We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #2 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a perfect get away place to stay (for me) It feels like staying at home - bedroom/ living room with separate kitchen, dining and shower. The apartment is centrally located and within (nice) walking distance to everything. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank CaneIntp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a 4 nights stay at the Castle House Apartments on one of the ground floor studios at the end of Feb 14. The Studio was lovely with lots of natural light and very quite. It was spotlessly clean and greatly equipped. Had everything you would expect for a home from home feeling. There was even a little bunch of flowers on the table on our arrival. Although there was nobody to physically there when we arrived, we followed the instructions provided on our confirmation and emails and then in the envelope with the keys which were excellent. Once in our studio, we received a call to confirm that everything was to our satisfaction. The studio was cleaned every day.
The location was just great; next to the beautiful lake and just a short walk to the centre, restaurants and shops.
We had a great time in Iceland and this was the perfect location to stay for us. Will definately recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Check in process was smooth and quick. We had apartment number 62 which was great. Cosy apartment, not too small and extremely clean. We found very helpful guides and information in the room upon check in. Room was cleaned everyday when we went out. Location is fantastic too. Just a minutes walk to many restaurants and shops. Check out was easy, we just left our keys on the table. Overall a great experience. Would definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xquisiterequisite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We traveled here in 2013 and stayed at these apartments. The apartment was warm, large and comfortable. Felt like home away from home. The kitchen was well equipped with a separate dining area. Bed was comfy and the shower was fabulous. Location is tucked into a quiet area close to the water with pedestrian friendly bridges. Would easily recommend if you're looking for somewhere quiet but central.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PA2NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in apartment 40 for four nights in March. Arrived and the key was waiting for us. The apartment was lovely and clean and extremely warm! Very well equipped although we missed not having a kettle, we were boiling pans of water for tea ( there is a coffee maker) lovely comfortable bed and great shower. Location is excellent and could not believe how cheap the parking was in an otherwise expensive city! We went out in our hire car a lot and being able to make lunch to take with us and have breakfast in the apartment allowed us to save some money for eating out in the evening. They were also really helpful when I accidentally locked us out of the apartment! Nice that it was cleaned daily too. Can recommend if you're looking for somewhere quiet but central.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahbutterfly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

There are electric kettles in all apartments. Reading your review I thought someone might have nicked the one in apt. 40 but no, it is still there, in the cupboard above the sink.

We get a lot of guests from the UK who will never start or end a day without a cuppa, so of course we supply electric kettles :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in Apartment 20 the end of February. The girls that clean up the apartments fo a fantastic job. It was spotless when we arrived! From our balcony we could see City Hall as well as the frozen pond. The variety of cable TV channels was sparse for Americans with the only news being BBC. The kitchen was fully equipped even with a colander for pasta. One thing I did not like was that the curtains were sheer. I believe there were offices where our bedroom was and someone could look straight through the apartment to the pond. Checkout was 11 AM and we had a 5 PM flight, but we were able to have our luggage stored until we left for the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

The curtains let in all the light, making the apartments bright, but you cannot see into the apartments from outside. There are also roll down blackout curtains to make sleeping easy during the summer, when there is daylight almost 24 hours.

I hope to see you soon again in Reykjavik :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked the Castle House Luxury Apartments for our weeks stay in Reykjavik. Location was perfect, downtown Reykjavik/centre was only a few minutes walk away with lots of places to eat, drink, supermarket, shops etc. Location of the apartment couldn't be any better. Staff were excellent, daily maid service and they even washed any dishes that had been left out - brilliant service that they provide. We stayed in apartment 40 which had everything you needed. I would definitely recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £95 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing