We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & Spotless Apts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #2 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Luxury apts is really stretching things but I would say the apt is comfortable. We spent a couple nights there last week. The places was spotless and everythig worked. Even though there is no management onsite everything worked like clockwork. We arrived late, the buzzer was answered promptly, the key was available in an envelope in the foyer. The mgr called us within 20 minutes of arrival to make sure all was ok.

Would we stay here again. Yes
Would we recommend this to others Yes

The location is within a few minute walk of city center

Safe traveling

Chuck

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Castle House Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

On our recent trip to Iceland, we spent three nights in apartment 20 at Castle House Apartments and were very pleased with the experience. The apartment is very centrally located in Reykjavik and offers views over Lake Tjörnin. It is directly by the National Art Gallery which is with a visit. The location is excellent in that it offers wonderful access to restaurants and attractions without the noise of some locations. The rooms in the apartment were small, but not cramped, well furnished and clean. The kitchen was small, but well equipped. We used the airport pickup service and the breakfast supply service and were pleased with both. I would happily recommend this apartment to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Patty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

If you get tired of staying in hotels this place is for you. Sometimes you get tired of
eating out and want to make your own meals.
The lady, I think Seran is her name, not sure of spelling was awesome. Very friendly
and helpful. We made a mistake and thought we were staying an extra nite and when
we got back from sightseeing a note on the door said they had to pack up all our things
because someone else had the room reservation. but she stayed over her shift
and tried to find us another accomadation, turns out we were supposed to be somewhere else.
If your a runner there is lovely path right across the street that goes round the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marygrace58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

we stayed in room #30 we have everything we needed including our balcony which was
very nice. I have to say the staff do their best to make you feel very comfortable; one lady in particular her name is edith she was very nice to us carried our suit cases for us
anytime we would call whether it was for the TV or the Electricity she was there with no problem we felt very comfortable with her even though it was our first time in Iceland. You could really walk to City hall, National Museum , and one musuem is right next door to us , and also the bus stop is right there, and a lot of restuarant within walking distance
I would definitely stay with them next time; and highly recommended.

Room Tip: well if you want the balcony with your # 20 or 30 it was quiet. 2nd floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikki786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I love this place. I rented studio #62 for a week and could not be happier with it. My cozy apartment was tucked behind the main building, making it quiet and private. The room featured a double bed, sofa, small table and chairs, flat-screen TV and a kitchenette with stove-top, fridge, sink and microwave. All necessary kitchenware is included. There was a small wardrobe and the small bathroom was perfectly adequate. I was traveling solo, but the space could also accommodate a couple without being too cramped.

The place was very clean and service impeccable. Some have complained that there is not on-site staff, but they are very nearby and available by phone when you need them.

The location, next to the national art museum and a half-block off the Tjornin (small lake) means easy access to all points of the city. It's also convenient for bus and domestic plane service, and the IE bus service from Keflavik drops off at the door.

Room Tip: Go online and see the photos of the various room types. I prefer the efficiencies separate from the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

these are self contained apts. central to the the sites. they are quiet and clean but no bargin. service was by buzzer only-there seemed to be no human being on site. the entryway was surrounded by small flies. there is a kitchen and food shopping nearby.
its a bit hard to find--on a small side street next door to the main art gallery of iceland.
there is free street parking on weekends.

Room Tip: always bring eyeshades to iceland in the summer.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Unusual review. The small flies hatch in the lake in front of the hotel early May and are only around for a couple of weeks. This was explained in a earlier reply. Also we are there 24/7 and meet most of our guests on arrival. The door phone is only needed when we are tending to other apartments and is used to ensure immediate check in for all guests. We also have 24/7 information service by phone. We have great ratings on TripAdvisor because of our service.
Sorry this guest saw us in such a different light

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Nothing fancy here. No hotel services. Just a comfortable room (with a mini-kitchen) on a quiet street a 5 minute walk from the main commercial part of Reykjavik. Great value for what you get. A warning if you go in June or July -- it's light out 24/7 and the Castle House isn't equipped with black-out shades. Pack sleep masks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your reveiw. We do not provide 24 hour room service and we do not have a sauna or a swimming pool. Not many hotels do. We pride ourselves of our great service in other areas:
24 hour check in, daily maid service and cleaning to the highest standards, 24 hour help and advise, comfortable beds and furniture, fully equipped kitchenettes with free coffee and tea, free early check in if your apartment was free on the day before. We offer to send a car for you to the airport and we shop for breakfast items for you if you like.

And we do have dark blinds that work rather well although the rooms do not become pitch dark
when the sun shines brightly. We offer sleep masks to those who wish. And we offer a great location, in the city center, but outside the city noise, beside the Gallery of Modern Art and by the city pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 53 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £107 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing