We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I was staying in this hotel on Aug 1 and Aug 9-13. I booked this hotel through Expedia because it offered a special rate at CAD$160(= 130 euro) per night. We checked in at 7:30am. One of our rooms was ready but the other was not. The front desk person quickly located another room for us so we could rest after our red-eye flight from North America. We were also invited to use their breakfast buffet even though it was technically included only for the next morning. On Aug 1, we got room 652 and 749 in the new tower. 749 got the street view but we could hear the noise from the traffic even though all windows were closed. The bathroom was quite large with a bath tub and separate shower area. On Aug 9-13, we got room 332 and 334 in the old low-rise building. Rooms in the new building and the old building have different decor. The bathrooms in the old building are bit smaller and the shower and tub share the same space. It seems that the rooms in the old building were recently renovated as the outside of the building has some noticeable tear and wear. Free WIFI is available in the lobby. However, we were able to access the free WIFI in the elevator lobby on the 3rd floor in the old building. This allowed me to sit outside the elevator lobby on the 3rd floor to use my laptop without going all the way down to the sitting area in the lobby. Also, the elevator lobby also provides a very good view of the atrium of the hotel lobby. There are also 3 computers for guests to use and many times they were occupied. Breakfast is standard with some hot items (wienners, quiche, scrambled egg, bacon, beans with tomato sauce), cold cuts, smoke salmon, fruits, crossiants, breads, cereals, yogurt, milk, coffee/tea and juice. However, it offered the same items every day during our stay and we started to get bored by them. Staffs are very friendly and offered to lend me an adaptor so I could charge my laptop. The hotel is about 15-30 min walk to the Centre and a taxi ride is about 15000-19000 ISK depending on the traffic. It is about 20 min walk to the Kringland shopping mall where you can shop, eat at the food court and get items from the supermarket. To walk to the Pearl, it takes around 30 min. A very large geothermal swimming pool with water slides are located behind the hotel about 15 min walk. I think admission for adult was 300 ISK. My recommendation is to bring your own towel to avoid the rental charge on towels. A convenience store is located at the N1 service station north-west of the hotel about 10-min walk. The cruise ship harbour is also close to the hotel and it is a nice walk along the harbour in the evening. FlyBus also drops off and picks up at Grand but you need to inform the front desk if you require pick up by FlyBus. Overall, it was a nice stay at Grand given the price we paid. If you want to get easy access to the shops, restaurants and nightlife in the Centre, this may not the best choice for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bimmer_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    724
    270
    69
    29
See reviews for
283
698
85
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Average hotel and understandably, nothing stood out from service to rooms to food. It was a indiscriminate, last minute booking on our part. It is a bit of a walk (15-20 min) to city center and an even shorter taxi ride. The best part was proximity to the Hilton and therefore, the 5-star VOX restaurant- a gastronomic delight. Breakfast which was included at Grand was dismal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Great hotel about 15 minutes walk from centre of city. Good quality modern hotel with excellent public areas. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Hotel is very close to public baths and hot pool only 2 Euro entry. Hotel bike hire is a great way to get around the city. Avoid the hotel gymn as charge for single use is £20 per person.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandgrounderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

good hotel as a base... the thermal pools only a short walk away and only cost about 70p to go in...open until about 10.30pm and 24 hours over summer.
Hotel has all usual facilities - 3 free computers with internet connection.
Breakfast was a bit boring
only 5 tv channels - only english one is sky news
movies cost 2500Ikn
can leave your luggage for no cost
about a 20 minute walk to down town where the nightlife is
black out curtains in summer still let a lot of light in (24 daylight then)
windows always close themselves so makes rooms very very hot in summer
all in all one of the best that we stayed in over the 2 weeks holiday

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, spatious rooms, clean, nordic decoration, hefty breakftast but a bit too far away to walk into the downtown if you are short of time. They do offer a complimentary shuttle downtown 3 times a day in the summer. Excellent for conferences with top of the line technology and equipment.
Free interent in the lobby but not in the bedrooms, which does not make a really big difference. Toilettries added every day. Bring your toothbrush!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The Grand hotel is a modern building grafted on to a slightly older hotel, with which it shares breakfast and restaurant facilities. I have visited twice this year, each time for several nights. The hotel is a little way out of the centre of town - a 20-minute brisk walk, or 5 minutes in a taxi - close to the Hilton.

Reception staff varied between the very helpful indeed and the downright unhelpful For example, tracking down a missing shirt from the laundry proved very difficult for the evening staff, but check-in and out was simple.

Rooms are quite spacious and pleasantly furnished in light wood, and the beds were very comfortable. Decor was fine. Bathroom facilities were excellent, once one got used to the innovative arrangement of the shower. The internet connections are slow - endemic in Iceland - and not cheap.

I was disappointed at the standard of the room cleaning, which was not what I would have expected in a hotel of this quality (used glasses were left untouched, for example). The public areas were spacious and airy (with interesting stained glass), and in good condition, as was the spa - which was excellent.

Food was patchy. The main restaurant in the evening provided good but pricey dishes. The food available in the bar area was cheaper and quite good. Breakfast facilities were shared with the other hotel; breakfast was similar to other hotels in Iceland - a buffet, mainly cold but with a few hot dishes available. Not bad.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Absolute a hotel with a professional and international staff and attitude. It appeals mostly to bussiness people and not turists. It is also expensive.

LOCATION
About 15-20 min. walk from city center.

ROOMS
large rooms with huge beds. Some rooms only have windows to the lobby. It a pretty depressing. it feels like being in prison because you cannot open the windows. at 3 oclock in the night some drunk, boisy people came back to the hotel and because we had room in the lobby-site we woke up.


SERVICE
nice and quick staff in restaurant

AMENITIES
all you would find on big international hotels: luggage storage, wellness and spa, restaurant, free internet access in the lobby, bar etc.

Restaurant and breakfast
very quick serving of food in the restaurant.
Breakfast great with egg, bacon etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedersen_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,592 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,733 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,029 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing