We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault it, highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had an awesome stay in castle house, stayed in appartment 62 in November. Stayed there for 6 nights and it was the best location ever. We went on several excursions and saw where others were staying and we knew we made the right decision. Its close to town and a short walk from all the places you want to see, easy for tour companies to find you (a bit cold waiting outside but it is iceland!!) and right in front of lake. I loved it and so did my partner, couldnt fault it and will definately be staying here again. The appartment looked exactly like the pictures and we even had milk in the fridge when we arrived so could have a cuppa after travelling. Perfect for self catering in Iceland :) loved it and thank you for being so good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo_x94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    156
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
382
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a brilliant week's stay in apartment No.62. It's a studio apartment located on the ground floor off the Garden. It was very clean and had everything you could possibly need for a self-catering holiday. Upon arrival there were tea bags, coffee, sugar and even a small carton of milk, so you don't need to rush out to the supermarket straight away. Also provided in the apartment was shower gel, soap, washing up liquid, kitchen towel, dishcloth & tea towel, iron & hairdryer.

It was great to have satellite TV (which had all the English TV channels) and fast WiFi also.

The apartments are located near the city lake or 'The Pond' as it is called in Reykjavik. Great location, very quiet and within walkable distance of the main shopping street and harbour. There is a Supermarket 3 to 5 minute walk away (called Bonus) which is handy.

My only tip for Reykjavik itself is take snow grips for your shoes. Some of the pavements were very icy and these allowed us to walk confidently on the ice.

Would definitely recommend the Castle House apartments.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My partner and I stayed in Apartment 30 in January 2014, and enjoyed every minute of our stay at CHLA. The location is perfect: easy pick up for all the tour companies, a few minutes' walk to either side of town, and right in front of the lake, which (being completely frozen over) was just beautiful (there is no noise, except from the geese).
The apartment itself is a perfect size for two people, it is warm and welcoming (fresh flowers on the table and milk in the fridge), and is excellently equipped with everything you could need (even a dishwasher). The attention to detail really made our stay comfortable: local phone calls are free from the phone in the apartment, which is really useful for making reservations and checking if your tour bus is on the way.
We didn't meet any of the staff while we were there (keys were left in an envelope, and we got a call to confirm that we got in alright), but I felt that if anything had gone wrong, they would have been ready to help.
I really cannot understand why this place hasn't a perfect 5-star rating. With prices like this, and service to beat the best hotels, it is by far the best place to stay in Reykjavik!

Room Tip: Apartment 30 is lovely: we didn't use the balcony because it was too cold, but I imagine it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ainehyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in Apartment 10 for 3 nights as part of our 'minimoon'. The apartments were lovely, they are very cosy (which was needed given how cold it was!), extremely comfortable and there was plenty of space. We had asked for breakfast for the following morning which was already supplied when we got there and there was ample food (so much that it lasted pretty much all 3 days). The kitchen had pretty much everything that is needed and there are several local supermarkets nearby.

The apartments are right next to the national art gallery (which was unfortunately shut while we were there) and on a stone's throw from Tjornin (the lake).

We had originally hired a car from SADCars (who were extremely helpful and recommended) to see all the sites outside of the city, but given the torrential weather we witnessed on Christmas Day, we were unable to see the sites and so did a tour with Grayline Excursions (who again, I would thoroughly recommend).

We had an amazing time in Reykjavik and would definitely recommend Castle House!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in apartment 62 in December. We were so pleased to find that the apartment was adorably decorated, very spacious, and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with everything that we needed. We had long adventurous days in Iceland, and it was always nice to come back to the apartment at night to relax.
A couple of helpful pieces of information: the apartments are very centrally located. Just a short walk and you are in the center of the city. Also, Reykjavik Excursions, which I also highly recommend, picked us up right in front of the apartment building, and dropped us off after the tours on the main street right at the corner. It was VERY convenient.
We were so sad to leave Iceland and Castle House, and we cannot wait to return! When we do come back to Reykjavik we will most definitely be booking with Castle House again. Thank you for a truly lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lululililalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed in Apartment 62 for five nights in December 2013. On arrival we rang the buzzer at Castle House Apartments and were let in and told the keys were in an envelope waiting on the desk. We walked round to Apartment 62 which is accessed via the gardens of the hotel and were greeted with a Christmas wreath on the front door (a nice festive touch!). The room was clean and bright with a queen sized bed, sofa, TV with English channels, fully stocked kitchenette with hob and microwave, and a bathroom (with incredible shower) off the main area.
There was a wealth of information available in the main lobby and also in the room. Free wifi was available 24/7 in the room and we received a welcome call from Freyja shortly after our arrival to check that everything was in order. Upon checking out all we had to do was to leave the keys on the table in the apartment.

The bed linen and towels were changed every day and the service even included doing the washing up! The location was quiet and perfectly placed for access to Reykjavík - next to the pond and five minutes' walk to the main street. We are planning to return to Reykjavík and will definitely be choosing Castle House Luxury Apartments again.

Room Tip: Apartment 62 is accessed via the garden behind the main block of apartments. Quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed with my daughter for a 5 night trip. We were in studio 61 which was spotless, the double bed was really comfortable and the heated floor in the shower room was a bonus! Coffee, tea and sugar was provided each day and milk on arrival which was very thoughtful. Each day the studio was cleaned and a clean t towel and dish cloth was changed every day, the dishes were even washed which I certainly didn't expect which was a lovely touch. Bath towels were changed every day if required but we were Eco friendly and used a few times.

The location was about 10 minutes walk to city centre were bars, shops etc were which was very handy, but also 2 minutes walk to the lake and plenty of shops etc there.

We used Gateway to Iceland for trips which would recommend and used the express bus for airport transfers.

Would certainly stay at Castle House again and would recommend it to everyone else on a visit to Reykjavik

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbibbya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#3 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing