We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Raudara
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$578
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$534
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveller rating
252
597
278
63
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
597
278
63
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest western hotelbreadhot waterthe main shopping streetminute walksingle roomhappy hourstayed here for nightsreception staffyogurtcity centrean early flightcold meatsnorthern lightsreception areamini fridgebuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
940 - 945 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Change your money at the airport. Best rate there.Blue Lagoon must see.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeybisnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Really nice medium budget hotel near the centre of Reykjavik.

Don't let the dodgy looking area surrounding it put you off. Within 15 mins walking you are on the main shopping street in the town, and close to restaurants, shops and bars.

The room was large and clean. The bathroom very spacious with lovely power shower.
Breakfast within the hotel was a reasonably varied and tasty buffet.

It's a shame that the interactive TV in the room didn't work at all and our view was of a grubby building opposite, but otherwise the friendly staff and the quality of the surroundings made it great value.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

HR is an upper-end economy-class hotel on the outskirts of downtown Reykjavik. We generally had a good experience there, pros and cons are below. There is some debate on this website as to whether Hotel Reykjavik is truly a 15 minute walk to downtown. And the answer, as in many situations, is “it depends.” In this case, it depends on what you consider “downtown,” and how fast you walk. Hotel Reykjavik is located just a couple of blocks from the main shopping street. However, you then have to walk on the main shopping street at least 5-6 blocks before you start to see any interesting shops or a lot of activity. Then another 4-5 blocks to get to the truly touristy section. (these are long blocks.) So we fast walkers were easily able to get to the interesting shopping sections in 15 minutes, but some people may not.

Pros:
1. Very courteous and helpful Reception staff – they did a lot for us during our stay, including booking airport transport and tours. One nice Reception gentleman (Carl), upon hearing we were on our honeymoon, nicely upgraded us to a deluxe double room after the first night of our stay.
2. Within walking distance of everything if you are willing to walk. 15 minutes to downtown, 20 minutes to the south side of town where you can see a nice park and the building known as the “Pearl,” 20 minutes to a large shopping mall, 20 minutes to the botanical gardens, and 10 minutes down the a nice path along the sea wall. (This is a great hotel for walkers!!)
3. Double deluxe room – this was a large room with vaulted ceiling and a nice sitting area. Unlike many other Scandinavian hotels, the bed was not just two twins pushed together, but a full queen size. The bathroom had a full tub (longer than American tubs, try to enjoy it!), which you could fill up with the geothermally heated water (smells like sulfur, get used to it!) and have your own medicinal little soak.
4. Breakfast, a cold continental-European buffet, was nicer than the other hotel we stayed at in Sweden. Three types of cold cuts, two kinds of yogurt, two cheese, pickled herring (yech), tomatoes, cucumber, good rolls, hard boiled eggs, and muesli. And Icelandic butter is FANTASTIC!
5. Deluxe room included toiletries!!

Cons:
1. Standard double room: The first room we stayed in on the first night was passable but not impressive. The bathroom was very small, there was no counter space to put anything, the shelves in the bathroom (IKEA style) were falling apart, the desk in the room had a bit chip out of it, and it was just generally very cramped and worn looking. I was happy to leave it the second night.

2. Bathtub/shower in deluxe room was designed very poorly so that water would inevitably leak out onto the floor of the bathroom when taking a shower.


All in all, we had a very nice stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dulcinea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights at Hotel Reykjavik. Location is ideal if you don't want noise from the streets but do want easy access to the main shopping street and night life area, which is five minutes walk away. The hotel is nice and clean, rooms are fine, breakfast is buffet and you can have as much or little as you want, there is a bar and a restaurant adjoining ( we didn't use as we wanted to explore). We were on a good rate, 195 euro for 3 nights, but I wouldn't want to pay the full rate. Reception was friendly and efficient and everything worked fine. We saw a lot of the other hotels we considered but, unless you are paying high rates, we wthought we had chosen the best place. We organised trips to Golden circle and Blue Lagoon through Go travel Iceland ( www.gotraveliceland.com ) A smaller company who often work in partneship with another small travel , Iceland Horizon ( www.icelandhorizon.is ), they use smaller minibuses and the guides are great giving a constant flow of info, they also plan to arrive ahead of the main companies and big buses so avoid queues. Both trips were handled without fault and pick ups from the hotel were all on time. So, if you are planning to use this hotel you will be fine. Cheers Dave & Jan

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePottsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Was an excellent choice of hotel - excellent price, clean rooms, friendly staff. Right in the centre of Reykjavik it's only a few minutes walk from the shopping street and the sea front. Parking is free and inside a locked underground car park, which is great if you're hiring a car.

The rooms were big, with a kettle and TV included, and warm thanks to the geothermal heating. The cold buffet breakfast was great (cereal, meat, fish, bread rolls, toast, jam etc), especially as it was included in the price.

The only let down was the evening service in the restaurant - even though it was empty, we had to wait ages to be served and the food took forever, though the staff were very friendly and polite.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again if I went back to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IK-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews