We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable and convenient”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable and convenient”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a basic, clean and convenient hotel if you would like to explore Reykjavik for 5 days.

We booked deluxe double I think as we had a kettle for tea and coffee and plenty of floor space. The double bed was made up of two singles pushed together but was very comfortable. Only one pillow provided per person though, but reception are happy to provide extras if you ask.

Breakfast is a self-serving cold buffet and is the same every morning - a variety of tasty bread (which you can toast yourself), sliced cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, peppers, hard boiled eggs, fruit, fruit, cereal and pickled herring. Admittedly, I got bored of this after 5 days, but there are plenty of places for a hot, cooked breakfast outside of the hotel. Reykjavik city centre is only a 5 minute walk.

The hotel lounge / bar area has free Wifi also, although lacked any atmosphere. However, a great place to have a pre-dinner drink - 1500ISK for 2 beers during 6pm - 8pm (Happy Hour gets extended until 10pm if the Northern Lights Tours are cancelled).

The staff were a bit hit and miss - some really friendly and helpful and others just going through the motions.

Overall, Hotel Klettur is a good value hotel for it's location. However, one thing to consider before booking this hotel is, either take a great set of noise-cancelling head phones or forget the late lie-ins completely. As mentioned by previous reviewers, there appears to be some long-term construction work happening right next to the hotel. The noise generally starts at around 8-8:30am during the weekdays.

Room Tip: Deluxe doubles are much bigger than the standard room and include a kettle with free tea and coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    757
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
196
826
83
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, functional, very helpful staff, reasonable cold buffet breakfast (plus toaster and of course hot drinks). My only complaint would be the pillows which were more like small cushions , even two not enough. Hotel is just off the main city street so is in a good position although it is at the opposite end from the harbour - about 15/20 minutes walk.
Although would recommend the hotel we had gone to see the Northern Lights but our tour was cancelled every night. Also paid quite a lot to go whale watching but only saw a few sea birds. Would recommend however Golden Circle tour and a visit to the Blue Lagoon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IPH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The pictures on the website for this place don't represent it very well. The website makes the atmosphere seems a little cold and clinical, but it's actually very warm and relaxed. The staff were friendly and very helpful, with prefect English. They had plenty of hints and tips about seeing the sights and if you're going on excursions, they can book and phone ahead for you. All the excursions seem to pick and drop off from the hotel as well.

There is a small bar, which closes at 10 pm, but it's a nice place to start before you go out. They do a happy hour which is extended til the end of the night if the Northern Lights tour is cancelled. The bar staff were cheerful and chatty.

We had luxury rooms, which were a good size, with big windows and big radiators. You could adjust the heat yourself, which was helpful. We had a view of the harbor and the mountains, which was stunning and my friends in another room had a large balcony. There was tea and coffee, but we had to ask for milk. There was also a tv with English stations and the bathroom was a good size with fresh towels daily and complimentary soap, shampoo etc, walk-in shower, but no bath. **if you are booking any time soon, you might want to ask to avoid rooms that overlook the building site. There wasn't an issue with noise for us, but you did have look beyond it to see the sea and mountains.**

The hotel is two minutes from the bank-which was great for when we got there and had to exchange our money and it's right next too Laugavegur, which is a main street that runs through the city. Ideal for navigating you way around and keeping your bearings.

There is wifi, but we could only get it in the bar and reception. The breakfast was basic continental stuff, fine for setting you up for the day and the hotel is not too big, so we had no issues with large groups, noise and so on. Generally the visitors seemed to be 30 plus (some younger) and friends or couples rather than families.

The cost was included in a 3 night tour that we bought, so I'm not sure how much it was per night, but I would definitely stay there again. Great place.

Room Tip: Check about being near the building works outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pros:
Good location 5 minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik. Nice bathroom. Stylish communal areas. Staff helpful. Tasty buffet breakfast.

Cons:
Small room. Double was two singles pushed together. Hotel too warm. No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

If there was an Ikea hotel it would probably look like this!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsPanther75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very simple hotel with basic amenities but had everything you needed. Nice room spotlessly clean, Good choice of continental breakfast with great coffee. Staff were very helpful and booked all of our excursions with minimum of effort. All trips were door to door and right on time.

Hotel is well situated about 10 mins walk from the city centre. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiphoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

great City hotel. Booked a package through Icelandic air and this hotel was one of the choices. No need to check in when you arrive as they already have all your details form the airline and they will just give you your keys. Nice change from the usual drawn our check ins. Reception staff really helpful and friendly.

No tea and coffee facilities though unless you are in one of the premium rooms. It was freezing outside but inside was just right, mot too hot in the bedrooms. Beds were comfy English TV and the bathroom was well appointed with a good shower. Only draw back was a lack of WiFi.

Breakfast buffet was also very good, plenty of choice.

We had a hire car and there was plenty of free parking around the hotel. The only draw back was that it was a good 15 minutes walk into town. It is set in the suburbs. I would have preferred something a bit more central

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisHunnisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel was ideal. Was spotlessly clean. Staff were very nice but as you will find most Icelandic people are.
We were collected at the door for all our excursions and the bus station is a mere 10 minute walk from here. Close to the main street and lots of pubs.
Celtic cross was a good pub we found.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
449 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,615 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing