We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and very clean”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“great location and very clean”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

this hotel was part of a package we booked to see the lights, it scored highly on all points.
short walk to town, room lovely, bathroom spotless. We had an arly morning flight so they even gave us breakfast at 3am if we wanted it before we left for our flight. Well done, would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 508 excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    746
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
195
817
83
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here in March. The hotel was clean our room was 205 , we slept well although we had to turn the heating down. Towels changed daily, the room tidied and aired. The girls cleaning the rooms were pleasant and always said hello. The reception staff were very helpful with trips and information etc. The breakfast was continental which was varied and plentiful. A very pleasant stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: 205 was on the reception floor, and at the front away from the building works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildeymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Klettur in Reykjavik and would highly recommend it. Location wise it is 5 minutes off the main street and you can pick up a map from the reception staff with the hotel already marked on. Rooms are available from 3pm.

The style is quite modern and contemporary, and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. Please see pictures I have added of Room 309. The TV is complementary and has a great selection of channels including several BBC and ITV channels. Complimentary safe in the wardrobe that you choose a code for. No problem with hot water and the cleaners came in everyday. Adjustable heating in the room and it was under floor heating.

Breakfast is in the restaurant on the 1st floor (basement to us), reception on the 2nd floor (ground floor to us) and so on. Breakfast was served from 7am to 10am and is completely self service including tidying up your own dishes. Great selection of cereal, fruit, ham, cheese, breads, yogurt, hot drinks and fruit juice. You can have as much as you want and they are constantly checking and stocking up as required. Decent sized dining room and again very contemporary in style. We were being picked up at 7am for our flight so had breakfast at 6.15am and you just need to arrange it with the reception desk.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and they can also book your trips for you or alternatively you can go into one of the tourist information centres on the main street.

The weather was mixed whilst we were there so we didn't get to experience everything we would have liked, so if we do go back we will be looking to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I think they are all of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Situation. Quiet street.10 minute interesting level walk to centre. Outlook, rear is towards sea ( and a building site but no noise) or front onto quaint buildings. Nearby restuarants.
Hotel. Medium size. Modern. No pool. Large bar with happy hour. Large breakfast room opens at 0700. No queues. Buffet breakfast. Cereal/juices/salad/eggs/ham/herring/pastries/breads.
( do try the herring). Excursions stop outside.
Room 501. Clean. Bright. Warm. Quiet. Curtains screen daylight. TV with BBC. Excellent hot shower. No bath. Two easy chairs. Very good beds ( only one pillow ask for more if needed). Efficient lifts. Tea and coffee facilities. Fridge. Safe. Hairdryer.
Staff. Very polite and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Booked all our excursions. Always gave an alternative and advice.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors, ( 5 and 6) are slightly larger, have better views, and some ( to the front) have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Tom M

Thank you so much for your stay and your review on hotel Klettur.

We really appreciate your kind comments for our hotel so glad to hear you liked us so much, staff, the rooms, buffet! in fact everything that Klettur has to offer. :)

We are looking forward welcoming you again in hotel Klettur in Iceland hopefully soon! :)

Wish you all the best!

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Although this hotel is basic, it is very clean and the reception staff are wonderful. The breakfast is continental, there is plenty and it is a good standard. They even offered us breakfast when we were leaving the hotel at 5 am, a lovely surprise. I will definitely visit this friendly hotel again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zena36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Sales-Marketing department at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Zena36

Thank you for your visit and your review for hotel Klettur :)
Glad you liked the effort from our staff.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in Klettur :)
Wishing you all the best!

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a great hotel within easy walking distance of the main street Laugavegur with all its bars, restaurants and shops. The harbour, Hallgrimskirkja (the famous church) and other points of interest are all within reasonable and pleasant walking distance too.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable; we were a group of 13 friends and couples from London and New York and we all slept soundly. The breakfast is more than adequate with a good choice of different breads, rolls, ham, cheese and eggs. Coffee was good and there was a choice of teas. Jams and delicious pastry slices were also available for the sweeter tooth.
What really made this hotel special for all of us were the staff - ALL the staff. Friendly, genuinely courteous and helpful at all times. A special thanks to Audur on reception - she went the extra mile on every occasion we asked for help or information.
Whilst I am on this subject, we were all completely overwhelmed by how friendly, helpful and obliging every single Icelandic person we met was. From waiters to waitresses, from drivers to guides, assistants in the tourist centres and locals on the street when you ask for directions etc.
Furthermore, from what we all had read and heard we were expecting food, drink and everything else to be over priced and expensive. We were amazed how reasonable we found prices to be. Food and drink were pretty much on par with London and New York bars and restaurants - in fact if you factor in the absence of tipping it might have been even cheaper! Yes and for no tip you get great genuine and sincere service, which for 10 to 20% tip in UK and US you don't always get.
One last point - Hotel Klettur has a pleasant bar on the 1st floor with a happy hour between 6 and 8pm where you can buy 2 beers for 1000 isk (about £5.40). That's cheaper than my local!
Thank you Hotel Klettur for a great stay - and thank you people of Iceland for making our holiday so special. A wonderful and magical place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Keith T

Thank you for your great review on hotel Klettur :)
Thank you again for kind comments on all the Icelanders you meet and great to hear they made your stay even better! :) We will deliver your message to Auður in the reception glad she could help you so much.

We really appreciate you liked all that Klettur has to offer and our country as well! :)

We hope to see you again! :)

Wishing you all the best!

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

First things first, this hotel was excellent value for money. Iceland is expensive, but this cost £188 for 3 nights for 2 people with breakfast included. It is in an excellent location, not far at all from the main strip in Reykjavik.
The bed was the most comfortable i have slept in for quite some time and the room was very clean and Ikea-like! Perfect really! The TV had most British channels, so if you like Loose Women and Jeremy Kyle, it's home from home!
Reception staff were very friendly and genuine.
Breakfast wasn't bad at all, the usual bread/meat/fruit/pastries/juice/coffe machine etc. The only downside was finding a table some morning as they weren't cleared very quickly, but this is a minor point and didn't negatively affect the experience of the hotel.
There is currently a building site next to the hotel and work starts at approximately 8.20am, so be sure to get enough sleep. This isn't the hotel's fault so i will not mark them down for this.

Room Tip: Just wake up before 8.20am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicahGTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Sales-Marketing department at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear MicahGTI

Thank you so much for your stay and your review on hotel Klettur.

We really appreciate your kind comments for our hotel so glad to hear you liked everything Klettur has to offer. :)

We are looking forward welcoming you again in Iceland hopefully soon! :)

Wish you all the best!
Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing