We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room very not nice loby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Room very not nice loby”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our room was PERFECT: very new, cosy, large with a bublle bath, 2M good bed, big terasse, good tv etc...The breakfast is also excellent, simple but efficient with good quality food ( i like the french waffles, the pain au chocolat, les croissants and good marmelade). But the food from the room service is very so-so...the club sandwish was mad with semi hard bread...weirddddddd
But the off is the loby...it doesnt really matter but it was weird because you can see it is very news but a very old "modern style" ( like waht was modern in the 90'), very big, and cold with white floor and not cosy red lather sofas).
The hotel is very clean and the Spa very very relaxfull

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineswedenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    721
    269
    70
    29
See reviews for
278
696
85
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
339 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great breakfast. Room had no windows to the outside. The bathroom threshold was 3'4 of an inch above the level of the floor. Toe-stubbing time. Poorly lit. No fans, no circulation, no air. The bathroom door could not be closed without super human strength. Rusted towel rack and shower faucet. Shower curtain track was rusted and bent. Soap tray dislodged from the shower wall. Our entry door lock never worked and required our visit to the lobby counter five times. Frustrated, we asked for another room. Finally, on our 3rd day, the R&M guy fixed it. The entry has a revolving door and an outside ashtray 5 feet from the door. Naturally, the inconsiderate smokers ensconced themselves near the entry. Guess what?....Yea, you're correct. Cancerous smoke would collect in the revolving door's pockets and waft into the lobby releasing that disgusting smell. One last thing, our room had a "mish-mash" of wires, table lamps that made no sense and an artistic disaster. The owners should force the manager to spend two nights in this room and maybe he/she will get it!....One positive, the counter staff was pleasant, affable and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gylfi G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Mr. Shine,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback here, we do take note of all comments made by our guests and use them to further improve our service and products.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have undertaken measures to replace the room features you have pointed out. I agree it was high-time to replace the bathroom appliances.

Please note that all the rooms which are facing into the atrium are equipped with air conditioning in order to provide plenty of fresh air. Furthermore, I am a bit puzzled by your statement that it was only fixed on your 3rd day as you only spent two nights with us and checked out early in the morning.

I will certainly take you up on the offer of spending a night in this room and hopefully it will prove to be an eye-opener for me.

Lastly I would like to thank you for your kind words to the Reception staff, I have passed your compliments on to our team.

Kind Regards,

Gylfi Freyr Guðmundsson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed three nights , fabulously redesigned with wonderful stained glass windows...the reception staff are very helpful with local information, advising the best tours and about whether the Aurora Borealis would appear, the night reception tracked the cloud cover for us...and would you believe we saw the "lights" from the hotel car park late one night..
Free shuttle bus to town, which is a 20 minute walk away along the harbour
The breakfast choices were excellent, something for everyone, even an organic section..the fruit bread delicious..The rooms spotless and very spacious.
In the evening we sat in the bar area, with the open flame fire. The staff were very friendly and helpful , especially Natasha the assistant manager..I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed five nights at The Grand on my first visit to Reykjavik. The hotel entrance and reception foyer area are very modern. Arrived off an early flight and had to wait to check in. Reception staff were efficient but not overly friendly. Standard rooms are clean, and functional. The bathroom was ok with a bathtub and shower over the bath which regularly flooded the floor as the shower screen didn't fit too well. The room was on the fourth floor facing the car park, a quiet location.
The breakfast buffet is good with a varied selection of hot and cold food, juices and coffee. The cafe bar in reception has a selection of snacks and drinks for sale most of the day. In the evening there is an a la carte restaurant and a bar menu on offer. The bar menu has a good selection of light meals and the service from the waiting staff was very good. Cost wise it was fairly reasonable.
The location of the hotel is about a 20-25 minute brisk level walk to the city centre. It is more
convenient for the business sector of the city.
All in all it was a pleasant enough experience. Next visit I would choose a more central location to stay. In summary the staff were efficient and helpful, the room functional, and the food good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the foyer and cafe bar area as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krokkleiva, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very good help and guidance from the people in the reception regarding tours and finding our way around Reykjavik. Friendly and excellent service from the personnell working in the hotel. I can recommend this hotel to other visiters to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, friendly staff, clean rooms. Ask for a room not facing the lobby. Check your bill though, it was badly wrong when we checked out which was disappointing. We booked tours through reception which made life easy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nice hotel, convenient for town. Rooms spacious, very clean and very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful to a point, not very forthcoming, don't know if that's just the icelandic way ??? Our shower wasn't working nor the shower over the bath, we had to get the chambermaid to have a go at getting it to work and then call reception to have them fixed. I'm sorry but I think the chambermaid would have known what was working and what wasn't last time it was cleaned. For neither to work was a bit much. The fridge in my parents room didn't work either, we were told they had moved the mini bar to the lobby but they were still advertising fridges in rooms when we booked.
We had breakfast and there was lots of choice, need to work on the scrambled eggs. We ate in the bar area twice and really not up to speed, nice fresh bread but chicken in the sandwich so overcooked as to be almost inedible, just not very inspiring for the money. I know Iceland is expensive but it wasn't what I expected for a hotel of this calibre.
It would be my take on Iceland in general, you know it's expensive but while the ambience is great, the staff friendly and out to please the food just doesn't come up to speed for the price so no matter how they try to make a nice experience the basic part i.e. the food lets them and you down. Shame, it's an interesting place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,292 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,007 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing