We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard mid-range hotel”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Simple hotel but good value. Very helpful and friendly staff on reception desk. Nice continental breakfast. Very clean decent sized rooms. Good location. Wifi only in reception and breakfast room though. If you are looking for a no frills, modern, comfortable hotel then I would highly recommend Klettur.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel. It is very modern, clean and the staff are really helpful. It is not far to walk to the centre of town. Breakfast is basic but good. Happy hour was good value. I would definitely stay here again but it would be nice to have either a kettle in the bedroom or access to hot water in the foyer so that we could have tea/coffee etc. Wifi was only available to a limited number of people at any one time and only in the bar area. Other than that it was good value and I would recommend this hotel. We were not in anyway disturbed by the building work next to the hotel during the daytime.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Looks like a fairly new hotel. simple, clean with friendly helpful staff, good breakfast although no hot food, I loved their pickled herring. A short walk to the main shopping street with a large number of restaurants and bars. About a 40 minute leisure walk to the Perlan and the same to the harbour. It is about 15 minutes walk to the famous church. There was some bulding work going on outside the hotel,we were there from Thursday until Sunday and had no problems with this.

Room Tip: There are a number of buses come and go until around 2 a.m with tourists coming from the northern li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and a great view.

The staff were really really helpful. They went 'beyond the call of duty' and acted very much like a tourist information service, giving all sorts of good hints, information, making phone calls and bookings.

Breakfasts were good, although each morning it was exactly the same. It would have been nice to have had a weeny bit of variation.

It is a bit difficult to single out one member of staff, because by default it omits all the others. The receptionist who I spoke to about Wigan Athletic and football was good fun; the guy who simply and easily rearranged our boat trip so we saw the best of the lights, according to the forecast, 'made our trip'. The barman who came in and told us that the lights were out, added a nice touch. However, before we left for our trip I had e mail contact with the hotel and started having an e mail conversation with Maia. She is a credit to the hotel. Like the others she was always very helpful. The big smile is so welcoming. Early evening we had a problem with our door lock. Maia was up with a screw driver and replacement batteries to try to solve the problem - now that really is good customer care, and the request we made a few days before arrival was fulfilled to perfection. Her manner with all the guests was similar - friendly, polite, and helpful.

We had a great time, helped hugely by Maia and all those at the hotel that we came across

Room Tip: There is some building work going on nearby but it never seemed to get going until 09.30 or so, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, very comfortable & clean room. Newly refurbished by the looks of it. Nice and quiet. About a 5-10 min walk to very centre. Lots of building work going on right by the hotel - not at all noisy but did make the approach look a bit grotty! However would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, no complaints at all. Room was clean and warm, hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Happy hour certainly did help. Hotel located about 5 minutes walk from main street. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here from 12-16th February and would stay here again. I was a bit disappointed to see the building site next door, but it did not trouble us at all. The location is only 5 minutes from the main shopping street and our room was clean and comfy. Happy hour was appreciated too when you can have a (cheaper!) drink and use the wi-fi in the bar area. It would be nice if the wi-fi could be extended to your room, but it's actually quite nice to not be on the other end of an Ipad/emails all the time! They even sorted breakfast at 4am which was much appreciated at such an unearthly hour. And thanks to the member of staff who is an Arsenal fan (sorry, I can't remember his name) on reception who sorted my boarding cards. Nothing is too much trouble. A great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 55 in Reykjavik
608 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#28 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,020 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 55 in Reykjavik
871 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £124 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing