We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star for 4 Star Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Five Star for 4 Star Price”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a lovely hotel. Could not fault anything. Service excellent, breakfast wonderful. Bathroom and bedroom perfect. We were a bit disappointed with the evening meal, but otherwise could not fault anything.
Location is a bit outside Reykjavik and not many restaurants in immediate area that were enticing but it was only about 15 mins walk to centre and suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor it was very quiet and the lift was very fast and 3 lifts available so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    710
    268
    69
    29
See reviews for
275
692
83
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic! Would definitely go back to this hotel. Very clean and tidy and the staff were so helpful! We had a suite which was very spacious even though there was 4 of us in the room! The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus after our many trips out round Iceland.Only down side was it was not in the centre of Reykjavik, bit of a walk but there was a supermarket nearby and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a Holiday Inn type of hotel - good for families but suboptimal for business travellers. The rooms are clean with new furniture. The bathroom is well equipped and spacious. The spa area is good although the sauna is on the very small side with room for only two persons inside. The personnel at the reception desk are very friendly and helpful. The rooms on the street side have a nice view of the city but are not very well isolated against traffic sound and the street is quite busy even at night.
The internet connection is of low quality. I was staying in a business class room and was not able to do my business with this internet connection. I complained to the reception desk every day for five days and appropriate action was taken only after I spoke with the general manager. They placed a WiFi router in my room and this solved the problem. They could have done this earlier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegasN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a trip to Reykajavik and stayed at the Grand Hotel which I highly recommend. From arrival at reception the staff were all so friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother and staff so anxious to ensure you enjoy your visit. Food at the bar lobby was well presented and enjoyed by all. You have the opportunity to purchase snacks such as sandwiches, yogurts, chocolate bars and crisps, hot and cold drinks from the lobby which you could then store in your mini fridge within your room. The hotel Resturant offered a varied menu but a taxi into town offered a lovely varied selection of places to eat. A Taxi cost 1400isk which was roughly £7-8 pounds. Should you get the opportunity I would recommend a tour of the Golden Circle this gives a good view of Iceland and the ever changing landscape. We also did the Whale watching tour and the trip to the blue Lagoon all proved to be great trips. Warm clothing ( layers) and sensible walking shoes are the order of the day. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: A room in the new Tower offers a great view. also the higher floorss tended to have less problems wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastRelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay for a few days. The rooms / bed are comfortable and clean.
The free wi-if is great, although the signal in the rooms can be a bit hit and miss.
The breakfast is good and lots of choice. There is a free gym however the spa is quiet expensive to visit. There is a local pool near by.
The hotel is about 20mins walk to the city centre- we done the walk everyday as the weather was fantastic. You can also take a route along the sea front which is picturesque.
I would recommended the hotel and wouldn't worry about the distance to the centre as it is manageable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rupertman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A very nice hotel, very confortable. Service is really good, from the reception to the room service. Just a little far from the downtown (even if there is 3 shuttles a day free of charge), and the bus lines not really easy to manage (bus stops don´t have the same name according to the direction).

An evening we were tired, we gave a chance to the bar, which propose some courses. We were positivally surprised of the quality of the menu, for an affordable price. Not a big choice, but enough to enjoy a family !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Highly recommended! We ended our 2-week long in Reykavik and staying at the Grand Hotel was a perfect way to end our trip. Here's why: (1) Excellent front-desk service (Gumar Mar took excellent care of us and was highly attentive to my friend and I). (2) AMAZING breakfast buffet each day (3) Modern and clean rooms (4) One of the tallest hotels in Reykavil without many surrounding tall structures makes for a nice view.

Room Tip: Ask for higher levels to get better views. Stay away from rooms in the Atrium. Definitely take advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwarfds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing