We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful”
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 3 January 2009

My fiancée and I stayed here over the new year of 2008/2009.

The hotel was clean, tidy and in a great location.

All the staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was sufficient and in the form of a cold buffet. There was also a small selection of cereal. We ate an evening meal in the snack bar on two occasions. On both occasions it was only manned by one member of staff. Despite this, she still managed to serve us in reasonable time with a very positive attitude.

All members of staff had very good English. They were always helpful and provided us with local knowledge regarding food and places to visit.

In terms of location my fiancée and I walked to the Perlan, the BSI terminal, Hallgrimur's church and thought nothing of it.

All in all, we had a great holiday and the hotel provided a good place to set up camp. I would certainly stay here again.

Quality wise, the hotel is certainly better than a travel lodge and slightly worse than the outer London Hilton Hotels. My only complaint was that the room was a bit dark.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2008

This hotel is a gem! Its very close to the centre (2 mins in a taxi) and even though some of the rooms (and beds) are on the small side it is spotless and warm. The staff on reception couldn't do enough for us and booked restaurants, taxis and knew everything about Iceland. The breakfast was good meat, cheese, eggs, fish, crossants , rolls , cereal and you could make as much hot toast as you wanted with preserves and yogurt.
There was a TV in the room (hope you like CNN - you could order a movie) and a mini bar . There was always loads of hot water and the rooms were warm. There is a safe in the wardrobe and a lift to all floors.
We had hired a car and there is a free under hotel carpark with a gate. There was access from the hotel into the car park directly which was a bonus when it was freezing cold! Myself and my friends stayed for 4 nights, the reception is a nice place to sit in with lots of leaflets to help you decide where to go. The internet is free and accessable at any time. Reception was 24hrs and l would certainly recommend this hotel to stay at. It was inexpensive and in an excellent position.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank P8557YTjuliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

This hotel is one of the nearest to the main shopping street in Reykjavik which is great as there are a couple of more expensive and higher class hotels which are a taxi ride away.The decor is simple but tastefull with lots of wood and natural colours.The staff are freindly and very helpfull and the exchange rate offered by the hotel is not far off what the banks offer so very handy. Iceland is very very expensive for food and drink but the bar at the hotel offers pints of local larger for 550 Kronar in happy hour and 650 at normal times which is still expensive but probably the cheapest we found in the city.They also do meal deals for pizza & drinks which will save you a small fortune. Breakfast is simple consisting of bread, toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereal, tea, coffee, orange juice, water, pastry and more. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms a free safe and mini bar. There is wireless internet connection available at a very reasonable rate. The only down side to the hotel and this may sound strange but its too hot at night. The heating is off in your room but the whole building is very warm and even with the window open when its -5 outside you still get a little hot.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsHlLoYdTaYlOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Was worried about this hotel after reading some bad reviews. Returned on October 20th after a 3 night stay. Hotel is in a good location, 10 minutes walk to the main shopping street which also has good restaurants and bars. Unless you are lazy and don't like walking, this is fine. The hotel is also on the list of drop offs/pick ups for the main excursion company in Reykjavik - Iceland excursions, so this is handy. Room was clean, comfortable and had all the usual facilities you would expect. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. Breakfasts were of a decent standard and you could help yourself to as much as you liked. This hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggishunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

A very un-impressive hotel.

We did not stay there by choice; we stayed as part of a tour group. I would not choose this hotel; to me it was just above a budget hotel.
The good points for the hotel are location; it was a few minutes walk to the start of the main shopping & dinning street, with a good restaurant a few buildings away & the buffet style continental breakfast was very good, the usual cold meats & cheese, sliced tomatoes, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, hot hard boiled eggs, toast, rolls, sweet pastries, tea, coffee, water & juice. The down side to the breakfast, there is no where near enough seating. The food is served in the bar/snack area and most days the only table we could get was a small table best suited to having a drink & not a meal!

The area the hotel is situated in is not the best, right next to the hotel there was a bar/restaurant, with a few locals that looked as though they spent a fair amount of time there, and this may not be a comfortable area to come and go alone at night, not that we experienced any problems, but it could make some people uncomfortable.

As for the hotel rooms! This is probably one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in, (I have had bigger rooms in New York), and for a European room you expect more space!
The tea & coffee provided = 2 tea bags & 2 coffee sachets per day, so if you don’t like one or the other drink you have one free drink per day if two of you are in the room!
There were no toiletries provided in our room, just a shower cap and a soap dispenser by the sink, nothing for the shower, (although the chamber maid cart contained bars of soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion our room and many of our party never saw any of these items).
The sink overflow obviously wasn’t ever cleaned, it was black & had a build up of dirt, the shower cubicle had rust on the bottom of the door, I don’t think it had ever received much of a clean as the door and all the shower fittings had a build up of lime scale all over them, defiantly need to wear flip-flops in the shower.
The TV was wall mounted and fixed in the top corner of the room and did not make for comfortable viewing. In all the time we were there the bed was never made, on one occasion the quit was folded over at the edge, but that’s as far as it went, most days the bed & pillows were as we had left them!

Would I recommend this hotel to other travellers, no, you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Universal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

A very un-impressive hotel.

We did not stay there by choice; we stayed as part of a tour group. I would not choose this hotel; to me it was just above a budget hotel.
The good points for the hotel are location; it was a few minutes walk to the start of the main shopping & dinning street, with a good restaurant a few buildings away & the buffet style continental breakfast was very good, the usual cold meats & cheese, sliced tomatoes, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, hot hard boiled eggs, toast, rolls, sweet pastries, tea, coffee, water & juice. The down side to the breakfast, there is no where near enough seating. The food is served in the bar/snack area and most days the only table we could get was a small table best suited to having a drink & not a meal!

The area the hotel is situated in is not the best, right next to the hotel there was a bar/restaurant, with a few locals that looked as though they spent a fair amount of time there, and this may not be a comfortable area to come and go alone at night, not that we experienced any problems, but it could make some people uncomfortable.

As for the hotel rooms! This is probably one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in, (I have had bigger rooms in New York), and for a European room you expect more space!
The tea & coffee provided = 2 tea bags & 2 coffee sachets per day, so if you don’t like one or the other drink you have one free drink per day if two of you are in the room!
There were no toiletries provided in our room, just a shower cap and a soap dispenser by the sink, nothing for the shower, (although the chamber maid cart contained bars of soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion our room and many of our party never saw any of these items).
The sink overflow obviously wasn’t ever cleaned, it was black & had a build up of dirt, the shower cubicle had rust on the bottom of the door, I don’t think it had ever received much of a clean as the door and all the shower fittings had a build up of lime scale all over them, defiantly need to wear flip-flops in the shower.
The TV was wall mounted and fixed in the top corner of the room and did not make for comfortable viewing. In all the time we were there the bed was never made, on one occasion the quit was folded over at the edge, but that’s as far as it went, most days the bed & pillows were as we had left them!

Would I recommend this hotel to other travellers, no, you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Universal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Hotel Raykjavik is a good hotel, but the actual location was not the best. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the main central area of Reykjavik in a side street that, to be frank, has seen better days, our room looked out over a shabby block of flats. After our first night we got used to the fact that this was not the most scenic part of the city, but it was a bit of a shock when we first arrived. As this holiday was a special birthday treat, had we realised what the location was like we would have paid a little more to be more central and in more pleasant surroundings.
The hotel itself is hard to fault for the price/star rating. Our family room was large and very clean. The bathroom was well equipped with hairdryer and decent shower. As the hot water, and it is very hot, has a sulpherous smell, taking a bath or shower feels a bit odd to start with. Although the water is safe to drink we didn't as the smell put us off.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room was a bonus, we took hot cholocate sachets too. Breakfast was also good, a selection of cereal, rolls, croissant, toast, boiled egg, cheese, ham and some fruit. Eat as much as you can. We discretely made ourselves a picnic for lunch from the breakfast buffet after our first experience of eating out. Yes, Iceland is expensive! Even though we were prepared for this it still is somewhat of a culture shock to find it costs you £10 for a bowl of soup, £12 for a pizza and £3 for a coffee. That said we had a decent pizza at the Reykjavik Pizza Co on the main shopping street and you could top up your drink as many times as you wanted.
I had read reviews that were critical of the hotel bar service and food. We found it OK and compared to some prices quite reasonable. When we were there the special was a pizza and large beer for Kronur 1350. So long as you don't expect anything other than frozen pizza and frozen fish and chips for this price you will be fine. The bar staff also man the bar and cook the food, so if more than a few people are in then you might need to be a bit patient. The bar staff were really friendly.
It's worth mentioning the hotel reception staff, always friendly and helpful. We had pondered whether to book trips in advance or when we arrived. We did a combination of both, if you book on arrival it costs you no more to get the hotel to arrange the booking for you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JAE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,737 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,798 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £104 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Family friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 85 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing