We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. A family of 5 in 2 rooms. Good location and excellent breakfast and great rooms. I recommend it very much. Not so close to city center. Very nice and helpful stuff at the front desk. A close drive from the airport.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Micky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    722
    269
    70
    29
See reviews for
278
696
85
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Sono stato due notti, con famiglia, in questo hotel. Top. Camere grandi e confortevoli, personale della reception gentile e professionale. Favoloso buffet di colazione. Wi-fi gratuito. Non è nel centro storico di Reykjavik ma è a 5 minuti in auto.

I stayed at Grand Hotel with my family for two nights. It's a top hotel. Large and confortable rooms. Professional and kind receptionists. Fabulous breakfast buffet. Free wi-fi. It's not located in down-town Reykjavik, but it's 5 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauri_and_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstateNY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were booked into the Grand for 4 nights, and were well taken care of. The desk staff were so helpful in getting us on tours at the last minute, suggestions for things to see, restaurants, and best places to walk. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever had in a hotel. A special thank you to Helgi on the evening shift for making our trip to Reykjavik special.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Grand Hotel is a big, modern hotel in Reykjavik. We travelled together with my Granddaughter and had a room for three persons. It was nice big beds and space enough. The bathroom was ok. Some lamps didn't work and was never fixed, but we also forgot to tell, so I can't complain. The restaurant was good - we had dinner two days. The food was great. People in the reception was very helpful and we had no problem with the WIFI.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Grand Hotel Reykjavik advertises on its website the availability of wifi in all its rooms. This is incorrect. The wifi in the hotel rooms does not work and complaints about it are ignored by hotel staff. After repeated complaints, a member of staff brought an ethernet cable into the room, but even so, the connection was fairly unreliable and very slow at times. The ethernet cable is of course no use for mobile phones or tablets and it means that only one of the guests can access the web.We feel that a hotel of this price and stature should not be misleading about its facilities because we chose it specifically because it advertised free wifi throughout the hotel. When I complained I was told that I was not the only guest to complain and was assured that the connection "will be repaired", but in three days it has not been.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Big, clean, modern hotel..I been there 3 nights. 20 min walk to centre of Reykjavik …very good breakfast with good choose in modern spaces. Good services. Clean, quiet, light, comfort room. Good bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowflake Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Grand Hotel is a big hotel with all needed facilities. The room was big enough, clean and maintained very well. Bathroom was OK as well. Breakfast was excellent The receptionists at the front desk service was great. Computer room enabled me the option to print my boarding passes very easy. The only issue that should be taken care by the Hotel is improving its WiFi network within the room which was very weak.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giora53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,556 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,296 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,007 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing