We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but effective”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel was clean and friendly. The staff were happy to help. The room has no hooks - so very difficult to hang wet clothes to dry. Breakfast was ok if you like ham - nothing spectacular! Decent toast!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed for one night in early June. The hotel itself is fine. It's close to the bus station. It's in the city center but not central to the city center (if that makes any sense at all). It was maybe a 5-7 walk to the end of the main shopping/restaurant street. The room was larger and very clean. The front desk was polite and able to store my luggage when I checked in early. The bed itself was comfortable and except for the person next door coming in loud and late (not something the hotel can control) it was quiet.

The only thing is that the area around the hotel looks a little sketchy. That being said, I'm sure it's actually totally safe--it's Reykjavik--it just looks a little run down--older buildings, not a lot of shops/restaurants, etc. around. A number of people had commented on construction, but I assumed since some of those were months ago that it wouldn't still be occurring. It was. However, I didn't find this at all a problem--they were working but only during totally decent hours of the day so it wasn't a problem. The construction site doesn't exactly add to the area's atmosphere, though.

Someone commented on the windows being dirty--if you have ever wandered around Reykjavik in the morning you will notice that most of the shopowners clean their windows ALL THE TIME--living on the water in a city with Reykjavik's weather conditions = dirty windows very fast. So while I agree--they are dirty--it's on the outside, and I don't know that it's a reasonable expectation to clean the outside of upper story windows constantly. That's not to belittle their comment, at all, but I don't think it reflects cleanliness conditions of the hotel in general. Just fyi :-)

So, in summary, the hotel itself is great. It was also EXTREMELY reasonably priced. I think the next time I would pay a bit more to be on or just off of the main street, but if I couldn't find somewhere I thought was decent for another $40 or $50 more I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank tellana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here one night and found the hotel to be clean, sterile and comfortable. Upon arriving in the room, we opened up the curtains....and nearly "gasped" when viewing the on-going/privacy-invasion- construction that was going on RIGHT NEXT TO OUR ROOM!! The great news: there was "no" impact to our visit in terms of noise issues, although it should be noted that we did not stay in our room much, except for sleeping...so no major impact other than the "surprise". Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options.

Logistics/Iceland Impressions: This hotel was a nice transition from our England B&B experiences to Iceland hence, the 5 star review despite the near-hideous-adjacent-construction. NOTE: While we were glad that we stopped in Reykjavik for one night....in our opinion, "one night" was MORE than enough in this city.....and resulted in our change of travel-plans to LEAVE immediately the next day. (We did "not" get the decoder-ring that explained why anyone would want to spend much time here....unless you just liked to get schnockered....but I can understand that as well :)

ICELAND is a visual "TREASURE" ....only to be realized once you leave this particular city

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank webcam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived very late at Hotel Kelttur but the staff was very helpful and friendly. We got a room overlooking the construction site from next door but we were not disturbed by noises in the morning. The room was clean and good looking in its simplicity. The bed was great and comfortable. Breakfast was OK but it might get boring after a couple of days.
All in all this hotel was a great experience, but take notice that it is located about 30 minutes walk from the city center.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for rooms that don't overlook the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C0rwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had been on a ring road tour for the previous 6 nights. This hotel for the most part WAS a hotel. But the area it is in (not its fault) was very depressing. Never have I seen such filthy windows (hotel) on the ground level. Reception booked us in and said though room was 400 number it was really on 3. So, went to 3. House cleaning was in the area as we searched and she laughed and sent us to 4. Room was spacious and clean. Windows up there were clean, BTW! Have no idea about breakfast since we had to leave well before theirs opened ... very late, actually. Smoking outside on the sidewalk! Expected but not one place for a butt except the street curb. Reception during the evening and before dawn was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bud101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Bright room, charming in its simplicity. Unfortunately looks out over a major construction project currently happening behind the building. So close in fact that the support for one of the cranes rose within feet of our window. Not sure how high this project will ultimately rise and what it will do to the view which would otherwise look out over lower neighboring buildings into the fjiord.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Howlingbluewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the start of the year and thought hotel was great. The room we were given far surpassed my expectation and I even thought we had been upgraded by accident. Staff were friendly, hotel was clean and comfortable. Good location and able to walk to centre. Wifi only available downstairs in communal area and breakfast was a bit simple but didnt go hungry and would happily stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dkirk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,155 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,036 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
318 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
570 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £119 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing