We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here initially for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to Iceland and then returned for another 2 nights. We booked through expedia initially and then the second time through the hotel website itself as the other sites were saying it was fully booked.

As a family of 3 we found the hotel was easy to get to following a late arrival via flybus and we were dropped off at the door at 1am. Unfortunately both times we stayed they hadn't put up the extra bed, a bit of a hassle on our initial stay. Our first room was on the 3rd floor and quite small (not kettle) but the second one was on the 6th floor, lovely views and much bigger with kettle!

Free car park next door was handy as we hired a car. Following recommendation from the receptionist we went out on the road to Thingviller (very easy) from the hotel with the hire car on our first evening and had an awesome sighting of the Northern Lights.

Hotel is also near Hllmeur (I think that's how it's written) a main bus station and easy walk to restaurants. It's not too near the harbor and the old town so is a bit of a walk, especially with children.

Would definitely stay here again and use it as a base for exploring. No problems with breakfast, building works or area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    727
    267
    35
    13
See reviews for
184
796
80
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Simple hotel but good value. Very helpful and friendly staff on reception desk. Nice continental breakfast. Very clean decent sized rooms. Good location. Wifi only in reception and breakfast room though. If you are looking for a no frills, modern, comfortable hotel then I would highly recommend Klettur.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel. It is very modern, clean and the staff are really helpful. It is not far to walk to the centre of town. Breakfast is basic but good. Happy hour was good value. I would definitely stay here again but it would be nice to have either a kettle in the bedroom or access to hot water in the foyer so that we could have tea/coffee etc. Wifi was only available to a limited number of people at any one time and only in the bar area. Other than that it was good value and I would recommend this hotel. We were not in anyway disturbed by the building work next to the hotel during the daytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland,uk
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Looks like a fairly new hotel. simple, clean with friendly helpful staff, good breakfast although no hot food, I loved their pickled herring. A short walk to the main shopping street with a large number of restaurants and bars. About a 40 minute leisure walk to the Perlan and the same to the harbour. It is about 15 minutes walk to the famous church. There was some bulding work going on outside the hotel,we were there from Thursday until Sunday and had no problems with this.

Room Tip: There are a number of buses come and go until around 2 a.m with tourists coming from the northern li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and a great view.

The staff were really really helpful. They went 'beyond the call of duty' and acted very much like a tourist information service, giving all sorts of good hints, information, making phone calls and bookings.

Breakfasts were good, although each morning it was exactly the same. It would have been nice to have had a weeny bit of variation.

It is a bit difficult to single out one member of staff, because by default it omits all the others. The receptionist who I spoke to about Wigan Athletic and football was good fun; the guy who simply and easily rearranged our boat trip so we saw the best of the lights, according to the forecast, 'made our trip'. The barman who came in and told us that the lights were out, added a nice touch. However, before we left for our trip I had e mail contact with the hotel and started having an e mail conversation with Maia. She is a credit to the hotel. Like the others she was always very helpful. The big smile is so welcoming. Early evening we had a problem with our door lock. Maia was up with a screw driver and replacement batteries to try to solve the problem - now that really is good customer care, and the request we made a few days before arrival was fulfilled to perfection. Her manner with all the guests was similar - friendly, polite, and helpful.

We had a great time, helped hugely by Maia and all those at the hotel that we came across

Room Tip: There is some building work going on nearby but it never seemed to get going until 09.30 or so, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, very comfortable & clean room. Newly refurbished by the looks of it. Nice and quiet. About a 5-10 min walk to very centre. Lots of building work going on right by the hotel - not at all noisy but did make the approach look a bit grotty! However would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, no complaints at all. Room was clean and warm, hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Happy hour certainly did help. Hotel located about 5 minutes walk from main street. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing