We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our first trip to Reykjavik, and was very pleased with how our choice of hotel turned out. Due to the airline schedules we got there early in the morning, but even so they had a room available for us, and we were able to get some breakfast. The included breakfast was of top quality, with a wide variety. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is located a bit out of the centre, but as we had a car that was not a problem. If the weather is fine the walk to the centre is enjoyable too. Some reviews had noted a problem with noise, but that certainly wasn't the case with us (though we weren't there on the weekend). The room was very spacious, and we all slept very well. We'd have no hesitation about staying at the Grand again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DX2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was great! The bed was comfortable and we loved the modern setting. We were off of the parking lot, so it was a bit noisy when tour buses came, but its nothing like Boston noise. The lobby is swanky and awesome, especially at night when they brought in an indoor fire pit. The breakfast was very good and accommodating and available for 3 hours. The staff was super helpful and welcoming. Definitely a great spot just outside of the city but is literally within a 5 minute drive to most attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaminaHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in a twin room from the 13 - 20 th April 2014. I booked this hotel as it seemed the best value for money in the Reykjavik area . The hotel isn t as sumptuous as the photographs showThe main concourse is big and quite often empty but it has a nice warm fire and squashy sofas and people sit there with drinks in the evening as there is a small bar adjacent to it ., .We changed ( upgraded ) our room on the booking website to a" superior twin " , which was a large , modern room on the 5 th floor overlooking the front , road of the hotel .Beds were comfortable , shower was lovely and I would compare it to a decent UK Hilton . Some rooms face the sea but you would need to request this , For the first few nights it was blissfuzlly quiet and so we slept well , but on subsequent nights it was noisy above us .The reception staff were nearly all pleasant and helpful with the exception of one very angry one called Ari , which was a shame because this marred an otherwise good stay ( and we had planned to return ) .. The breakfast in the hotel is very varied ( hot and cold ) and is very good . We ate in the hotel for dinner only twice but the waiting staff and ambience in the main evening dining room was excellent ( this was complimented by a superb head waiter who was /extremely good at his job ! ) . There is a very good restaurant above the hotel (3 min walk ) , next door to theHilton Hotel , which is called "Askur" . There are a few other restaurants next door to this too. ( Don t eat in the Hilton ! It was awful .,,,,.food was shocking and overpriced ..,,they need a new chef !! ) . A free shuttle bus to town centre operates 3 times a day from the Grand , but it does not run a service back ! Taxi s are easy to find from the centre but are very expensive ( around 1250 ISK for about 1 mike journey !! ) Decide what the maximum is you can pay for your taxi journey and before getting into the taxi , say where your destination is and barter a fixed price ....I did this every time and they ALL agreed!! So it s worth a try ! Otherwise , they have a running meter and this can prove very expensive . We booked Icelandic Tours as our return shuttle from Keflavik airport to the Grand and for 1 child and 1 adult return this cost around £32 ( I booked this online in the UK before leaving ) . The Grand Hotel is not in the centre which makes travel a little tricky without a car. I would suggest staying in the centre to have more convenience for walking to shops etc and would probably do that next time .

Room Tip: Upgrade to an superior or executive room . 1 St and 2 and floor rooms face the inside atrium ., 5 th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a lovely hotel. Could not fault anything. Service excellent, breakfast wonderful. Bathroom and bedroom perfect. We were a bit disappointed with the evening meal, but otherwise could not fault anything.
Location is a bit outside Reykjavik and not many restaurants in immediate area that were enticing but it was only about 15 mins walk to centre and suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor it was very quiet and the lift was very fast and 3 lifts available so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic! Would definitely go back to this hotel. Very clean and tidy and the staff were so helpful! We had a suite which was very spacious even though there was 4 of us in the room! The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus after our many trips out round Iceland.Only down side was it was not in the centre of Reykjavik, bit of a walk but there was a supermarket nearby and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAKK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a Holiday Inn type of hotel - good for families but suboptimal for business travellers. The rooms are clean with new furniture. The bathroom is well equipped and spacious. The spa area is good although the sauna is on the very small side with room for only two persons inside. The personnel at the reception desk are very friendly and helpful. The rooms on the street side have a nice view of the city but are not very well isolated against traffic sound and the street is quite busy even at night.
The internet connection is of low quality. I was staying in a business class room and was not able to do my business with this internet connection. I complained to the reception desk every day for five days and appropriate action was taken only after I spoke with the general manager. They placed a WiFi router in my room and this solved the problem. They could have done this earlier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegasN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a trip to Reykajavik and stayed at the Grand Hotel which I highly recommend. From arrival at reception the staff were all so friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother and staff so anxious to ensure you enjoy your visit. Food at the bar lobby was well presented and enjoyed by all. You have the opportunity to purchase snacks such as sandwiches, yogurts, chocolate bars and crisps, hot and cold drinks from the lobby which you could then store in your mini fridge within your room. The hotel Resturant offered a varied menu but a taxi into town offered a lovely varied selection of places to eat. A Taxi cost 1400isk which was roughly £7-8 pounds. Should you get the opportunity I would recommend a tour of the Golden Circle this gives a good view of Iceland and the ever changing landscape. We also did the Whale watching tour and the trip to the blue Lagoon all proved to be great trips. Warm clothing ( layers) and sensible walking shoes are the order of the day. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: A room in the new Tower offers a great view. also the higher floorss tended to have less problems wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastRelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,746 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,785 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,460 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £126 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing