menu as it would definitely benefit from this.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGoss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Klettur over New Year's Eve. Booked through icelandair.

Upon arrival (approx. 2am), just wanted to get into bed- standard room with two twin beds pushed together. Unfortunately, however, there were a pair of knickers on the bathroom floor and hair in the shower! I complained to reception the next day who apologised.

Beds were comfortable, and room modern with warm duvet. Heating is on constant- slightly too hot, so turned down for rest of stay. UK Freeview TV channels, and mini fridge in room.

Breakfast- continental style and good selection. Obviously were staying at a busy time, but often not enough tables.

Staff- friendly, accommodating and helpful

Building started approx. 8am- not great when we had arrived at 2am- noise was unbearable. Disappointed as no mention of this on either Hotel Klettur website or Icelandair. Luckily no building work for 31st Dec & 1st Jan.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TR2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The room was clean with a good bed and blankets. Good value breakfast, many types of bread, yoghurt, fruits. Automatic coffee machine = bad coffee, but you can't have everything, can you?! ;) Our room was cold because the cleaning service had left a window open! Reception offered us to change to another room (after asking for it) but a smaller one, so we didn't accept. Room warmed a bit after time, but was a bit chilly all the time. The front desk should have more staff because they're also booking all kinds of tours at it so if there's a group booking a tour you have to wait for a long time.. Good location, only about 10 mins walk to Laugavegur.

Room Tip: Do not take a room from the side of the construction site and prefer higher levels!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and was fine for our needs. Very basic hotel but clean which is all that really matters. A lot of UK Freeview TV channels which was good. Staff are helpful and efficient and clearly busy with a lot of tour bookings. Everything can be easily booked through the reception which is handy and the hotel is close to the BSI bus terminal for all the Reykjavik Excursion Tours meaning you get dropped off back at the hotel within the first couple of stops after returning from a tour (a big bonus after sitting on a 2hr bus journey). Hotel is also close walk to main shopping area, Church Square.

Breakfast is standard, not a huge selection. We only went once.

Pillows are incredibly soft and small! Had to get more.

Had to pay KR1500 = £7.50 for a kettle for the duration of our stay.

Floor is heated! Lovely on the feet!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iYapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife took me for a three night stay in Reykjavik and we vstayed at the Klettur, really nice modern hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff and the hotel was very conviniently positioned for the main streets in the city. Went to the Blue Lagoon, an absoutly surreal experience to swim whilst in the middle of a snow blizzard. Also saw a brief glimpse of the Northern Lights. Expensive city, but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fetlar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,683 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
942 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £123 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing