We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Klettur, Reykjavik”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Klettur, Reykjavik”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The Klettur is a good, clean hotel in a great location, not far from the city centre and decent restaurants. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was ok. We had a lovely stay, and would recommend the Klettur.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank suzieh186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    747
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
195
819
83
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in Hotel Klettur in February this year. It is a lovely clean and comfortable hotel and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast that was included in the price was basic but reasonable. The hotel is close to the local amenities and it's a lovely walk to the seafront. I would definately stay here again as it was a real value for money stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Mandy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I arrived in Reykjavik early morning for a three day stay, the staff were very helpful for the check in, we left our bags and went for a walk, we were very pleased to find the main shopping area was about 10 mins away. we arrived back at the hotel for 1pm to get into our room. The rooms were spacious for our needs, clean, good shower and toilet area, the temperature of the room is regulated by you, via the stat on the wall. The breakfast is cold but very good eggs, tomatoes, meats, cereal, fruit and as much tea and coffee as you can drink.
The happy hour (2 really) was good value at £5 for two pints (not a bad brew). Excellent value for money going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chickweed100235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Visited the Klettur for a long weekend. It is a small modern hotel within walking distance of the main shopping and eating area of Reykjavik. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The TV showed BBC One and Two. Breakfast was a good continental buffet with reasonable choice. The staff were all very helpful. We would happily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Cannot fault this hotel in the slightest!

The front desk staff were always very helpful with any queries we had even if its not related to the hotel. They're happy to help with any re-scheduling of trips etc

Room was spacious and clean (and as warm as you like!) with a delightful sea view and mountain view at no extra cost!

Location was perfect! 5-10 minute walk into the main street of restaurants, bars etc. and another 5 minutes to the marina.

Despite a huge construction site situated right next to the hotel, we were not disturbed or put off in the slightest. No disruption to our stay whatsoever. Our room was on the 6th floor so we could still see outside without this blocking our view etc.

Perfect stay, wish it was for longer!!!!

:)

Room Tip: An upgrade to a sea view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a shirt 3 night break and can't really fault this place. It is basic but clean and friendly. Everything we needed for a short stay.
Plenty of choice at breakfast and really impressed when we checked out at 3am breakfast was waiting for us. Location not bad but unless you fancy A walk need a cab to centre. Our days were packed with tours all which picked up from hotel.

Staff were present and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jade12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This small hotel is situated nicely near the main shopping and dining artery that parallels the nearby harbor. The room was drab but a good size and comfortable, and equipped with a small refridgerator, decent TV and safe. And clean. The bathroom was a little more modern looking than the rest of the unit, but even in here the needlessly undersized bathroom vanity was disappointing. Nothing about the room is inviting, and it would be hard to find a more disharmonius collection of finish treatments and colors than that presented by the floor, furniture, door and trim.
The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The lack of a restaurant puts you at the mercy of some pretty pricey restaurants in the area. I did enjoy happy hour and the conversation with the bartenders. The staff was otherwise variable, mostly helpful and friendly enough, but nothing above and beyond... Anyone who enjoys sleeping in past 8 am might avoid this hotel for a few months until the construction of the adjacent building is complete.

Room Tip: we had a room on the front side of the building on the 5th floor which had a balcony, that is a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing