We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait until construction is finished”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wait until construction is finished”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pros: Staff and bar.
Cons: Noise levels from construction. Room could use some art or photos.
Location: Good location. Short walk to main shopping/restaurant area.
While the staff at the hotel were excellent and the room was comfortable, if spartan, the ongoing construction at the hotel ruined the view and was loud. The hotel is being expanded and is also surrounded by other construction projects. I advise staying elsewhere until construction is complete.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    746
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
195
817
83
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Klettur is relatively central and good 10 minutes walk away from the Hallgrimskirkja. During our stay in August 2013, there was a construction side right next to the hotel. However, the level of disturbance was minimal. The rooms are relatively plain but very clean and the interior is modern. The only drawback is the bed which is well too small. The breakfast is simplistic but the variety is OK. Free Wi-Fi is available reception area and the hotel bar. The service is outstanding. Staff is very friendly and always tries to help. Although it is just a 3 star hotel, I can highly recommend that place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at Hotel Klettur at the end of a trip around Iceland. We had a really good stay there - the hotel is modern and nicely furnished, and our room was very clean and comfortable. There was building work going on down the road and behind the hotel ( our room looked out onto the back ) but the work didn't bother us at all. Breakfast was fairly basic, but no more so than at any other place we stayed in Iceland. The hotel is very central ( about 5 minutes' walk from the town centre ) and is in a nice, quiet road. We would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the Klettur with a friend recently. Excellent accomodation, comfortable, clean and very friendly helpful staff made the few days in Reykjavik memorable. The breakfast could have been a bit better, maybe an option for hot meals for those that want it, but overall, really good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel was quite nice, updated, modern, good service, reliable wifi, free parking, adequate breakfast. Location might be too peripheral for some people to walk to city center, but parking is free after 5, so it shouldn't bee too big an issue to drive if necessary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked this as part of Icelandair package. It's in a good location, easy walking to the good bars, restaurants and the centre / harbour.
The rooms were clean, functional, and a bit Spartan, which I know is the Icelandic style. Also very warm, we needed to open the window to cool down a bit. Sadly the window didn't open !!!!!
The construction site next door was a bit of a turn off, although we didn't hear any work while we were there, but others in our party did.. Breakfast was normal icelandic, and adequate. Do not expect cooked food, you will be disappointed.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I managed to get this hotel for a good price (although I had to go to a travel agent to get the better price over the internet search engines). Having looked at other reviews we decided to go for this one, and it was a good choice. Rooms were spacious (I think we were upgraded as a courtesy), bathroom was good and the beds very comfortable. The only slight issue was that our window was sealed, and throughout our stay in a number of restaurants/shops etc we always found it too hot inside. The room got warm at times, but not too the extent we couldn't sleep properly.

Breakfast had a good selection and I found the coffee to be very good (in fact all places we went had good coffee). I pre-booked excursions and the coaches turned up fine (note: the culture here is very punctual). Staff were helpful. Another minor point is that the bar here was open 1700 - 2200, and in the city some other places closed earlier than I would have expected. If you want to stay out late you really need to head towards the other end of the street, as there are more eating places there. There is a nearby casino which is open late, but not much else. There tends to be more shops closer to the hotel, which takes about 5 - 10 minutes to walk. Another 5 - 10 minutes and more eating places and bars can be found.

Overall our stay was enjoyable and the hotel was a welcoming place to come back to after lots of sightseeing. I would definitely return to this one.

Room Tip: An upgrade if you're offered it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobHANTS_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing