We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Herts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Can't speak highly enough about these apartments. We had 3 separate apartments and stayed for 3 nights - good value compared to local hotels. Great location 5 minutes walk from all of the bars/restaurants but nice and quiet. Spotlessly clean and all the facilities you are likely to need - watched the England match on the flat screen TV. Very efficient booking process and good communication. Iceland is a beautiful country. Would recommend a visit and stay at the Castle House

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    156
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
85
384
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed one night here after completing the Ring Road. We loved this charming place and for the price, it was an amazing find. We were in room 61 which was on street level and it was furnished with a couch, bed, small kitchen (no stove), TV, small bathroom. Very clean, comfortable place. We loved the location which was in a residential area near a lovely city park and a quick 10 minute walk to the central part of the city. After booking the hotel about two months ago, as the time neared, I started receiving helpful emails about things to do, places to eat, etc. I never met the owner-manager but she had covered all the bases. I would recommend this place highly and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cashaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and my wife just came back from a trip to Iceland and while there we stayed at Castle House Luxury Apartments. We stayed in Apt. 50 which is perfect for two people during the week we were there. The apartment had a tv, bed, couch, small kitchen, dining room, and though the bathroom in the photo looks small its a perfect size. Freyja was my contact person from the time I booked the reservation on line and was very highly informative about what to expect in Iceland. At the end on our stay we were allowed to keep our luggage in the room between our check out time and the next guest check in time, so that we may walk around town a bit more before our departure back home. I have no complaints about the stay at this hotel and would only stay here on any return visits.

Room Tip: All apartments at Skalholtsstigur 2a are far from any clubs or bars, so its very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for only a night but everything was perfect.Great checkin instructions and a free upgrade. We arrived late night and didnt have any problems checking in. The apartment was charming and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kohler, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was wonderful and we loved the apartment. Great location near the city pond - very easy to walk into town. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of Reykjavik. Fantastic response to questions and requests and great attention to detail - they gave us so many ideas about what to see and do. Beautiful property. We will stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 110 at Embassy and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Across from city hall and the water where the locals feed the swans and birds. The apartment was clean and neat. We did not use the kitchen except to make tea but had everything it needed. You can easily walk to the opera house and lots of shops and cafés.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joyceb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great location and lovely studio apartment, nice, modern and clean. Had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of Reykjavik. Excursion booking office is a 5 minute walk for the apartment as are the bars and restaurants

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cr6i9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing