We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good location but wouldn't rate against any other country” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
izeult
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Clean, good location but wouldn't rate against any other country”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here recently on a trip to iceland and before I went I read a lot of very mixed reviews.

The hotel is fine, it's not high end luxury (I don't think, there's really anywhere in Iceland that would do the level of 4/5 star we would expect in Ireland/UK) but it was clean, it was quiet and the location was good for walking into town if you wanted a bite to eat.

As others have mentioned, there was breakfast - some meat, bread, cheese, fish, little fruit, tea,coffee and that seems to be about it, there were some vending machines also if a snack was required during the day. Unfortunately the pizzeria which was attached to the hotel closed before we came and the restaurants close by tended to be busy, but as the hotel was close to the city centre it wasn't so bad to try find somewhere to eat. Although beware! It's all pricey!!

While we would have preferred a proper double bed, we were so exhausted our nights in the hotel we made do with the two beds slapped together to make a double. We were upgraded to a junior suite, a bit of a misnomer though as I think the only difference was we had a small seating area by the window.

What no one tells you before you go to iceland is that the hot water smells of sulpher. Seriously, it's like showering in fart! A shame though as the water is very clean and hot water very abundant. The desire is tainted by how long you can put up with the smell! I'm sure over time you would get used to it.

I do wonder what other hotels were like but again, the convenience of getting around and into down town Reykjavik this place was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izeult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    528
    240
    50
    25
See reviews for
188
488
89
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently had a short break in Iceland.We stayed at the best western hotel.The hotel was clean and comfortable and handily placed for the centre of town.The continental breakfast was adequate but the hotel did not serve lunch or evening meals.We went there to see the NORTHERN LIGHTS,but didn't see them.then we went whale watching but didn't see any whales.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnA965OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on arrival in Iceland and 1 night on departure. For Iceland it is not bad, or so I am told by veteran visitors there.

On arrival I was in 214, described as a "good room" by the receptionist. It was certainly very spacious, almost like a suite compared to the other rooms, some of which my fellow travellers described as pokey. The safe didn't work but everything else did. It has a basic, homely, slightly cheap feel to it. Not much more to say. It did the job, and for the money I think the quality was reasonable. Breakfast was a continental style buffet. Nothing spectacular but not bad.

On departure I had a much smaller room. That was after a room change because some inconsiderate and ignorant person had been smoking in the first one, despite it being a no smoking floor. The lift was also went out of order as I got into it, and there are no staff other than a receptionist so it wasn't much fun taking my heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs. A good cardio workout in the absence of a gym however!

The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the centre of the town, so the location was pretty good, but that is true of nearly all hotels in Reykjavik. The area is not particularly inspiring - some pretty drab and run-down housing is the view from your window.

Room Tip: Try to get 214, 314 or 414 if they are at no extra cost - they are the large rooms at the very front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benmychree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff (especially the lady at the front desk and I believe there is only 1) is super friendly and helpful. Her recommendations were good and she helped us with the shuttle reservation.

The hotel is good but lacked the location. You get all the amenities and value of Best Western, but the street it's on is less desirable (see photos). As far as getting to the city center, it's only a 15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The upgraded room I received was in between floors. I had to take a short flight of stairs down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great small friendly hotel.Thora at reception was just amazing,nothing was too much trouble which is hard to find these days in some hotels.Close to different amenities great little café down the road called CAFE ROMA where you can have a great lunch also Madonna Italian restaurant 100 yards away and Harry's restaurant next door and a great pizza place down the road.Bank and ATM short walk from hotel.Fly bus will pick you up from hotel and take you on trips and take you back to airport.Went horseriding on beautiful Icelandic horse and finished off with a nice lunch prepared by the nice chef at Eldhestar.Will be back in spring or summer as this was a short winter trip.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe room which gave you settee and table which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HON495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is in perfect walking distance to everything in Reykjavik, with a couple of restaurants located next door for those too tired to venture out again after a day exploring! Hotel is spotless, clean and comfortable, nice rooms. Breakfast each day was lovely, plenty to choose from. The hotel dining room is warm and cosy and is a bar in the evening, with a happy hour 5-7pm. This is handy for a drink before going out for evening meal. Above all the staff were exceptional - polite, friendly, with excellent knowledge of the local area, They could not do enough to make our stay special.and give tips and advice! Fantastic stay, very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clottedcreamteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Arrived at 7am and of course the room wasn't ready....that was expected...however...your room can be made available for $65.00 early check-in! The front desk girl was very friendly and helpful. My room was very small but comfy..breakfast was ok..coffee was good! And the location is perfect....the hotel can book ll your tours and they pick up at the hotel...very easy!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Property: Fosshotel Raudara
Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 79 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing