We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day/ 2 Night Landmannalaugar Trekking Tour”
Review of Trek Iceland

Trek Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TREK Iceland is a fully licenced tour operator and travel agency with a focus on eco-friendly adventure tourism in Iceland. We offer adventures on all levels, hiking/trekking tours, glacier walks, ski tours and mountaineering. Our greatest pride is the fantastic team of guides and support staff we have working with us. Mountain guides, drivers and sales staff, their taste for adventure, years of experience and friendliness is by far the most valuable asset of our company. Our mission is providing great experiences to our customers, this we achieve with personal service and by limiting group sizes in our selection of our tours to the most unique places in Iceland.
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I would have to start off by saying that the whole Trekking Tour was an incredible experience that my family and I thoroughly enjoyed. It started with a prompt pick up in Reykjavik by a great crew including Kata, our wonderful Trekking Guide. It was a 4 hour ride to Landmannalaugar through interesting Iceland landscapes on paved and unpaved roads in a large off road bus. Once in Landmannalaugar you have lunch then begin an afternoon hike with your guide and tour group. Our tour group consisted of 16 people from around the world which made the whole experience fun and interesting. On each Trek over the 3 days you are treated with snow capped mountains, rivers and water falls, dormant volcanoes and lava flows, and endless views as nature intended. At the end of each day you were provided with tasty meals provided by your tour guide and had the option to take a shower or jump in the natural hot springs located on site. The whole experience was really fun from meeting interesting people from different cultures to the incredible views on each Trek. I'm sure I speak for the entire Trekking Group, a big thank you to Kata, our tour guide who really made the experience special.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hiking poles"
in 7 reviews
"hut to hut"
in 7 reviews
"river crossing"
in 5 reviews
"day tour"
in 22 reviews
"eye mask"
in 4 reviews
"packing list"
in 3 reviews
"great group"
in 7 reviews
"fabulous cook"
in 2 reviews
"neoprene socks"
in 2 reviews
"bonding experience"
in 2 reviews
"black desert"
in 2 reviews
"fellow hikers"
in 2 reviews
"grilled lamb"
in 2 reviews
"first couple of days"
in 3 reviews
"arctic adventures"
in 13 reviews
"guide chris"
in 2 reviews
"ankle support"
in 2 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I was doing the hike with two teenagers and we all loved it. I have never seen such scenery. The colors are amazing. Nice little group and a great guide that new lots of interesting things about the geology in the area, but never spoke more than for us to enjoy the silence and greatness. The hike was mostly easy and a few times moderate.
The trip takes you to the highlands in a comfortable bus and allows you to get closer to the spectacular nature in a way that the Golden circle doesn't.
Therefore I highly recommend that you go, if you have a day to spend.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Gomiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We spent three days trekking through Landmannalaugar and loved it. The views are stunning there. Our guide, Jono, was terrific and had a lot to offer. From experience, the biggest variable is the guide, and so we lucked out here. Also, everyone in our group was reasonably fit, which is another thing that is luck of the draw.

As far as the rest, we were happy to be in the huts for sleeping and eating, especially when passing the outdoor eating area and seeing everyone shivering while trying to consume a bowl of ramen. Others on here have complained about having to help out with cooking and cleaning, but it's really not that big of a deal and is a minimal part of your day. I would have loved to do the 8-day hike, but we didn't have the time. Still, I would certainly recommend doing a multi-day adventure in this region-- a day trip really is insufficient to appreciate the splendor the area has to offer.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank astrodanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Excellent experience and life changing week,
More challenging than expected (min 100km), which was really good, in a super fun group and with a great guide, who truely loved and knew Iceland, enabling us to share his passion, and making the experience a really outstanding one.
Was intense (physically also), challenging (first, get used to the cold, then discover camping in Iceland !!), with a great team spirit (important to have 6 days, 4 days make impossible to enjoy the terrific landcapes and places seen in the South.. besides, the group forms and reinforces progressively).
To be recommended warmly to any nature-lover hiker.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank SophieB4827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I joined Trek Iceland for their 6 day/5 night Laugevagur/Fimmvorduhals hut trip. Great hike, beautiful scenery, great group. There were 16 of us, crammed into one room each night at the huts, which was a bit cosy. But my bigger concern is I thought it was too much to expect one guide to deal with all of us and all the food and cooking and cleaning up. We all pitched in and a few of the guys stayed in the back to help the slower and more cautious trekkers, which is a lot to ask of a guest. It would be better to have smaller groups or two guides per trip. And it should be automatic that books on geology, flora and fauna are available in the language of the guests at each hut. Since the driver is bringing the food and luggage, throw the books and maps in the truck too.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank NeroCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trek Iceland also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Trek Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing