We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Room/Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
751 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Small Room/Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

small rooms. everything you need. locked closet for luggage before checking-in.
great breakfast.
walking distance to everything.
safe location.
staff very friendly and helpful.
excellent drinking tap water, some of the best I've had.

Room Tip: Single room with queen bed, small. Maybe 500 sq ft? Request larger if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtez151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a short and sweet review of your experience at Best Western Hotel reykjavik. I am glad you enjoyed the service and location of our property and hope to see you again with us before too long. Warm regards,
Andri Karason
manager Best Western Hotel reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    529
    242
    50
    25
See reviews for
188
490
90
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the hotel. Our room was nice - a lofted sleeping area and a lower level sitting space with sofa. The breakfast was a good start to each day and staff made sure we had an early one when we let them know we had an early flight. The desk staff are amazing - especially want to call out Anna as she was patient and had great suggestions every time we spoke with her. We'd stay again for sure!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRJNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Geust,

Thank you for the kind words. We are certainly very proud of the service team and how they handle our guests at their most annoyed moments.I assume that you are refering to Alexandra, our booking manager.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Best Western hotel reykjavík.

Best regards,
Andri Kárason
manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

For a reasonably priced hotel with great service, close enough to easily walk to the centre of Reykjavik and yet far enough away to avoid the noisy night-life, the Best Western can totally be recommended. Throw in free WiFi and buffet breakfast and it's a gem, all be it a slightly dated one.

The only problem I found was a design flaw with my bedroom (single, top floor) in that there was no switch near the bed to turn off the light above it, and the only desktop light wasn't on the bedside table but on the desk across the room (and no socket near the bed to be able to move it). As a result there didn't seem to be any way of getting into bed with the light on and then turning it off - or being able to read in bed without then getting up to turn the light off - not really a problem to me in June but as the nights grow longer it could present more of an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for you positive review of Best Wetrern Hotel reykjavik. I am glad you enjoyed the service and location of our property and hope to see you again with us before too long.

Warm regards,
Andri Kárason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavík
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel shows signs of some wear and tear, but the receptionists were helpful and friendly. The room (double room) was quite spacious, with two beds put together. The bathroom not very impressive, but clean and could do for a couple of nights. The breakfast was plain, but met our need to have something to eat first thing in the morning. Quiet sorroundings, but still central, a quick walk both to the main street and to Kringlan shopping center (15 mni)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedvigMargrethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Hedvig Margarete,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a short and sweet review of your experience at Best Western Hotel reykjavik. I am glad you enjoyed the service and location of our property and hope to see you again with us before too long.
Warm regards,
Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here on a 3 night short break.excellent location for a base in Reykjavik .rooms small but very clean.staff very helpfull nothing too much trouble.Breakfast more than adequate & set you up well for the day.would use again but pay extra for upgraded room.

Room Tip: Pay for upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 156Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Gill,

Thank you for the short and sweet review of your stay with us. We look forward to see you again walk through our doors at Best Western Hótel Reykjavík. Warm regards,

Andri Kárason
Manager best Western hotel reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is just out of the city centre area however Reykjavik is a small city compared to other capital cities across Europe so it was a nice 20 minute stroll into the heart of Reykjavik. The hotel itself was warm and friendly with the reception staff, in particular, keen to ensure that they could do everything to make your stay pleasant. Managed to get on a Whale watching tour that I thought had been cancelled due to diligence by hotel staff insisting that they phone to check. Buffet breakfast was simple but well stocked. Recommended for a good quality budget location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on the top floor gives a view of the sea from the balcony but surrounded by flats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Brian.

Thank you for your warm comment! It's good to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and have been pleased with our services. Comment from our gvisitors is important for us so we can inprove our service furthermore.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavík
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, I can't really fault it, it's three star, I have stayed in a lot worse three stars in my time. Overall a good little hotel with friendly and very helpful staff and close to the centre of town. I would recommend it to any one who wants a clean, organised hotel on a budget.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimCovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri K, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at Best Western Hotel reykjavik.

We value your feedback. and by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future
.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Best regards,
Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Property: Fosshotel Raudara
Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 79 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing