We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & Warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
South Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice & Warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

This hotel is one of the nearest to the main shopping street in Reykjavik which is great as there are a couple of more expensive and higher class hotels which are a taxi ride away.The decor is simple but tastefull with lots of wood and natural colours.The staff are freindly and very helpfull and the exchange rate offered by the hotel is not far off what the banks offer so very handy. Iceland is very very expensive for food and drink but the bar at the hotel offers pints of local larger for 550 Kronar in happy hour and 650 at normal times which is still expensive but probably the cheapest we found in the city.They also do meal deals for pizza & drinks which will save you a small fortune. Breakfast is simple consisting of bread, toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereal, tea, coffee, orange juice, water, pastry and more. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms a free safe and mini bar. There is wireless internet connection available at a very reasonable rate. The only down side to the hotel and this may sound strange but its too hot at night. The heating is off in your room but the whole building is very warm and even with the window open when its -5 outside you still get a little hot.

  • Liked — Breakfast, location and service
  • Disliked — Too warm at night
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsHlLoYdTaYlOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    526
    240
    50
    25
See reviews for
188
487
89
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Was worried about this hotel after reading some bad reviews. Returned on October 20th after a 3 night stay. Hotel is in a good location, 10 minutes walk to the main shopping street which also has good restaurants and bars. Unless you are lazy and don't like walking, this is fine. The hotel is also on the list of drop offs/pick ups for the main excursion company in Reykjavik - Iceland excursions, so this is handy. Room was clean, comfortable and had all the usual facilities you would expect. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. Breakfasts were of a decent standard and you could help yourself to as much as you liked. This hotel is good value for money.

  • Liked — Good location, clean
  • Disliked — Room was a little cold
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haggishunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

A very un-impressive hotel.

We did not stay there by choice; we stayed as part of a tour group. I would not choose this hotel; to me it was just above a budget hotel.
The good points for the hotel are location; it was a few minutes walk to the start of the main shopping & dinning street, with a good restaurant a few buildings away & the buffet style continental breakfast was very good, the usual cold meats & cheese, sliced tomatoes, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, hot hard boiled eggs, toast, rolls, sweet pastries, tea, coffee, water & juice. The down side to the breakfast, there is no where near enough seating. The food is served in the bar/snack area and most days the only table we could get was a small table best suited to having a drink & not a meal!

The area the hotel is situated in is not the best, right next to the hotel there was a bar/restaurant, with a few locals that looked as though they spent a fair amount of time there, and this may not be a comfortable area to come and go alone at night, not that we experienced any problems, but it could make some people uncomfortable.

As for the hotel rooms! This is probably one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in, (I have had bigger rooms in New York), and for a European room you expect more space!
The tea & coffee provided = 2 tea bags & 2 coffee sachets per day, so if you don’t like one or the other drink you have one free drink per day if two of you are in the room!
There were no toiletries provided in our room, just a shower cap and a soap dispenser by the sink, nothing for the shower, (although the chamber maid cart contained bars of soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion our room and many of our party never saw any of these items).
The sink overflow obviously wasn’t ever cleaned, it was black & had a build up of dirt, the shower cubicle had rust on the bottom of the door, I don’t think it had ever received much of a clean as the door and all the shower fittings had a build up of lime scale all over them, defiantly need to wear flip-flops in the shower.
The TV was wall mounted and fixed in the top corner of the room and did not make for comfortable viewing. In all the time we were there the bed was never made, on one occasion the quit was folded over at the edge, but that’s as far as it went, most days the bed & pillows were as we had left them!

Would I recommend this hotel to other travellers, no, you can do a lot better.

  • Disliked — Dirty bathroom, no toiletries, bed never made.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Universal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

A very un-impressive hotel.

We did not stay there by choice; we stayed as part of a tour group. I would not choose this hotel; to me it was just above a budget hotel.
The good points for the hotel are location; it was a few minutes walk to the start of the main shopping & dinning street, with a good restaurant a few buildings away & the buffet style continental breakfast was very good, the usual cold meats & cheese, sliced tomatoes, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, hot hard boiled eggs, toast, rolls, sweet pastries, tea, coffee, water & juice. The down side to the breakfast, there is no where near enough seating. The food is served in the bar/snack area and most days the only table we could get was a small table best suited to having a drink & not a meal!

The area the hotel is situated in is not the best, right next to the hotel there was a bar/restaurant, with a few locals that looked as though they spent a fair amount of time there, and this may not be a comfortable area to come and go alone at night, not that we experienced any problems, but it could make some people uncomfortable.

As for the hotel rooms! This is probably one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in, (I have had bigger rooms in New York), and for a European room you expect more space!
The tea & coffee provided = 2 tea bags & 2 coffee sachets per day, so if you don’t like one or the other drink you have one free drink per day if two of you are in the room!
There were no toiletries provided in our room, just a shower cap and a soap dispenser by the sink, nothing for the shower, (although the chamber maid cart contained bars of soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion our room and many of our party never saw any of these items).
The sink overflow obviously wasn’t ever cleaned, it was black & had a build up of dirt, the shower cubicle had rust on the bottom of the door, I don’t think it had ever received much of a clean as the door and all the shower fittings had a build up of lime scale all over them, defiantly need to wear flip-flops in the shower.
The TV was wall mounted and fixed in the top corner of the room and did not make for comfortable viewing. In all the time we were there the bed was never made, on one occasion the quit was folded over at the edge, but that’s as far as it went, most days the bed & pillows were as we had left them!

Would I recommend this hotel to other travellers, no, you can do a lot better.

  • Disliked — Dirty bathroom, no toiltries, bed never made
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Universal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Hotel Raykjavik is a good hotel, but the actual location was not the best. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the main central area of Reykjavik in a side street that, to be frank, has seen better days, our room looked out over a shabby block of flats. After our first night we got used to the fact that this was not the most scenic part of the city, but it was a bit of a shock when we first arrived. As this holiday was a special birthday treat, had we realised what the location was like we would have paid a little more to be more central and in more pleasant surroundings.
The hotel itself is hard to fault for the price/star rating. Our family room was large and very clean. The bathroom was well equipped with hairdryer and decent shower. As the hot water, and it is very hot, has a sulpherous smell, taking a bath or shower feels a bit odd to start with. Although the water is safe to drink we didn't as the smell put us off.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room was a bonus, we took hot cholocate sachets too. Breakfast was also good, a selection of cereal, rolls, croissant, toast, boiled egg, cheese, ham and some fruit. Eat as much as you can. We discretely made ourselves a picnic for lunch from the breakfast buffet after our first experience of eating out. Yes, Iceland is expensive! Even though we were prepared for this it still is somewhat of a culture shock to find it costs you £10 for a bowl of soup, £12 for a pizza and £3 for a coffee. That said we had a decent pizza at the Reykjavik Pizza Co on the main shopping street and you could top up your drink as many times as you wanted.
I had read reviews that were critical of the hotel bar service and food. We found it OK and compared to some prices quite reasonable. When we were there the special was a pizza and large beer for Kronur 1350. So long as you don't expect anything other than frozen pizza and frozen fish and chips for this price you will be fine. The bar staff also man the bar and cook the food, so if more than a few people are in then you might need to be a bit patient. The bar staff were really friendly.
It's worth mentioning the hotel reception staff, always friendly and helpful. We had pondered whether to book trips in advance or when we arrived. We did a combination of both, if you book on arrival it costs you no more to get the hotel to arrange the booking for you.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JAE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed at Top Hotel Reykjavík for five nights in mid-August, 2008. The overall experience was nice. The staff spoke English with a more or less Icelandic accent and they were nice and friendly. The breakfast was a cold buffet but despite not having, for example, bacon and scrambled eggs, it was delicious, the coffee was good and there was enough to eat for starting the day.

The hotel bar was also OK. The staff was nice and friendly, too, though they served frozen pizzas they heated up and the bar was out of brennivín. I wouldn't complain about that, though, the pizza was OK.

The location of the hotel is OK, it's within a walking distance to the end of the main shopping street Laugavegur (or not the very end of the street but the end of the section where all the shops are) and the central bus station. It's a quiet and peaceful location, not much noise. There was some noise from the neighbouring rooms, though, and you could hear the doors banging and the air conditioning in the bathroom made a loud noise when it was turned on - and it was turned on every time you turned the lights on.

Still, I am very happy and pleased and would recommend this hotel. It was nice and comfy and I liked my stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JuniperFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Booking was awkward, in that their web site said they had no rooms, yet they were able to book us in by direct email contact. Worried us a little but it worked out OK.

Location is OK, just beyond the far end of Laugarvega, near the bus station, a good place to start walking through the shops, about 10-15 minutes walk to the main square. A few reasonable restaurants around, a cheap local pizza place is two buildings away. Good safe free car parking at the side entrance by reception, but need to hassle the reception staff at times to open gates to get out again. Back entrance from car park would benefit from small ramp to get trolley cases over door thresholds into building.

Accommodation is fairly standard western traveller style, rooms were a good size compared with some other capital cities in Europe. Just accept the fact that the hot water is very sulphurous in smell, the cold water tastes delicious. Smoking does still appear to happen, judging by the odour on entry to some rooms.

Breakfast buffet was fine, standard chain hotel stuff in Iceland, but nothing exciting. Good news was that they had an early breakfast available at 4.30 am to help travellers going for an early flight.

There is a snack bar, but frozen pizza or cold sandwich was all that was available.

Staff varied in quality, from friendly and helpful (e.g. night reception man) to downright rude. A couple of staff didn't seem to realise that we were there to be served, even though we did not ask for anything out of the ordinary.

Value for money is OK for Reykjavik, about £170 for a double room with breakfast per night in July 2008.

Overall, this is a hotel I would return to, but I would want to check a few alternatives first.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of a few staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brancepethdli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Property: Fosshotel Raudara
Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 79 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing